Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Skylake NUC6 (and Skull Canyon) using Clover UEFI (NUC6i5SYK, NUC6i7KYK, etc)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 3, 2016
Messages
15
CPU
i7-6770HQ
Graphics
Intel® Iris™ Pro Graphics 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi RehabMan,

Thank you for all your work and contribution to making it possible to install OSX on Nuc's (and everything else).

I have a NUC5i5RYK that works perfectly with Sierra (aside from WIFI and other known limitations).

I purchased a Skull Canyon last week and loaded Win10 thinking it's fine to have separate computers with their own OS. I'm already hating the updates and now trying to figure out why Outlook keeps crashing and won't open in Safe Mode (hegxbei£|€|! Windows!)

In your opinion, is Sierra as stable on Skull Canyon as 5i5RYK? The only major hardware difference that I've made is NVME Raid0. Will that also be fine now?

Thanks again for everything
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,103
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi RehabMan,

Thank you for all your work and contribution to making it possible to install OSX on Nuc's (and everything else).

I have a NUC5i5RYK that works perfectly with Sierra (aside from WIFI and other known limitations).

I purchased a Skull Canyon last week and loaded Win10 thinking it's fine to have separate computers with their own OS. I'm already hating the updates and now trying to figure out why Outlook keeps crashing and won't open in Safe Mode (hegxbei£|€|! Windows!)

In your opinion, is Sierra as stable on Skull Canyon as 5i5RYK? The only major hardware difference that I've made is NVME Raid0. Will that also be fine now?

Thanks again for everything

My NUC6i7KYK (Skull Canyon) is my main desktop computer at the moment.
Other than the hotplug/multi-monitor issues, and the momentary loss of video (seems to be an issue with RAM voltage or something) it is very stable with macOS 10.12.4.
I'm using a non-NVMe SSD (Samsung PCIe x4 SM951/AHCI) as the main drive, although I have Windows on a second SSD that is NVMe. And I have the patches for NVMe (HackrNVMeFamily with class-code spoof) such that I can access the Windows NTFS partition from macOS (read only).

Note: Win10 is very stable on my NUC6i7KYK too.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
167
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
Intel Core i9 7960X
Graphics
AMD Vega Frontier Edition LCS
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I can only agree to Rehabs words. I use my Skull Canyon without any Problems. (Except my fullscreen Videoplayback bug. but this is very rare). I recommend to undervolt the NUC. Much cooler and much less noise. Really enjoyable. Its very stable, even Mac OS.

@rehab
Do you find another OsxAptioFix that works every time? Sometimes I have to restart 4-5 Times until the boot passes this part. After passing all is rock stable.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,103
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I recommend to undervolt the NUC. Much cooler and much less noise.

Details on your undervolt settings?

@rehab
Do you find another OsxAptioFix that works every time? Sometimes I have to restart 4-5 Times until the boot passes this part. After passing all is rock stable.

I use OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi from the Clover installer. No special settings.
Read post #1, "Problem Reporting".
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
167
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
Intel Core i9 7960X
Graphics
AMD Vega Frontier Edition LCS
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I did reduced the Voltage -0,14V offset. At least 10°C lower. (I did test best settings in Windows with tool, because I can reduce Vcore on the fly. After testing with Prime etc. lowest value I can use is a offset of -0,14V). Of course every CPU is different. Maybe you can't reach even -0,05V maybe you can reach -0,2 V and then the CPU will be even much cooler with less noise.

@RehabMan
So you boot every time successful with your OsxAptioFix?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
167
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
Intel Core i9 7960X
Graphics
AMD Vega Frontier Edition LCS
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have sometimes the follow error, I know its not related to my settings (at this point no ACPI etc. is in use) Its only a problem with OsxAptioFix. Had this problem with ASUS Z10PEd8-WS too, changing to another AptioFix did fix the prob:

OsXAptioFixDrv: Starting overrides for \System\Library\CoreServices\boot.efi
Using reloc block: no, hibernate wake: no
Error allocating 0x1152e pages at 0x0000000021e3b000 alloc type 2
Couldn't allocate runtime area
Boot failed, sleeping for 10 seconds before exit
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2017
Messages
82
Other than the hotplug/multi-monitor issues, and the momentary loss of video (seems to be an issue with RAM voltage or something) it is very stable with macOS 10.12.4.

Can you expand of the loss of video? I just switched to a 4k LG monitor and once every day or so (seems to happen on mouse click) the screen goes black for a second or two. Is this the same problem and any thoughts on what can be done? I did not have this before with my lower resolution monitor. I am using displayport for the video.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2016
Messages
32
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z370 A
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
I've been having this screen blanking for a while also. Occurring maybe once or twice a day, and worse when watching HD video. I just updated the BIOS to the new release a few days ago and it seems to have disappeared. (I hope!)
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
167
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
Intel Core i9 7960X
Graphics
AMD Vega Frontier Edition LCS
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I had this problem too. Most of them are caused from bad cables. (cheap ones).
Now 4K monitor is running with 10bit color (1billion colors). (HDMI and DisplayPort)
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top