Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel NUC7/NUC8 using Clover UEFI (NUC7i7Bxx,NUC8i7Bxx,etc)

Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
7
Motherboard
NUC8i7BEH / NYC5i5MYHE
CPU
Intel Iris Plus Graphics 655
Graphics
Intel Core i7-8559U
I updated BIOS to latest (85) and I tried this build: https://github.com/zearp/Nucintosh

All seems to be working - including BT and WIFI. I still like the build from this thread @ page 90 as it seems a bit less bloated. I tried coping USBPorts but that didn't do much so I don't think the issue is with my USBPorts.kext. Must be somthing with SSDT or config that I'm missing. Just need to enable HS05 and HS06 headers.

Also discovered that you need to remove HS10 otherwise you will have sleep-wake issues with BT <-- THIS IS IMPORTANT step that seems to be missing here for people that use M2 slot with Apple Aircard.

Still facing issue with HDMI. Will try another cable maybe.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 30, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
NUC8
CPU
i5
Graphics
Intel Iris Plus Graphics 655
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,
New around here but thanks to you I managed to get my NUC8i5 to work with OC6.2 with the files on page 90.
I would like to install windows on a second hard drive (Sata). But I don't know where to start after having read a lot of posts on it. I'm afraid of breaking mac OS.
Can any of you help me ?
Thank you
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2011
Messages
105
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370M D3H
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks, personally it doesn't do anything for me so I'm not going to add it. Also I'm really not interested in maintaining another upload format. It's relatively easy to add it compared to starting from scratch. Here's how:

Hi Leesureone, thanks a lot for sharing all EFS's for the NUC. I used the OpenCore 0.6.2 and it works very well on a NUC8i3BEK, the low model with NVME only ssd. With some additions also wifi seems to work quite good. I have one question and that is how did you come to conclusion about framrate settings? Sanity check says its not a CoffeLake cpu, and as far as I understand Hackintool suggests other numbers too. I mean perhaps not a big deal, your works, and putting something else there does not work to boot with. So if you have time to answer this it would be nice.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2011
Messages
105
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370M D3H
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,
New around here but thanks to you I managed to get my NUC8i5 to work with OC6.2 with the files on page 90.
I would like to install windows on a second hard drive (Sata). But I don't know where to start after having read a lot of posts on it. I'm afraid of breaking mac OS.
Can any of you help me ?
Thank you
Hi did you read this? https://dortania.github.io/OpenCore-Post-Install/multiboot/bootstrap.html#preparation Perhaps it will help. I think I would take away the MacOs disk before installing Windows in any case. After install put it back and take it from there, I think OpenCore will see both installations.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
7
Motherboard
NUC8i7BEH / NYC5i5MYHE
CPU
Intel Iris Plus Graphics 655
Graphics
Intel Core i7-8559U
2. The second issue is HDMI. I'm getting sometimes a noise (like old TV noise). Attaching and detaching cable works. I wonder if I can tweak something or should I just switch to USBC -> DisplayPort cable.

Swapping out a cable did the trick for me (at least so far). I used an old HDMI 1.4 cable that I had at hand and so far so good. The one that I used initially says 2.0 and 4K. Surprisingly that cable seems to be working just fine with my TV. Not sure if it is a function of HDMI version or just cable not being so good. The older cable that seems to be working is a bit studier/thicker, has gold plated contacts and has a bigger plug as well.

Just FYI if somebody comes across the same problem.
 

Leesureone

Moderator
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
3,295
Motherboard
Asus Z690i Gaming Wifi
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Leesureone, thanks a lot for sharing all EFS's for the NUC. I used the OpenCore 0.6.2 and it works very well on a NUC8i3BEK, the low model with NVME only ssd. With some additions also wifi seems to work quite good. I have one question and that is how did you come to conclusion about framrate settings? Sanity check says its not a CoffeLake cpu, and as far as I understand Hackintool suggests other numbers too. I mean perhaps not a big deal, your works, and putting something else there does not work to boot with. So if you have time to answer this it would be nice.
Hi, your post is a little confusing. Frame Rate settings? Not sure what you mean there. If you are referring to the website to test config.plist settings Sanity Check will only report on what you tell it. Hackintool can be wrong and that is documented, you have to be careful choosing the correct device IDs.

All the NUC8s are Coffee Lake 8th Generation CPUs (hence the name NUC8). Here is the intel product information page on your model. Note 8th generation which is also known as Coffee Lake.

 

Attachments

  • NUC8i3.png
    NUC8i3.png
    258.9 KB · Views: 49

Leesureone

Moderator
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
3,295
Motherboard
Asus Z690i Gaming Wifi
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Swapping out a cable did the trick for me (at least so far). I used an old HDMI 1.4 cable that I had at hand and so far so good. The one that I used initially says 2.0 and 4K. Surprisingly that cable seems to be working just fine with my TV. Not sure if it is a function of HDMI version or just cable not being so good. The older cable that seems to be working is a bit studier/thicker, has gold plated contacts and has a bigger plug as well.

Just FYI if somebody comes across the same problem.
Funny how that can make a difference. There is also an HDMI firmware update available on intel's download page that has helped some users.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2011
Messages
105
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370M D3H
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, your post is a little confusing. Frame Rate settings? Not sure what you mean there. If you are referring to the website to test config.plist settings Sanity Check will only report on what you tell it. Hackintool can be wrong and that is documented, you have to be careful choosing the correct device IDs.

All the NUC8s are Coffee Lake 8th Generation CPUs (hence the name NUC8). Here is the intel product information page on your model. Note 8th generation which is also known as Coffee Lake.

Hi, yes it was confusing, sorry. What I was referring to was the AAPL,ig-platform-id number. Well, I must read more about this OpenCore to understand more. I had a crash course on it the other day with this NUC8. My plan is to use it later on my other computers.
 

Leesureone

Moderator
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
3,295
Motherboard
Asus Z690i Gaming Wifi
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, yes it was confusing, sorry. What I was referring to was the AAPL,ig-platform-id number. Well, I must read more about this OpenCore to understand more. I had a crash course on it the other day with this NUC8. My plan is to use it later on my other computers.
There are general recommendations Dortania provides in the install guide which are helpful but not always necessary. When I migrated over from clover I used the device IDs we had been using since Rehabman wrote the original guide are scripts. They worked fine and provided accurate information so have never thought about changing them. Same goes for the system definition, Dortania suggests iMac 18,3 For IGPU I think but Macmini8,1 works quite well.
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
240
Motherboard
NUC8i5
CPU
i5-8259U
Graphics
Iris Plus Graphics 655
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
After many years of using Hackintosh on the trustworthy Sandy Bridge platform, I upgraded last week to the NUC8i5BEH.
Config is 32Gb DDR4 2400Mhz and a 850 Pro SSD. Planning to get a NVME during Black Friday,

What a breeze to install, followed the OC6.2 install guide on Github, used a Leesureone's EFI folder (Page 90), tweaked the config.plist a bit using jvelascov's commands (page 369) and zxystd's Github for the Wifi kexts.

Install was easier than Windows! With the latest itlwm even the on-board WiFi works. My router is just next to the computer so no real speed issues for me, but it's true that speeds are reduced compared to Windows.
Overall, everything works perfectly now, thanks a lot for the valuable resources :clap::clap:

 
Top