Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] Jerivalu’s Build: Fresh 10.11.5, Z170X-UD5 TH, 6700k, Intel HD 530, Thunderbolt, Dual Boot

Joined
Jun 20, 2016
Messages
25
CPU
6700K
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
HI to everybody,
thanks for all the great info !
i will do a full report about my brand new system (z170x-UD5 th) very very soon.
but i am having right now a big problem
Thunderbolt is not even working on windows...
i followed every step ... but nothing
as soon as i plug it i get an error message/"usb device not recognised)--even with cold reboot/nothing happen
like if the "thunderbolt" was not active...
could that be the adapter ? (startech TB3 to TB)
how do i know is this is the motherboard "or" the adapter ?
what can i do ?
I am runnning F5 bios.
all the rest works perfect...

Thanks for your help :mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen:

P
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
632
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
PowerBook, Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
HI to everybody,
thanks for all the great info !
i will do a full report about my brand new system (z170x-UD5 th) very very soon.
but i am having right now a big problem
Thunderbolt is not even working on windows...
i followed every step ... but nothing
as soon as i plug it i get an error message/"usb device not recognised)--even with cold reboot/nothing happen
like if the "thunderbolt" was not active...
could that be the adapter ? (startech TB3 to TB)
how do i know is this is the motherboard "or" the adapter ?
what can i do ?
I am runnning F5 bios.
all the rest works perfect...

Thanks for your help :mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen:

P
Did you apply the thunderbolt firmware update from gigabyte's website?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2016
Messages
25
CPU
6700K
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Did you apply the thunderbolt firmware update from gigabyte's website?
Yes i did .
FW update and drivers update.
when i open the thunderbolt screen under windows10... i dont see nothing...
on the mac side : no harware detected (as opposed to no driver if i am not mistaken)

i am wondering if i should re-load the bios (to "zero" everything)
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2016
Messages
25
CPU
6700K
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
In Win you see nothing under the Attached Thunderbolt Devices screen? Does it at least say Port 1 and Port 2?

What are you attaching?
this is the screen i have.

USB malfunction
I don't see nothing connected

Am i lookig at the right screen ?

should I ?

i reflashed the bios in case...

no change...


i am attaching the startech adapter and attached to it i have a LACIE hub/esata with 2 hard drive connected.(works perfect on a mac)

hum....
thanks for your help

IMG_5573.JPG IMG_5572.JPG IMG_5574.JPG IMG_5575.JPG IMG_5576.JPG IMG_5577.JPG



EDIT*****
just found this

The USB Billboard Device indicates the failure of Alternate Mode entry. According to USB Type-C specification, if a device fails to successfully enter an Alternate Mode within tAMETimeout (maximum of 1000 ms), then the device will minimally expose a USB 2.0 interface (USB Billboard Device Class) that is powered by VBUS to indicate the failure of Alternate Mode entry. The host then reports that an unsupported device has been connected, identifying the type of device from the USB Billboard Device Class information.

The USB Billboard Device is implemented on the device container, which supports one or more Alternate Modes. The USB Type-C specification mandates the implementation of the Billboard Device for better user experience. For example, in the reference design for Type-C to DisplayPort cable, Billboard functionality is implemented using a CY7C65210 device. CY7C65210 belongs to Cypress’s USB-Serial bridge controller family and is a full-speed USB 2.0 device that supports USB Billboard Device Class. It is available in a 24-QFN package.

found this :



strange ?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
632
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
PowerBook, Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
The LaCie Thunderbolt to eSATA Hub is a Mac only device and doesn't show up in Windows... But the fact that the devices are showing up as USB instead of thunderbolt could be part of it. Check your bios settings against the recommendations at the beginning of this thread. FWIW I took have this hub and I stopped using it as it was causing some issues...
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
736
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Did you ever get yours working? I'm stuck on "Still Waiting for Root Device" and I have the same rig as you
Did I get what working? Computer is fine, shutdown works after getting another FireWire card, all the TB stuff I tried in OSX failed miserably. TB seems to work in Windows, though. Not sure. Still very much a hit and miss affair.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
21,789
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Did you ever get yours working? I'm stuck on "Still Waiting for Root Device" and I have the same rig as you
"Still waiting for root device" :
When installing this usually means that it cannot find your USB flash drive.
Typically this is caused by using a USB3 flash drive or using a USB3 port.
If this is the case try a USB2 port.
If it is already in a USB2 port try another, repeat until it works or you have tried all ports.
If still not booting try another USB flash drive.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2012
Messages
40
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
Intel i7-6700K
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GTX 970
Mac
iMac
@PW8888 try these bios settings i think its just your bios setup in windows. after it detects change bios settings to OS X settings bellow once you reboot back to OS X.

Windows:
Peripherals -> Intel(R) Thunderbolt ->
Intel Thunderbolt Technology = Enabled
ThunderBolt Boot Support = Enabled
Security Level = Legacy
Thunderbolt PCIe Cache-line Size = 32 (forgot this number think it was 32)
Ignore Thunderbolt Option Rom = Disabled
Thunderbolt SwSMI Delay = 0
TBT Device IO resource Support = Enabled
Reserved Memory = Medium
Reserved Mem per phd slot = 32
Reserved Poem per phi slot = 32

El Capitan:
Peripherals -> Intel(R) Thunderbolt ->
Intel Thunderbolt Technology = Enabled
ThunderBolt Boot Support = Disabled
Security Level = Unique ID
Thunderbolt PCIe Cache-line Size = Change to 128
Ignore Thunderbolt Option Rom = Disabled
Thunderbolt SwSMI Delay = Change to 10
TBT Device IO resource Support = Enabled
Reserved Memory = Medium
Reserved Mem per phd slot = 32
Reserved Poem per phi slot = 32
 
Top