Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] Jerivalu’s Build: Fresh 10.11.5, Z170X-UD5 TH, 6700k, Intel HD 530, Thunderbolt, Dual Boot

Joined
May 9, 2016
Messages
23
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-Z170X-Gaming 6
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700K
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 960 04G-P4-3969-KR 4GB
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
They are decent I guess...they don't look great compared to Jerivalu's 64bit scores, but I don't know that those tests are comparable.

full


full
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
May 9, 2016
Messages
23
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-Z170X-Gaming 6
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700K
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 960 04G-P4-3969-KR 4GB
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Interesting..I just noticed that OSX is only seeing 1 of my memory sticks now, but it's at 3200Mhz instead of 2400. I guess I need to play around with the memory settings some more.

Edit - Actually it sees 2 x 8GB sticks instead of 2x16GB. Interesting. I never setup my memory in Clover because it didn't have 16GB options....but OSX saw 32GB nonetheless

Edit #2 - I added the memory slot information to the SMBIOS section of my config and OSX is seeing all 32GB now...weird
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
1,021
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
They are decent I guess...they don't look great compared to Jerivalu's 64bit scores, but I don't know that those tests are comparable.

full


full
Geekbench is OK. The paid 64-bit version geekbench score (that I don't have) scores roughly +11% from the free 32-bit version. Keep that in mind when comparing scores.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
524
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
The only problem I seem to have is that when I boot, my left monitor needs to be turned off and then turned back on. Could be an nVidia issue.

I also have two monitors and had the same problem... I solved it by using method 2 (instead of method 1) of fix for Problem 4 in the "Solving NVIDIA Driver Install & Loading Problems" thread. :thumbup:
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabuyte GA-Z270X-ULTRA GAMING
CPU
Core i7 7700K (4.6Gz)
Graphics
Gigabyte GV-R938G1 GAMING-4GD
To my surprise, the problem is fixed. I only see my Clover EFI partition now in the BIOS, and nothing else, even after a couple of reboots.
Yesterday, I threw out all the spurious stuff in the EFI shell once more, disabled 2 erroneous boot entries in the BIOS, saved my BIOS Settings and now all looks fine... Weird. Let's hope it stays fixed. Don't see much of a pattern here.

Good to hear that the problem is fixed.

Cheers,
Erwin
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabuyte GA-Z270X-ULTRA GAMING
CPU
Core i7 7700K (4.6Gz)
Graphics
Gigabyte GV-R938G1 GAMING-4GD
@zipb I tried, and still I get the extra boot entries as well. Based on reading through NUMEROUS posts it seems like luck-of-the-draw on a fix. Some permanent and some temporary. All seem to be clover related???
Have you been able to fix it?

Cheers,
Erwin
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2015
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
EVGA GTX950
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Have you been able to fix it?

Cheers,
Erwin
Hi. I wound up wiping to start fresh. When I find time to try again, I'll post results.
Cheers!
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2010
Messages
26
Motherboard
Z107x-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX590 8GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanks Jerivalu,
Just need thunderbolt 3 to work with a TB2 adapter, so I can use my Raids & Blackmagic box.
 
Top