Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Skylake NUC6 (and Skull Canyon) using Clover UEFI (NUC6i5SYK, NUC6i7KYK, etc)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
21
Motherboard
NUC5i3MYHE
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
From where did you download macOS/OS X?
What version?
On what hardware did you create your USB installer?
I downloaded the macOS/OS X installers from AppStore with iMac mid-2011 running OS X 10.9.5
macOS Sierra installer : v10.12.2 downloaded 2 weeks ago
OS X El Capitan installer : downloaded feb-1-2017

I installed Clover with my MBP early-2008 running 10.11.6
I created installers using createinstallmedia method from the mid-2011 iMac (OX 10.9.5)
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,014
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I downloaded the macOS/OS X installers from AppStore with iMac mid-2011 running OS X 10.9.5
macOS Sierra installer : v10.12.2 downloaded 2 weeks ago
OS X El Capitan installer : downloaded feb-1-2017

I installed Clover with my MBP early-2008 running 10.11.6
I created installers using createinstallmedia method from the mid-2011 iMac (OX 10.9.5)

Download latest. Re-create USB as per guide.

Note: You may have a Clover issue. Clover has undergone much churn in the last couple of months... not always working...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 9, 2011
Messages
61
Motherboard
NUC6i5SYK
CPU
Intel Core i5-6260U
Graphics
Intel Iris 540
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I've attached the required files.
I have a Samsung 950 Pro, so I tried to use the IONVME.kext with the patches in config.plist.
Hi Rehabman,

Can you please take a look at post #389 ?
I need some help to get my system back up and running :)
thanks!
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
21
Motherboard
NUC5i3MYHE
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Download latest. Re-create USB as per guide.

Note: You may have a Clover issue. Clover has undergone much churn in the last couple of months... not always working...
I tried with Clover 3974 and 3994. I can try building my own Clover. Which revision is known to work with the NUC6i7KYK?

TL;DR:
I installed 10.12.2 on NUC6i5 then upgraded to 10.12.3.
I clovered the SSD for Skull Canyon and booted it (had to set other BIOS settings)
I can now boot the NUC6i7 but it's unstable. Lots of apps crashes.

Full version:
While downloading Sierra 10.12.3 I installed 10.12.2 on the NUC6i7's SSD using the NUC6i5SYK then followed your guide until I reach 'make install_sc' (which I didn't run).
I also installed the 10.12.3 update and put config_install_sc.plist content in config.plist in SSD EFI/CLOVER.
Then I put the SSD with freshly updated macOS Sierra 10.12.3 in the NUC6i7KYK and it booted from the SSD. I had to set these BIOS options to boot successfully:
- Devices->Video, "IGD Minimum Memory" set to 128 MB
- Devices->Onboard Devices disabled all but LAN (Enabling Audio prevents the system from booting)
- Devices->PCI "M.2 Slot 2" disabled
Once in macOS I resumed following your guide (specific to Skull Canyon).

The system is really unstable. Safari and the Terminal crashe often: unresponsive GUI then "Application unexpectedly quit" message. In Safari the contents of web pages can be blank. I installed Chrome but couldn't do anything with it.

I attach the "Problem Reporting" files to this message.
Outputs contains kextstats and clear cache outputs as well a an error output from install_downlads.sh.

Many thanks!

Seb
 

Attachments

  • RehabMan.zip
    54.6 KB · Views: 70
  • NUC6i7KYK_registry_sdelaroq.zip
    424 KB · Views: 70
  • CLOVER.zip
    1.7 MB · Views: 78
  • Outputs.txt
    2.7 KB · Views: 126

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,014
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I tried with Clover 3974 and 3994. I can try building my own Clover. Which revision is known to work with the NUC6i7KYK?

TL;DR:
I installed 10.12.2 on NUC6i5 then upgraded to 10.12.3.
I clovered the SSD for Skull Canyon and booted it (had to set other BIOS settings)
I can now boot the NUC6i7 but it's unstable. Lots of apps crashes.

Full version:
While downloading Sierra 10.12.3 I installed 10.12.2 on the NUC6i7's SSD using the NUC6i5SYK then followed your guide until I reach 'make install_sc' (which I didn't run).
I also installed the 10.12.3 update and put config_install_sc.plist content in config.plist in SSD EFI/CLOVER.
Then I put the SSD with freshly updated macOS Sierra 10.12.3 in the NUC6i7KYK and it booted from the SSD. I had to set these BIOS options to boot successfully:
- Devices->Video, "IGD Minimum Memory" set to 128 MB
- Devices->Onboard Devices disabled all but LAN (Enabling Audio prevents the system from booting)
- Devices->PCI "M.2 Slot 2" disabled
Once in macOS I resumed following your guide (specific to Skull Canyon).

The system is really unstable. Safari and the Terminal crashe often: unresponsive GUI then "Application unexpectedly quit" message. In Safari the contents of web pages can be blank. I installed Chrome but couldn't do anything with it.

I attach the "Problem Reporting" files to this message.
Outputs contains kextstats and clear cache outputs as well a an error output from install_downlads.sh.

Many thanks!

Seb

Enable audio.
As per guide, disable "hda-gfx" injection until you can have the audio kext in cache. Or use pre-patch_hda.sh.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
21
Motherboard
NUC5i3MYHE
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Enable audio.
As per guide, disable "hda-gfx" injection until you can have the audio kext in cache. Or use pre-patch_hda.sh.
Thank you! This solved the boot issue :)
However the setup is pretty unstable: applications crash really often. Is this normal behavior on this setup? What can I do to improve stability? Can the Skull Canyon be on par with the NUC6i5 in terms of usability?

Anyway, thank you very much for your invaluable help
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,014
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you! This solved the boot issue :)
However the setup is pretty unstable: applications crash really often. Is this normal behavior on this setup? What can I do to improve stability? Can the Skull Canyon be on par with the NUC6i5 in terms of usability?

Anyway, thank you very much for your invaluable help

My NUC6i7KYK is perfectly stable... I have RAM from Intel recommended list. Do you?
Is your hardware stable on Windows?
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
21
Motherboard
NUC5i3MYHE
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
My NUC6i7KYK is perfectly stable... I have RAM from Intel recommended list. Do you?
Is your hardware stable on Windows?
Yes it seemed stable under Windows (I delete the Windows partition yesterday).
I use 1x16GB Crucial RAM in bottom slot... which is not in Intel recommended list.
Could you please give me the reference of yours?
Thanks again
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,014
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I use 1x16GB Crucial RAM in bottom slot... which is not in Intel recommended list.

It is not what is shown in your Clover bootlog!
This extracted from your ioreg in post #406:
Code:
0:100  0:000  Type 16 Index = 0
0:100  0:000  Total Memory Slots Count = 2
0:100  0:000  Type 17 Index = 0
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Speed = 2133MHz
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Size = 4096MB
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Bank/Device = BANK 0 ChannelA-DIMM0
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Vendor = Kingston
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->SerialNumber = 19255105
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->PartNumber = KHX2133C13S4/4G    
0:100  0:000  Type 17 Index = 1
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Speed = 2133MHz
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Size = 4096MB
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Bank/Device = BANK 2 ChannelB-DIMM0
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Vendor = Kingston
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->SerialNumber = 19255024
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->PartNumber = KHX2133C13S4/4G

Clover sees two 4GB RAM sticks in dual channel config, of Kingston make!
I think that explains your instability.

Here is mine:
Code:
0:100  0:000  === [ Get Smbios ] ========================================
0:100  0:000  Type 16 Index = 0
0:100  0:000  Total Memory Slots Count = 2
0:100  0:000  Type 17 Index = 0
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Speed = 2400MHz
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Size = 8192MB
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Bank/Device = BANK 0 ChannelA-DIMM0
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Vendor = 0420
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->SerialNumber = 00000000
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->PartNumber = F4-2800C18-8GRS    
0:100  0:000  Type 17 Index = 1
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Speed = 2400MHz
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Size = 8192MB
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Bank/Device = BANK 2 ChannelB-DIMM0
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Vendor = 0420
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->SerialNumber = 00000000
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->PartNumber = F4-2800C18-8GRS

It matches my 2x8GB Gskill configuration.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2015
Messages
21
Motherboard
NUC5i3MYHE
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
It is not what is shown in your Clover bootlog!
This extracted from your ioreg in post #406:
Code:
0:100  0:000  Type 16 Index = 0
0:100  0:000  Total Memory Slots Count = 2
0:100  0:000  Type 17 Index = 0
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Speed = 2133MHz
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Size = 4096MB
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Bank/Device = BANK 0 ChannelA-DIMM0
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Vendor = Kingston
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->SerialNumber = 19255105
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->PartNumber = KHX2133C13S4/4G  
0:100  0:000  Type 17 Index = 1
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Speed = 2133MHz
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Size = 4096MB
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Bank/Device = BANK 2 ChannelB-DIMM0
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Vendor = Kingston
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->SerialNumber = 19255024
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->PartNumber = KHX2133C13S4/4G

Clover sees two 4GB RAM sticks in dual channel config, of Kingston make!
I think that explains your instability.

Here is mine:
Code:
0:100  0:000  === [ Get Smbios ] ========================================
0:100  0:000  Type 16 Index = 0
0:100  0:000  Total Memory Slots Count = 2
0:100  0:000  Type 17 Index = 0
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Speed = 2400MHz
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Size = 8192MB
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Bank/Device = BANK 0 ChannelA-DIMM0
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Vendor = 0420
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->SerialNumber = 00000000
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->PartNumber = F4-2800C18-8GRS  
0:100  0:000  Type 17 Index = 1
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Speed = 2400MHz
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Size = 8192MB
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Bank/Device = BANK 2 ChannelB-DIMM0
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->Vendor = 0420
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->SerialNumber = 00000000
0:100  0:000  SmbiosTable.Type17->PartNumber = F4-2800C18-8GRS

It matches my 2x8GB Gskill configuration.
No way to keep my little secrets :)
I have 2x 4GB Kingston and 1x16GB Crucial and tested both. When you were asking the 1x16GB was in the box
How to display this info?

Is it possible in the bios to reduce stress on RAM or disable dual channel to check if my ram sticks are the culprit?
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top