Contribute
Register

[Guide] Lenovo IdeaPad U330/U430/U530 using Clover UEFI

Joined
Nov 13, 2013
Messages
62
Motherboard
OS X 10.9.5
CPU
intel core 2 duo T6570
Graphics
Nvidia Geforce G 105m
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Wow, excellent GUIDE again. Thanks for your efforts, Mr. RehabMan. :)

I choose this thread to feedback a issue to you. I have found a minor issue in your "OS-X-Clover-Laptop-Config" files.

That is, maybe the DSDT Fixes Arg structure is changed. When I open your config.plist by Clover Configurator Version 4.21.0 , I found the "Fix Regions" arg was not represent in GUI. But it exactly exists in the context when I use Plist Editor to open it.

Then, I try to use Clover Configurator Version 4.21.0 to config a new one to determine the difference and I have found the structure is changed.(Like following screenshot)
DSDT_Fixes_Arg_Seems_Changed.png

I'm not following Clover's changelog, so I'm not sure it is changed like that. So, I feedback it to here.

Thanks for your efforts again. :)
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,415
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Wow, excellent GUIDE again. Thanks for your efforts, Mr. RehabMan. :)

I choose this thread to feedback a issue to you. I have found a minor issue in your "OS-X-Clover-Laptop-Config" files.

That is, maybe the DSDT Fixes Arg structure is changed. When I open your config.plist by Clover Configurator Version 4.21.0 , I found the "Fix Regions" arg was not represent in GUI. But it exactly exists in the context when I use Plist Editor to open it.

Then, I try to use Clover Configurator Version 4.21.0 to config a new one to determine the difference and I have found the structure is changed.(Like following screenshot)
View attachment 123186

I'm not following Clover's changelog, so I'm not sure it is changed like that. So, I feedback it to here.

Thanks for your efforts again. :)
It is a bug in Clover Configurator. The fact that it makes (unauthorized) changes to the file on its own is one reason I don't use it.

Feel free to report the problem to the Clover Configurator developer.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2013
Messages
62
Motherboard
OS X 10.9.5
CPU
intel core 2 duo T6570
Graphics
Nvidia Geforce G 105m
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi, Mr. RehabMan.

I have found out the reason.

key_missing.jpg

These files are missing the keyword:
HTML:
config_HD3000_1366x768
config_HD3000_1600x900
config_HD4000_1366x768
config_HD4000_1600x900
config_HD4400_5xxx
config_HD4600_4200
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,415
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi, Mr. RehabMan.

I have found out the reason.

View attachment 123315

These files are missing the keyword:
HTML:
config_HD3000_1366x768
config_HD3000_1600x900
config_HD4000_1366x768
config_HD4000_1600x900
config_HD4400_5xxx
config_HD4600_4200
OK... fixed. Thanks!

Note: Inconsequential for this guide since the config.plist in the u430 repo is correct.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2013
Messages
62
Motherboard
OS X 10.9.5
CPU
intel core 2 duo T6570
Graphics
Nvidia Geforce G 105m
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
OK... fixed. Thanks!

Note: Inconsequential for this guide since the config.plist in the u430 repo is correct.
I'm sorry for that. But It seems that I can't PM you, so I only can contact you by replying one of your most relevant threads.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,415
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm sorry for that. But It seems that I can't PM you, so I only can contact you by replying one of your most relevant threads.
No worries... thanks for finding the problem. I was just stating that for people following this guide, it is not something that requires any corrections.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
13
Motherboard
Lenovo U430
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
wow great info!! thanks!! i will try this as soon as i can prepare usb drive... don't have mac, so i need to find out how i can create the usb...

for rebranding, does any brand AR9280 AR5BHB92 work on u430?? I was searching online, but most AR5BHB92 were HP brand...
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,415
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
wow great info!! thanks!! i will try this as soon as i can prepare usb drive... don't have mac, so i need to find out how i can create the usb...
You need a Mac or working hack. It is the only way to download Yosemite from the Mac App Store.

for rebranding, does any brand AR9280 AR5BHB92 work on u430?? I was searching online, but most AR5BHB92 were HP brand...
Does not matter. Mine was an AzureWave that I purchased from ebay for $5.99 (w/ free shipping).

Note: You also need a computer that has no whitelist in order to do the rebrand.
 
Top