Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Skylake NUC6 (and Skull Canyon) using Clover UEFI (NUC6i5SYK, NUC6i7KYK, etc)

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,134
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I would like the option of audio going thru the hdmi port.

Its enabled in the bios

I have attached the problem reporting zip file.

FYI Audio is working via bt audio to my amp and headphones.

Please assist
You did not follow the guide in post #1.

You have a bunch of files that should not be present in ACPI/patched.
Remove from ACPI/patched:
SSDT-DigitalAudio.dsl
SSDT-HDEF.dsl
SSDT-NUC6.dsl
SSDT-NUCHDA.dsl
SSDT.aml
VoodooHDA.kext

And you have files in drivers64UEFI that are also not per guide.
Remove from drivers64UEFI:
CsmVideoDxe-64.efi
NTFS.efi

Add:
EmuVariableUefi-64.efi

Don't forget to install "RC scripts" (use the Clover installer).

Your Clover/kexts is also wrong. Read the guide for correct content.
You should only have Clover/kexts/Other with these kexts:
FakeSMC.kext
IntelMausiEthernet.kext

Also, you installed kexts you should not have.
Your kextcache output shows the following patched kexts that should be vanilla:
kext-dev-mode allowing invalid signature -67013 0xFFFFFFFFFFFEFA3B for kext IOHDAFamily.kext
kext-dev-mode allowing invalid signature -67013 0xFFFFFFFFFFFEFA3B for kext AppleHDAHardwareConfigDriver.kext
kext-dev-mode allowing invalid signature -67013 0xFFFFFFFFFFFEFA3B for kext AppleHDAController.kext
kext-dev-mode allowing invalid signature -67013 0xFFFFFFFFFFFEFA3B for kext AppleHDA.kext

Run the macOS installer to restore these kexts to vanilla.

Note: You have Google Chrome hooking your USB ports. Read the relevant section of the laptop FAQ:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/

Also, your profile has no hardware details. Please fix before your next reply.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2017
Messages
15
Motherboard
NUC6i7KYK
Check your BIOS settings to be certain they are as per post #1.
Of course, checked many times and unfortunately NUC doesn't allow BIOS downgrade but I don't think it's BIOS issue. Please, see screenshots.
2017-09-21 08.32.04.jpg 2017-09-21 08.32.41.jpg 2017-09-21 08.32.50.jpg 2017-09-21 08.33.07.jpg
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,134
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Sep 18, 2017
Messages
15
Motherboard
NUC6i7KYK
The only way to insure correct BIOS settings is to set to default, then change the specific ones as per post #1.
Your screen shots of BIOS settings are completely inadequate to make any sort of judgement regarding correctness.
That was done. BIOS was loaded with defaults, you shouldn't question that. Is there anything else I should check?
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2017
Messages
82
Was there ever a resolution to the issue where the NUC would lose signal to the monitor for a few seconds? Is this only limited to DisplayPort?

I had the replace my monitor with the new one and it appears the new one does not recover and rediscover the signal after the blackout. It appears the only way to get the display to work again is to perform a hard reboot. Since this happens sporadically and up to a couple of times a day that will not be feasible.

Thanks.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,134
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Was there ever a resolution to the issue where the NUC would lose signal to the monitor for a few seconds? Is this only limited to DisplayPort?
It is a cabling problem.
Fix it with quality/short cables.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2017
Messages
82
It is a cabling problem.
Fix it with quality/short cables.
OK. The cable I have was not bargain but I am willing to replace it. Do you have a recommendation on one that worked well? Would prefer to buy something confirmed to work than do trial and error.

Thanks for the help.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,134
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
OK. The cable I have was not bargain but I am willing to replace it. Do you have a recommendation on one that worked well? Would prefer to buy something confirmed to work than do trial and error.

Thanks for the help.
First, my hardware:
- Dell U3011 2560x1600 (it has HDMI, but you get only 1080p with HDMI, so always using DP)
- NUC Skull Canyon (it is what i use mostly, but also have a NUC5/NUC6, and NUC7)

At first I was using a 6' mini DP->DP cable and I would get the occasional black out (lasted about 1 sec, usually happened as I sat down at the desk). The Dell U3011 does not suffer from the problem of not re-acquiring the signal, it was a minor annoyance.

Switched to a 3' mini DP->DP cable and the problem went away. Both cables were the same brand, purchased on Amazon. I forget the brand (maybe was 'cable matters'?).

And right now I'm using an active HDMI->DP adapter (from 'Go Fanco'; plugs into USB and HDMI on NUC6sc, plugs to DP on monitor) to a 6" DP->DP cable (again 'cable matters'). No blackouts with that scenario. No idea if the adapter supports 4k. I have no 4k monitors here (4k would not make sense on a 30" monitor, my preferred size... would need 5120x3200 for my needs).
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
80
Motherboard
SA25GG
CPU
2620m
Graphics
6630m
Mobile Phone
iOS
In that case the content in SSDT-USB.dsl has no effect.
It could be that your USB ACPI is correct (_UPC and _PLD), although it is rare.
Hi RehabMan,
I have replaced the original intel wifi/bt card with dw1830 and do a fresh install. The wifi works immediately but shows 3rd party. When I do the post-install procedure, wifi shows normal as dw1560. The Bluetooth shows up but really hard to conncet my magic trackpad, sometimes disconnect itself or response very slow. The magic keyboard can't be found and connected.

Is there any change I need to do for the kext or config.plist?

Regards

Peng
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,134
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi RehabMan,
I have replaced the original intel wifi/bt card with dw1830 and do a fresh install. The wifi works immediately but shows 3rd party. When I do the post-install procedure, wifi shows normal as dw1560. The Bluetooth shows up but really hard to conncet my magic trackpad, sometimes disconnect itself or response very slow. The magic keyboard can't be found and connected.

Is there any change I need to do for the kext or config.plist?

Regards

Peng
Which Intel NUC do you have? There is not one in your profile.
 

Top