Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel NUC7/NUC8 using Clover UEFI (NUC7i7Bxx,NUC8i7Bxx,etc)

Joined
Dec 25, 2018
Messages
8
Motherboard
NUC8i7BEH
CPU
i7-8559u
Graphics
Iris+ 655
After installing VoodooHDA 2.9.0, the audio part is working. Fixing the Bluetooth. Now I can't turn off the built in bluetooth and it is not working. I have external BT dongle. Anyone can help me to fix it? Thanks.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2011
Messages
37
Confusion...
Your profile indicates NUC7, yet you mention Macmini8,1 (applicable to NUC8 only).
How can I change from iMac16,2 to Macmini8,1?

Just loaded a new NUC8 following your's and clics guides. (THANK YOU)

2 issues - can't set the system to just boot to macOS and can't change to Macmini8,1. Tried with clover config by mounting efi and saving but nada
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2011
Messages
37
How can I change from iMac16,2 to Macmini8,1?

Just loaded a new NUC8 following your's and clics guides. (THANK YOU)

2 issues - can't set the system to just boot to macOS and can't change to Macmini8,1. Tried with clover config by mounting efi and saving but nada
Well I got the system to finally boot directly to macOS. But when i changed the NUC8 to Macmini8,1 the system booted fine but showed a 2012 iMac vs 16,2??
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2014
Messages
7
Motherboard
MSI Z97S SLI Krait
CPU
I5 4690K
Graphics
R9 390
For the NUC8i7BEH, should I format my USB to MBR or GPT?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
36
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270X-UD5
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
  2. 512K
  3. Classic
  4. Color Classic
  5. eMac
  6. iMac
  7. LC
  8. Performa
  9. Plus
  10. Power Mac
  11. PowerBook
  12. Quadra
  13. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
For the NUC8i7BEH, should I format my USB to MBR or GPT?

As @Cric mentioned in his post/article above (see 7 posts ago):

"MBR USB with a FAT32 partition for Clover and a separate HFS+J partition for the OS X installer."
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
25
Motherboard
Optiplex 9020 Sff
CPU
i7-4790
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
EDIT: Delete.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 29, 2018
Messages
9
Motherboard
NUC8i7BEH
CPU
i7
Graphics
Intel
After the install, I have a synthesised partition in my disk. Is this because my MacOS USB was created in a virtual machine in windows? Can I just erase this partition?
don't touch it, it's apfs container.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2018
Messages
9
Motherboard
NUC8i7BEH
CPU
i7
Graphics
Intel

Thanks for the reply.

I did connect the data +- to usb header 2(-),3(+). however the system will not see the device. I ordered a new set of card and adapter, will test when it arrived.
as of FCP, I have no problem install, open, loading bruce x xml and playback the mov with quicktime player.

I will attach another clover config here later, internet doesn't agree with me atm....

When testing this setup I use HDMI to connect to a monitor, with no speaker. but I also tested it with my tv and sound over HDMI confirmed working.

However, after extend time leaving the box idle, the screen will turn to white noise and will not come back from it. I have to force shutdown with power Botton. any ideas?

Edit: bluetooth is not always working, I don't know why...
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 1397-10-13 at 7.50.26 PM.png
    Screen Shot 1397-10-13 at 7.50.26 PM.png
    961 KB · Views: 123
  • Screen Shot 1397-10-13 at 7.54.52 PM.png
    Screen Shot 1397-10-13 at 7.54.52 PM.png
    76.3 KB · Views: 134
  • Screen Shot 1397-10-13 at 7.55.09 PM.png
    Screen Shot 1397-10-13 at 7.55.09 PM.png
    99.3 KB · Views: 122
  • Screen Shot 1397-10-13 at 7.55.49 PM.png
    Screen Shot 1397-10-13 at 7.55.49 PM.png
    114.9 KB · Views: 121
  • Screen Shot 1397-10-13 at 7.56.11 PM.png
    Screen Shot 1397-10-13 at 7.56.11 PM.png
    116.8 KB · Views: 138
  • Screen Shot 1397-10-13 at 7.57.21 PM.png
    Screen Shot 1397-10-13 at 7.57.21 PM.png
    125.5 KB · Views: 124
  • EFI copy.zip
    34.7 MB · Views: 141
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
44
Motherboard
Intel NUC 7i5BNK
CPU
i5-7260U
Graphics
Iris Plus 640
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Does anyone know why Hwmonitor runs only on one user account? In my case the first account I created on the Hackintosh (Admin). In my personal account (also with admin rights), it won’t run. On my dedicated admin account (Admin) it runs with no problem.

Thanks in advance.

Greetings
schlotterp
 
Top