Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Skylake NUC6 (and Skull Canyon) using Clover UEFI (NUC6i5SYK, NUC6i7KYK, etc)

Joined
Oct 23, 2016
Messages
32
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z370 A
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
One thing that might help though is turning off standby mode on the video card in the BIOS
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2017
Messages
82
One thing that might help though is turning off standby mode on the video card in the BIOS
I can give that a try. Right now I have it using HDMI and seems fine. But I would rather have DP since that is higher refresh rate.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,075
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
FYI...

Updated my NUC6i7KYK (Skull Canyon) to High Sierra with no surprises so far.

Notes:
- updated Clover to latest (using my Clover fork)
- all my kexts/config.plist/etc are up-to-date with respect to the github project
- even though you can avoid conversion to APFS by using startosinstall (--converttoapfs NO), I let the normal installer convert to APFS
- you must have apfs.efi in drivers64UEFI (without it Clover will not recognize your APFS
- apfs.efi can be obtained from /usr/standalone/i386 inside "/Applications/Install macOS High Sierra.app/Contents/SharedSupport/BaseBinaries.dmg"
- "Preboot" volume will need to be hidden with a custom entry in your config.plist (haven't done it yet on mine)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 18, 2017
Messages
15
Motherboard
NUC6i7KYK
I've updated to HS on NUC skull canyon. Everything seems to be in working order. Thanks Rehabman
Would you mind please sharing your BIOS version and a configuration? I'm with NUC6i7KYK and I can't get Sierra installer running. I posted it few pages earlier that I always stuck at the beginning of the install with ++++++.
I'm on BIOS 50 and for now that's the only difference to RehabMan's tested configuration
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2017
Messages
15
Motherboard
NUC6i7KYK

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,075
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 19, 2017
Messages
17
CPU
i7-6770HQ
Graphics
Iris Pro 580
FYI...

Updated my NUC6i7KYK (Skull Canyon) to High Sierra with no surprises so far.

Notes:
- updated Clover to latest (using my Clover fork)
- all my kexts/config.plist/etc are up-to-date with respect to the github project
- even though you can avoid conversion to APFS by using startosinstall (--converttoapfs NO), I let the normal installer convert to APFS
- you must have apfs.efi in drivers64UEFI (without it Clover will not recognize your APFS
- apfs.efi can be obtained from /usr/standalone/i386 inside "/Applications/Install macOS High Sierra.app/Contents/SharedSupport/BaseBinaries.dmg"
- "Preboot" volume will need to be hidden with a custom entry in your config.plist (haven't done it yet on mine)

@RehabMan Thanks your great work. I will have a try. NVMe issue no exist, isn't? Will you open another topic for High Sierra installation guide for NUC6?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,075
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
@RehabMan Thanks your great work. I will have a try. NVMe issue no exist, isn't?
My only use for NVMe is for Windows. But I do access it from macOS.

Previously, I used spoofed HackrNVMeFamily, and actually left that in place during the upgrade.
It worked, such that after the upgrade, I was still running 10.12.6 HackrNVMeFamily.
After the update, I removed HackrNVMeFamily*.kext from /Library/Extensions, and removed SSDT_NVMe-Pcc.aml from ACPI/patched, and now native IONVMeFamily.kext is working for my Samsung 950 Pro.

Will you open another topic for High Sierra installation guide for NUC6?
I will eventually copy this guide to the High Sierra guides forum, make a few edits to it, and make post #1 here link to it.
 
Joined
May 24, 2017
Messages
95
Motherboard
Intel NUC6I3SYH
CPU
i3-6100U
Graphics
HD 520 (1920 x 1080)
Mobile Phone
iOS
FYI...

Updated my NUC6i7KYK (Skull Canyon) to High Sierra with no surprises so far.

Notes:
- updated Clover to latest (using my Clover fork)
- all my kexts/config.plist/etc are up-to-date with respect to the github project
- even though you can avoid conversion to APFS by using startosinstall (--converttoapfs NO), I let the normal installer convert to APFS
- you must have apfs.efi in drivers64UEFI (without it Clover will not recognize your APFS
- apfs.efi can be obtained from /usr/standalone/i386 inside "/Applications/Install macOS High Sierra.app/Contents/SharedSupport/BaseBinaries.dmg"
- "Preboot" volume will need to be hidden with a custom entry in your config.plist (haven't done it yet on mine)
Don't quite get what you mean by "even though you can avoid conversion to APFS by using startosinstall (--converttoapfs NO), I let the normal installer convert to APFS".

You mean when you start the installation within the an existing installation, you can issue the above command in the Terminal and start the install with startosinstall (--converttoapfs NO)?

Of course when you want to start the installation on a SSD with no existing system, you must use the "sudo "/Applications/Install macOS High Sierra.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallmedia" --volume /Volumes/install_osx --nointeraction" right?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,075
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Don't quite get what you mean by "even though you can avoid conversion to APFS by using startosinstall (--converttoapfs NO), I let the normal installer convert to APFS".

You mean when you start the installation within the an existing installation, you can issue the above command in the Terminal and start the install with startosinstall (--converttoapfs NO)?
Yes. That is the update scenario, which was the topic of my post.

Of course when you want to start the installation on a SSD with no existing system, you must use the "sudo "/Applications/Install macOS High Sierra.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallmedia" --volume /Volumes/install_osx --nointeraction" right?
Correct.
There is a way to avoid APFS there too, but it requires modifying some XML at one of the installer stages, or installing twice (think about using startosinstall from an installed APFS volume to create an HFS+ install).
 
Top