Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Skylake NUC6 (and Skull Canyon) using Clover UEFI (NUC6i5SYK, NUC6i7KYK, etc)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 28, 2017
Messages
5
Motherboard
NUC6i7KYK
CPU
6th generation Intel Core i7-6770HQ
Graphics
Intel Iris Pro graphics 580
Thanks, solved it myself. I forgot that i changed Hz format for Line-in in Audi Midi Setup.app, so now it works fine.

BTW, i think this command
Code:
 sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions && sudo kextcache -u /
should be replaced with
Code:
 sudo kextcache -i /

And auto power off not working, so it should be disabled to, right?
Code:
sudo pmset -a autopoweroff 0

How were you able to get the Line in working on the intel nuc skull canyon? I have the headphone jack working, but the line in doesn't work :/.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2016
Messages
15
CPU
i7-6770HQ
Graphics
Intel® Iris™ Pro Graphics 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Follow instructions in post #1. Very carefully.

Hi RehabMan, this is my first time logging in since you responded. I appreciate the advice. I think the reason I failed so miserably is because of the Raid0 configuration. I promise I'm not joking when I say this but I probably tried 5-6x and failed due to my lack of understanding nvme and raid.

The first time I installed Sierra on a NUC was 5i5RYK and it was so easy due to your tutorial and the applications. I'm learning Github and feel I'm ready to try the install again.

Will you give me a simple yes or no - Will this install work in a Raid0 configuration if I follow your posted instructions? I found another thread where you responded to someone saying it will not (but it was a different computer altogether).

Thank you
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2016
Messages
15
CPU
i7-6770HQ
Graphics
Intel® Iris™ Pro Graphics 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The reason I said "simple yes or no" is because I don't want to waste your time if I'm completely missing that section in the tutorial. I'm likely in the bottom 1% of people that are knowledgeable about installing Hackintosh.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,103
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi RehabMan, this is my first time logging in since you responded. I appreciate the advice. I think the reason I failed so miserably is because of the Raid0 configuration. I promise I'm not joking when I say this but I probably tried 5-6x and failed due to my lack of understanding nvme and raid.

The guide is very clear on BIOS settings (to reset to default, then make a few changes).
RAID is not default.
Intel RAID and NVMe is not supported at all. It makes the NVMe drives use an Intel proprietary interface (Intel RST), which is not supported by macOS/OS X.
And make sure you read the NVMe spoof guide (linked by post #1).

Will you give me a simple yes or no - Will this install work in a Raid0 configuration if I follow your posted instructions?

With Intel RST... no.
You could do Apple software RAID (dual NVMe), but it is not covered in this guide.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2015
Messages
2
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I got everything butter smooth, except for the audio via DisplayPort. So far I have followed what is instructed in the post. Can anyone please help? I have nuc6 i5
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,103
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I got everything butter smooth, except for the audio via DisplayPort. So far I have followed what is instructed in the post. Can anyone please help? I have nuc6 i5

Read post #1, "Problem Reporting".
Also, provide exact NUC model (please fill out your profile as per guide link)...
And provide information on the physical connectors on it.
Also, make sure that ioreg shows your monitor(s) connected.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2015
Messages
2
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Read post #1, "Problem Reporting".
Also, provide exact NUC model (please fill out your profile as per guide link)...
And provide information on the physical connectors on it.
Also, make sure that ioreg shows your monitor(s) connected.
I got it working. Thank you.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2016
Messages
97
Motherboard
HP EliteBook 8460p BIOS F.61 (Clover 4012)
CPU
Intel Core i5 i5252 @2.5GHz
Graphics
Intel HD 3000 1366x768
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Updated to latest code:

Geekbench before: 3817/7361
Geekbench after: 3846/7340

So single core went up a little but multi-core went down a bit

Thanks again for all your hard work.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,103
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Updated to latest code:

Geekbench before: 3817/7361
Geekbench after: 3846/7340

So single core went up a little but multi-core went down a bit

Thanks again for all your hard work.

Yeah... if there is any difference with the "XCPM only" setup, it is very small. The difference you measure there is small enough that it could be caused by other factors (eg. background tasks).

BTW, I'm also experimenting with HWP...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top