Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel NUC7/NUC8 using Clover UEFI (NUC7i7Bxx,NUC8i7Bxx,etc)

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,731
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Sorry, but I don’t have one to test, only 4K available :(.

Tried today with a completely reinstall and it reboots with new SSDT. Old SSDT keep machine working.
I have used my setup with a 4k monitor, so it is not 4k related.
You must have something wrong.
You will need to attach PR files.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
64
Motherboard
NUC8i7BNH
CPU
i7 8559U
Graphics
UHD 655
Mac
MacBook Pro
I have used my setup with a 4k monitor, so it is not 4k related.
You must have something wrong.
You will need to attach PR files.
Here you have it. It should be the same to the current GitHub branch, but old SSDT. If I generate new, I cannot login to the system, it reboots, and I couldn't gen_debug files in that situation.

Thank you again for helping me.
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,731
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Here you have it. It should be the same to the current GitHub branch, but old SSDT. If I generate new, I cannot login to the system, it reboots, and I couldn't gen_debug files in that situation.

Thank you again for helping me.
Need verbose boot photo and *exact* EFI/Clover that causes it.
Also, as per guide, DO NOT edit your config.plist with Clover Configurator (it causes excessive changes/diffs).
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
64
Motherboard
NUC8i7BNH
CPU
i7 8559U
Graphics
UHD 655
Mac
MacBook Pro
Need verbose boot photo and *exact* EFI/Clover that causes it.
Also, as per guide, DO NOT edit your config.plist with Clover Configurator (it causes excessive changes/diffs).
How can I give you the files if I cannot login to the system? Is there a way to do it? The files I gave you are exactly the same, only SSDT is different. Is it valid for you if I upload problematic SSDT files only?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,731
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
How can I give you the files if I cannot login to the system?
You could boot with USB.
Or you could collect EFI/Clover from Windows or Linux.

Don't forget to fix config.plist, as there are too many diffs from github config_nuc8_bc.plist for me to confirm there isn't something wrong with your version.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
64
Motherboard
NUC8i7BNH
CPU
i7 8559U
Graphics
UHD 655
Mac
MacBook Pro
You could boot with USB.
Or you could collect EFI/Clover from Windows or Linux.

Don't forget to fix config.plist, as there are too many diffs from github config_nuc8_bc.plist for me to confirm there isn't something wrong with your version.
Here you have it. I have done it after reboot. I upload it now and tell you how it goes after reboot.

Fingers crossed! :)

EDIT: Confirmed. After rebooting it still doesn’t work, so config.plist file wasn’t the problem. I am going to restore again old SSDT. In your tests how have you connected 4K monitor? HDMI?
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
64
Motherboard
NUC8i7BNH
CPU
i7 8559U
Graphics
UHD 655
Mac
MacBook Pro
Good and bad news, luckily I discovered what is causing the problem. I tried to boot with the new SSDT using a USB-C to DisplayPort cable I use for my Macbook Pro. The good news is that it works.

The bad news: After logging in, as this is the first time I am using this cable, macOS is configured 1080p HIDPI. When changing it to 1440p HIDPI in order to have more space, the machine reboots right after pressing the button to change the resolution!!

So the problem seems to be with extended HIDPI resolutions in the new SSDT. If I use the old SSDT, 1440p HIDPI works flawlessly. What can be the difference?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,731
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Here you have it. I have done it after reboot. I upload it now and tell you how it goes after reboot.
Your config.plist is still substantially different from config_nuc8_bc.plist.
I think you're editing it with Clover Configurator, even though the guide advises against it.
Use config_nuc8_bc.plist unmodified.

The SSDT-NUC8-BC.aml in EFI/Clover you attached is not current with respect to github content.

In your tests how have you connected 4K monitor? HDMI?
I used both the USB type-C (which is really DP), and HDMI.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,731
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Good and bad news, luckily I discovered what is causing the problem. I tried to boot with the new SSDT using a USB-C to DisplayPort cable I use for my Macbook Pro. The good news is that it works.

The bad news: After logging in, as this is the first time I am using this cable, macOS is configured 1080p HIDPI. When changing it to 1440p HIDPI in order to have more space, the machine reboots right after pressing the button to change the resolution!!

So the problem seems to be with extended HIDPI resolutions in the new SSDT. If I use the old SSDT, 1440p HIDPI works flawlessly. What can be the difference?
No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
64
Motherboard
NUC8i7BNH
CPU
i7 8559U
Graphics
UHD 655
Mac
MacBook Pro
Your config.plist is still substantially different from config_nuc8_bc.plist.
I think you're editing it with Clover Configurator, even though the guide advises against it.
Use config_nuc8_bc.plist unmodified.

The SSDT-NUC8-BC.aml in EFI/Clover you attached is not current with respect to github content.



I used both the USB type-C (which is really DP), and HDMI.
I used Textwrangler to add only the "Macintosh HD" as boot volume and SMBIOS serial only... I am not using Clover Configurator...

No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.
Hope this time is ok for you.
 

Attachments

Top