Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Skylake NUC6 (and Skull Canyon) using Clover UEFI (NUC6i5SYK, NUC6i7KYK, etc)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 9, 2011
Messages
61
Motherboard
NUC6i5SYK
CPU
Intel Core i5-6260U
Graphics
Intel Iris 540
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
No edits to system kexts required.
This guide installs the correct BrcmPatchRAM kexts already.
Undo whatever changes you made.
I assume that after updating to 10.12.4 the kexts are native again? Any changes I previously made are undone?

The IOGear GBU521 is still not working. How can i debug this, or which files do I have to provide in order to fix this?
 

U47

Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
14
Motherboard
HP ProDesk 600 G2
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
HD 530 , gt 730
Does anyone have any tricks for dual monitors? After I hotplug the HDMI, the MDP monitor comes and goes, blanking all the time. Is there a special ig-platform-id for the the 520 other than the standard in RehabMan's plist?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,101
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Does anyone have any tricks for dual monitors? After I hotplug the HDMI, the MDP monitor comes and goes, blanking all the time. Is there a special ig-platform-id for the the 520 other than the standard in RehabMan's plist?

You could try other ig-platform-id values or different settings in BIOS.
ig-platform-id is injected from SSDT-IGPU.aml.
 

U47

Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
14
Motherboard
HP ProDesk 600 G2
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
HD 530 , gt 730
You could try other ig-platform-id values or different settings in BIOS.
ig-platform-id is injected from SSDT-IGPU.aml.
Ah! I did not know that is where I have to try plugging different values. I was just dropping them in config.plist. #TMYK
I'll give it a shot and report back.
Thanks for the tip, @RehabMan!
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,101
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ah! I did not know that is where I have to try plugging different values. I was just dropping them in config.plist. #TMYK
I'll give it a shot and report back.
Thanks for the tip, @RehabMan!

You could also remove the ig-platform-id inject from SSDT-IGPU, or even remove SSDT-IGPU while you experiment.
Then you would be able to set it from config.plist or the Clover GUI.
The guide uses ACPI for graphics inject as it is easier to support multiple models with the same general procedures...
 

U47

Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
14
Motherboard
HP ProDesk 600 G2
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
HD 530 , gt 730
You could also remove the ig-platform-id inject from SSDT-IGPU, or even remove SSDT-IGPU while you experiment.
Then you would be able to set it from config.plist or the Clover GUI.
The guide uses ACPI for graphics inject as it is easier to support multiple models with the same general procedures...
Fixed!

So the magic combination in my case (for my NUC6i3) was setting ig-platform-id to 0x19160002 (which I did in SSDT-IGPU.dsl). Dual-display hotplug works, there's no blanking, and no menu bar glitch.

Thanks!
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,101
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Fixed!

So the magic combination in my case (for my NUC6i3) was setting ig-platform-id to 0x19160002 (which I did in SSDT-IGPU.dsl). Dual-display hotplug works, there's no blanking, and no menu bar glitch.

Thanks!

OK. Thanks...
Changed it also in the repo. We were already using 0x19160002 for HD540, and you're the first to come along with HD520.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2016
Messages
15
CPU
i7-6770HQ
Graphics
Intel® Iris™ Pro Graphics 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,

I'm sure this isn't the first time it's been asked but I tried searching and can't find the answer. Maybe I'm not putting in the right search words but basically..

Is it possible to have Windows OS on one of the M.2 hard drives and MacOS on the other M.2 then choose which to boot from? I don't want to dual boot off one drive because then I'll have to split up my 250gb hard drive..

Thank you
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,101
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is it possible to have Windows OS on one of the M.2 hard drives and MacOS on the other M.2 then choose which to boot from?

Yes.
This is exactly what I do...
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
167
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
Intel Core i9 7960X
Graphics
AMD Vega Frontier Edition LCS
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I follow the guide and all is working well. Thanks for that.:thumbup:
Am I the only one who has Problems with Fullscreen Videos? Sometimes (not always) when I playback a video in Fullscreen (sometimes even in Windowed mode) I get a Logout. (Not a reboot, really only a log out). I knew this bug even with original Mac, but this was fixed with a earlier combo update. This happens with Youtube and sometimes with other media players. In the past the "Bug" was located in Videodecoding... anyone else having this little bug? And I can't use iMessage (couldn't activate message)

Iam running 10.12.3 with a NUC6I7 on a 4K Monitor, plugged over HDMI. (is there any advantage in using 10.12.4)?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top