Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Skylake NUC6 (and Skull Canyon) using Clover UEFI (NUC6i5SYK, NUC6i7KYK, etc)

Status
Not open for further replies.

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,103
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have a NUC6i5syk and I have a problem with my monitor. After it goes to sleep I'm not able to wake up again. The light goes orange and I can't access the desktop so I have to restart the NUC by force.

How is your monitor connected?
HDMI has issues.
Use DP if your monitor has it.

Also, read post #1, "Problem Reporting".
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2016
Messages
97
Motherboard
HP EliteBook 8460p BIOS F.61 (Clover 4012)
CPU
Intel Core i5 i5252 @2.5GHz
Graphics
Intel HD 3000 1366x768
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The light goes orange and I can't access the desktop so I have to restart the NUC by force.
Is this the NUC LED or display LED?
Try pmset -g and see if you have anything preventing sleep for example

" sleep 103 (sleep prevented by coreaudiod)"

If you do, then try to get rid of them (close any running programs) and retry sleep.

There is a DisplaySleep (NUC LED stays blue) and full Sleep (NUC LED goes orange). You will only achieve DisplaySleep if there are running programs preventing MacOS going fully to sleep. In this case I have the same problem you describe. However if the NUC goes fully to sleep then everything wakes OK. You should fill in your profile so others know what h/w and monitor you have
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2017
Messages
4
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I use a Samsung 950 Pro/NVMe for Windows, and a Samsung SM951/AHCI for Sierra.
I use HackrNVMeFamily to access my Windows NTFS partition from Sierra (readonly).
It works fine.

I'm booting to Clover on the SM951. From there, I can choose Windows or Sierra.

Thanks RehabMan. I went through the full process today and everything works great, with almost exactly the same setup as you have (macOS on SATA drive and Windows on NVMe drive).

The only hiccup was that I lost my Windows boot option in Clover after the installation (it was there during the installation). What is the best way to get it back? I'm reluctant to play too much with Clover Configurator given your advice. Thanks!
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,103
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The only hiccup was that I lost my Windows boot option in Clover after the installation (it was there during the installation). What is the best way to get it back? I'm reluctant to play too much with Clover Configurator given your advice. Thanks!

Did you install Windows in UEFI?
(sounds like you might have installed legacy...)
The config.plist used in this guide turns off legacy scanning as it is expected you will install everything UEFI.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2017
Messages
4
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Did you install Windows in UEFI?
(sounds like you might have installed legacy...)
The config.plist used in this guide turns off legacy scanning as it is expected you will install everything UEFI.

I picked defaults, but I think you're right. Assuming this is the case, would it be as simple as reinstalling clover to include the legacy options rather than UEFI-only and making a hopefully simple change to the custom config.plist?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,103
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I picked defaults, but I think you're right. Assuming this is the case, would it be as simple as reinstalling clover to include the legacy options rather than UEFI-only and making a hopefully simple change to the custom config.plist?

Look at your config.plist/GUI/Scan settings.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2014
Messages
5
Motherboard
Intel NUC6i5syk, 256GB SSD, 16GB RAM
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is this the NUC LED or display LED?
Try pmset -g and see if you have anything preventing sleep for example

" sleep 103 (sleep prevented by coreaudiod)"

If you do, then try to get rid of them (close any running programs) and retry sleep.

There is a DisplaySleep (NUC LED stays blue) and full Sleep (NUC LED goes orange). You will only achieve DisplaySleep if there are running programs preventing MacOS going fully to sleep. In this case I have the same problem you describe. However if the NUC goes fully to sleep then everything wakes OK. You should fill in your profile so others know what h/w and monitor you have
How is your monitor connected?
HDMI has issues.
Use DP if your monitor has it.

Also, read post #1, "Problem Reporting".

Hi,

Mi monitor is connected by DP.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2014
Messages
5
Motherboard
Intel NUC6i5syk, 256GB SSD, 16GB RAM
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is this the NUC LED or display LED?
Try pmset -g and see if you have anything preventing sleep for example

" sleep 103 (sleep prevented by coreaudiod)"

If you do, then try to get rid of them (close any running programs) and retry sleep.

There is a DisplaySleep (NUC LED stays blue) and full Sleep (NUC LED goes orange). You will only achieve DisplaySleep if there are running programs preventing MacOS going fully to sleep. In this case I have the same problem you describe. However if the NUC goes fully to sleep then everything wakes OK. You should fill in your profile so others know what h/w and monitor you have

Hi,

It's the display LED.

I can't try "pmset -g" right now because I uninstalled Mac OS due to this problem. Everything was working great but I turned off my monitor for about an hour and when I came back I couldn't turn it on again.

Is there any fix or patch to avoid this? I usually left my computer on while I'm downloading something, making a backup and I don't want to have my monitor always on.

How do you do it?

Thanks.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2016
Messages
97
Motherboard
HP EliteBook 8460p BIOS F.61 (Clover 4012)
CPU
Intel Core i5 i5252 @2.5GHz
Graphics
Intel HD 3000 1366x768
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Everything was working great but I turned off my monitor for about an hour and when I came back I couldn't turn it on again.

No, I don't think you'll get that to work. Its a fairly common problem and related to Hotplug not working I believe.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2014
Messages
5
Motherboard
Intel NUC6i5syk, 256GB SSD, 16GB RAM
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No, I don't think you'll get that to work. Its a fairly common problem and related to Hotplug not working I believe.

And maybe a workaround to avoid this? At least when I left the NUC downloading something for a long time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top