Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel NUC7/NUC8 using Clover UEFI (NUC7i7Bxx,NUC8i7Bxx,etc)

Joined
Oct 31, 2011
Messages
51
Motherboard
Asus TUF Z390-PRO GAMING
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So, my better half's iMac (Late 2009) has just about reached the end of its life. Been a good run. I'm thinking about building a NUC-based replacement using a NUC8i5BEH1, an ample amount of memory (16GB), and 500GB of M.2 SSD. I know I'll have to add a bluetooth adapter so her wireless keyboard & trackpad will work.
Am I missing anything? Is this a completely looney idea? I guess the other option is to go "mini" on the desktop...

Thanks for your thoughts.
 

Leesureone

Moderator
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
2,775
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix X570 Gaming i
CPU
Ryzen 9 5900X
Graphics
5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I don’t have any problems with my NAS. I have issues with the performance of my gigabit ethernet on my nuc8 with catelina: it’s slow as hell. Iperf is a tool to test your network. It needs a client and server on your network. I used my nas and my nuc8 as they both are connected through ethernet.

All of the suggestions did not work for me, so I’m currently at 100mbit
Fix Regions.png
@AlteredHorizon makes a valid point depending on where you live. The Fix Regions patch has been documented to help with ethernet speeds in cases like yours.
 

Leesureone

Moderator
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
2,775
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix X570 Gaming i
CPU
Ryzen 9 5900X
Graphics
5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I will certainly try! Can you give some background on what it does?
Another area I am not familiar with, thought it had to do with physical location. :rolleyes: It’s apparently more to do with memory regions. See below from Rehabman from his clover configuration guide.

Floating regions

In ACPI, an OperationRegion can define a MMIO region, SystemMemory region, EmbeddedControl region, etc. These regions usually have fixed addresses dependent only on the machine configuration, BIOS version, or BIOS options. Sometimes, these regions can change randomly or unexpectedly. This is referred to as "floating regions".

Since by patching DSDT and/or SSDTs, we are providing a snapshot of these addresses at a given point in time, they may not match up should the BIOS decide to place such regions at a different address. If this is the case, you may notice that certain features are intermittently working, or other stability issues that appear to be random.

If you have randomly floating regions, you can try Clover's FixRegions feature (config.plist/ACPI/DSDT/Fixes/FixRegions=true). You can find the details in the Clover Wiki. Note: Only floating regions in DSDT can be fixed by FixRegions. Floating regions in SSDTs are problematic and there is no good solution other than to not provide patched SSDTs for SSDTs subject to randomly floating regions. Working around floating regions in patched SSDTs is beyond the scope of this guide. Note that FixRegions is relatively buggy. It cannot fix all regions and it can sometimes "fix" regions incorrectly.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2019
Messages
122
Motherboard
NUC8i7BEH
CPU
Intel i7 8559U
Graphics
Intel Iris Plus 655
Another area I am not familiar with, thought it had to do with physical location. :rolleyes: It’s apparently more to do with memory regions. See below from Rehabman from his clover configuration guide.

Floating regions

In ACPI, an OperationRegion can define a MMIO region, SystemMemory region, EmbeddedControl region, etc. These regions usually have fixed addresses dependent only on the machine configuration, BIOS version, or BIOS options. Sometimes, these regions can change randomly or unexpectedly. This is referred to as "floating regions".

Since by patching DSDT and/or SSDTs, we are providing a snapshot of these addresses at a given point in time, they may not match up should the BIOS decide to place such regions at a different address. If this is the case, you may notice that certain features are intermittently working, or other stability issues that appear to be random.

If you have randomly floating regions, you can try Clover's FixRegions feature (config.plist/ACPI/DSDT/Fixes/FixRegions=true). You can find the details in the Clover Wiki. Note: Only floating regions in DSDT can be fixed by FixRegions. Floating regions in SSDTs are problematic and there is no good solution other than to not provide patched SSDTs for SSDTs subject to randomly floating regions. Working around floating regions in patched SSDTs is beyond the scope of this guide. Note that FixRegions is relatively buggy. It cannot fix all regions and it can sometimes "fix" regions incorrectly.
Haha thanks, didn’t understand a word of it . ACPI, SSDT, DSDT,.. are all unknown to me..
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2019
Messages
30
Motherboard
NUC7I7DNKE
CPU
i7-8650U
Graphics
UHD620
I think it is a ploy to make you buy a newer model Macbook/Pro/Air.
Unfortunately, Apple does this all the time - arbitrary hw restrictions to encourage people to buy new hardware smh
 

Leesureone

Moderator
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
2,775
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix X570 Gaming i
CPU
Ryzen 9 5900X
Graphics
5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Seems that I fixed this right now almost one week away :D. Else I do first test at Mojave because is better supports like apps and etc just. But anyway I have question if exist any Application for CPU testing because sometime when I open any apps or Games in Webbrowser the processor fan make too much noice for nothing.
you can adjust the fan speed in the bios...you can also use activity monitor in Applications/ Utilities to see what is using the CPU.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2019
Messages
190
Motherboard
INTEL NUC8i7BEH - Bios 74
CPU
i7-8559U
Graphics
Iris Plus 655
Mac
  1. Mac mini
QUESTION ABOUT REHABMAN BIOS SETTINGS:

I was reading the first page of this guide once again and read this which raised a question.

"in BIOS settings you *must* enable legacy boot (continue to boot UEFI, but enable legacy for CSM)
(you will have KP/reboot without it)"

I somehow missed this detail and have been running with "legacy boot" disabled. I'll do as the guide says but Catalina is running ok for me.

I looked up CSM. What does the above statement mean? "you will have KP/reboot without it? What is KP"

So Leesureone is that part of the guide still valid as my system is working?
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2019
Messages
190
Motherboard
INTEL NUC8i7BEH - Bios 74
CPU
i7-8559U
Graphics
Iris Plus 655
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Want to buy USB WiFi Adapter for my NUC8i7BEH

Is there any favorite Mac Hackintosh USB 3.0 Adapter. I have done some reading and found a TP-Link and D-Link review but hoping there would be an adapter that is Made for Mojave/Catalina.


It seems that tech companies are not updating their drivers for Mojave and now Catalina so thought I would ask here first.
 

Leesureone

Moderator
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
2,775
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix X570 Gaming i
CPU
Ryzen 9 5900X
Graphics
5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
QUESTION ABOUT REHABMAN BIOS SETTINGS:

I was reading the first page of this guide once again and read this which raised a question.

"in BIOS settings you *must* enable legacy boot (continue to boot UEFI, but enable legacy for CSM)
(you will have KP/reboot without it)"

I somehow missed this detail and have been running with "legacy boot" disabled. I'll do as the guide says but Catalina is running ok for me.

I looked up CSM. What does the above statement mean? "you will have KP/reboot without it? What is KP"

So Leesureone is that part of the guide still valid as my system is working?
KP = Kernel Panic...bad deal. Things have changed, I still run with Legacy Boot enabled but it may not be necessary. I know at least one user, and now you, who have reported not needing it. Wondering if you did enable it if it changed the dual boot scenario you described yesterday.
 
Top