Graphics
hd 615
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Schermafbeelding 2019-12-27 om 15.35.22.png

So I made this a while ago and picked this up again yesterday and upgraded the exising mojave installation to catalina with no issues. I wanted to share my work with you as it might come in handy for others.

I am no expert in this, this is just the result of lots of hours spent trying to get this to work. So suggestions are welcome, you, me or others could try to improve this to make it work better.

Note: I did not Install Clover on the main ssd. Mojave (and after that Catalina) was installed on the ssd, while Clover was on an usb. With that, I could ensure I could keep using Windows normally while trying to get this hackintosh to work. But normally you should just be able to run the efi from your internal disk.

My configuration
Since there seem to be quite a lot of variants of this machine, I’ll quickly explain what version I have. Speaking for itself, this guide is made especially for this variant and yours might have unexpected errors. I can try to help but as I said before, Im not an expert in this.

Model: Lenovo IdeaPad 520-15IKBR (81BF)

CPU: Intel core I5-8250U (Kaby Lake)

GPU: Intel UHD 620 (No Nvidia in here)

RAM: 8GB 2133 mHz

Trackpad: The Synaptic one :p

Since my Configuration doesn’t have a fingerprint reader or a dedicated GPU, I didn’t look into that. If your Configuration has one of those (especially GPU), it might give Some problems (which wouldn’t work anyway).

What you need

• Lenovo Ideapad 520-15IKBR

• macOS Mojave/Catalina (10.15.2 works) installer on an usb (at least 8GB). Use unibeast to make the installer

• An external mouse, as the trackpad will likely not work in recovery

• Patience, and maybe a cup of coffee :p

The easy part

Make sure you are on the latest BIOS. You can update your bios with the Lenovo Vantage app on Windows. There are some settings you need to change in your BIOS.