Contribute
Register

[Guide] Laptop backlight control using AppleBacklightFixup.kext

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,624
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Because only on that i can boot to desktop. Default a260006 ends with blank screen (same behavior as when loading ssdt-plnf.aml file) instead of apple logo

No expectation of brightness controls with desktop ig-platform-id.
Probably your display is connected via eDP (check in Windows). macOS/OS X has poor/no support for eDP.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2017
Messages
22
Motherboard
Lenovo Thinkpad W540 | Clover UEFI
CPU
i7-4700MQ @ 3.4GHz
Graphics
Intel HD 4600 1GB | Nvidia Quadro K1100M 2GB | 1920x1080
I see no adnotations about eDP on W7 Device Manager and on Device Details tab.

please see attached screenshots
 

Attachments

  • lcd.jpg
    lcd.jpg
    176.7 KB · Views: 71
Joined
Nov 5, 2017
Messages
22
Motherboard
Lenovo Thinkpad W540 | Clover UEFI
CPU
i7-4700MQ @ 3.4GHz
Graphics
Intel HD 4600 1GB | Nvidia Quadro K1100M 2GB | 1920x1080
well I've searched ebay on replacement LCD and they state 30/40 PIN eDP connection. So it is not possible to make brightness work on my laptop?
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2017
Messages
22
Motherboard
Lenovo Thinkpad W540 | Clover UEFI
CPU
i7-4700MQ @ 3.4GHz
Graphics
Intel HD 4600 1GB | Nvidia Quadro K1100M 2GB | 1920x1080
I've tried now to change ig-platform-id to 0x0a260008 and intelgfx-id 0x04168086 and OS boots but only with 7mb of GPU memory. same is when I boot with intelgfx-id 0x04128086

I've found that ig-platform-id to 0x0a260008 is for devices with eDP, DP and Thunderbolt (which my laptop have (DP/TB integrated).

But with such low memory and FHD display size system is unusable.

What can I check more?
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2011
Messages
50
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 7537; Lenovo T430
CPU
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4500U CPU @ 1.80GHz; Intel Core i5
Graphics
Intel HD 4400; Intel HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

Attachments

  • debug_23886.zip
    5 MB · Views: 54
Joined
Jun 19, 2018
Messages
8
Motherboard
Samsung 530U3C-A01(Clover UEFI)
CPU
i5-3317U
Graphics
HD4000, 1366x768
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
AppleBaclightInjector.kext worked in clover kexts, ioreg has shown matched F14XXXX

I installed kext to /L/E, and got the same result.

Code:
bogon:~ sikong$ nvram backlight-level
backlight-level    %10%07

but the maximum brightness is 20% of windows

Here is the new problem reporting.
 

Attachments

  • Problem Reporting.zip
    3.3 MB · Views: 58
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,624
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I see no adnotations about eDP on W7 Device Manager and on Device Details tab.

please see attached screenshots

You need to investigate in the Intel graphics taskbar applet.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,624
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've tried now to change ig-platform-id to 0x0a260008 and intelgfx-id 0x04168086 and OS boots but only with 7mb of GPU memory. same is when I boot with intelgfx-id 0x04128086

I've found that ig-platform-id to 0x0a260008 is for devices with eDP, DP and Thunderbolt (which my laptop have (DP/TB integrated).

But with such low memory and FHD display size system is unusable.

What can I check more?

0xa260008 is not a valid ig-platform-id. You cannot use random numbers.
If 0x0d220003 is working for you, you should probably stick with that. Make sure you're using the correct LMAX value.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,624
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
AppleBaclightInjector.kext worked in clover kexts, ioreg has shown matched F14XXXX

I installed kext to /L/E, and got the same result.

Code:
bogon:~ sikong$ nvram backlight-level
backlight-level    %10%07

but the maximum brightness is 20% of windows

Here is the new problem reporting.

Your kextcache output proves kexts are not installed correctly.
All kexts you need must be installed to the system volume.
Read post #2 of the Clover guide for details:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-booting-the-os-x-installer-on-laptops-with-clover.148093/
 
Top