Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Kaby Lake NUC7 using Clover UEFI (NUC7i7BNH, NUC7i5BNK, NUC7i3BNH, etc)

Status
Not open for further replies.

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,623
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the all the amazing work and clear instructions! This was my first ever Hackintosh so it was pretty exciting to get my NUC7I3BNK working with almost everything except for sleep/wake.

I *think* sleep was partially working initially but somewhere along the line it broke. At one point I messed up my kernel extensions and redid the entire process (BIOS reset, reinstalled CLOVER + OS X Sierra, etc) but the problem persists.

Equipment
- Intel NUC7I3BNK with 2x8 Crucial Memory
- mSATA Samsung EVO 250 SSD
- HDMI->HDMI to Dell 2408WFP (OP uses USB-C, maybe HDMI signaling is causing issues?)

Symptoms
- If I sleep the machine, blue led turns off and power button turns orange. Once I wake it blue LED comes back, but monitor never turns back on. Machine appears to be awake.
- If I manually turn off the monitor, or if the NUC turns off the monitor to save energy, I cannot get the NUC to ever send a video signal back to the monitor.

What I've tried
I've tried a few different BIOS settings but it didn't make a difference. Before I reinstalled everything from scratch, I reset the BIOS back to defaults and #1 post settings. I've looked at pmset -g and hibernatemode = 0. I've also tried playing around with the Energy Savings Control Panel.

I load EmuVariableUefi-64.efi because MLB/ROM variables wouldn't work otherwise. I needed this to get iMessages working. Other than that, I don't think I've strayed much from the instructions. I edited config.plist for both SMBIOS and RTVariables. Any help would be appreciated!

Did you try using a DisplayPort cable? (your monitor has a DP connector).
I think DP is more stable than HDMI for Skylake/KabyLake graphics.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
49
Motherboard
Dell XPS 15 9570 (Clover UEFI)
CPU
i7-8750H/CM246
Graphics
UHD 630/1050Ti Max-Q, 3840x2160
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Actually the last topic is similar to my question. When using HDMI there is no problem at all. When using DisplayPort mini, as soon as I manually switch the monitor off and on the only thing I'll get is a mouse cursor on a black screen. My guess is that switching off the monitor might also lock the current session resulting in an invisible login screen (for whatever reason)..
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,623
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Actually the last topic is similar to my question. When using HDMI there is no problem at all. When using DisplayPort mini, as soon as I manually switch the monitor off and on the only thing I'll get is a mouse cursor on a black screen. My guess is that switching off the monitor might also lock the current session resulting in an invisible login screen (for whatever reason)..

If you turn the monitor off, you're forcing a hotplug (same as unplugging).
There are known problems with hotplug. Workaround: Don't do it.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
22
CPU
Intel Core i3-7100U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 620
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong here, but I can't even boot into the Installer fully on my NUC7i3BNH. I get the progress bar and once it fills almost all the way up I get the spinning wheel and can move the mouse around, but that's as far as it goes. Even when I boot in verbose mode, it still boots to the same screen eventually with the progress bar and spinning wheel. I notice that your .plist file calls out an NVMe drive specificially and I'm using a 2.5" SSD; would that prevent the installer from loading?

I have followed the instructions in the first post several times and still no luck. I did place HFSPlus.efi into /EFI/Clover/Drivers64UEFI as outlined in the linked post, and I created the Installer USB via the createinstallmedia command on my Mac Mini. Other than that, the kexts I placed into /Clover/kexts/other were: IntelMausiEthernet.kext, Lilu.kext, and IntelGraphicsFixup.kext along with the config.plist you linked in the /EFI/Clover folder.

Obviously I can't get access to the terminal to provide the output you are requesting, but if there's any other helpful information you would like me to provide, please let me know.
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,623
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong here, but I can't even boot into the Installer fully on my NUC7i3BNH. I get the progress bar and once it fills almost all the way up I get the spinning wheel and can move the mouse around, but that's as far as it goes. Even when I boot in verbose mode, it still boots to the same screen eventually with the progress bar and spinning wheel. I notice that your .plist file calls out an NVMe drive specificially and I'm using a 2.5" SSD; would that prevent the installer from loading?

I have followed the instructions in the first post several times and still no luck. I did place HFSPlus.efi into /EFI/Clover/Drivers64UEFI as outlined in the linked post, and I created the Installer USB via the createinstallmedia command on my Mac Mini. Other than that, the kexts I placed into /Clover/kexts/other were: IntelMausiEthernet.kext, Lilu.kext, and IntelGraphicsFixup.kext along with the config.plist you linked in the /EFI/Clover folder.

Obviously I can't get access to the terminal to provide the output you are requesting, but if there's any other helpful information you would like me to provide, please let me know.

Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting"
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
22
CPU
Intel Core i3-7100U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 620
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android

Thank you for the guidance. Attached is my CLOVER.zip folder and 2 images; the 1st is the last "update" to verbose mode and the 2nd is the progress bar/spinning circle where the NUC sits presently. You'll notice that the progress bar is not "full" and has a bluish color as an outline which I thought was strange as well. Please let me know if there's anything else I can provide.
 

Attachments

  • CLOVER.zip
    1.7 MB · Views: 69
  • verbose.jpg
    verbose.jpg
    6.4 MB · Views: 105
  • progress.jpg
    progress.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 94

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,623
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you for the guidance. Attached is my CLOVER.zip folder and 2 images; the 1st is the last "update" to verbose mode and the 2nd is the progress bar/spinning circle where the NUC sits presently. You'll notice that the progress bar is not "full" and has a bluish color as an outline which I thought was strange as well. Please let me know if there's anything else I can provide.

Your EFI/Clover/kexts/Other is not per guide.
Not sure why you expect to boot the installer without FakeSMC.kext. Other kexts are missing too.
Make sure you read the guide very carefully.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2016
Messages
15
Motherboard
Asus s300ca 1061h
CPU
Intel core i5-3317u (1,7GHz)
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Hello RehabMan !!!

First thank you so much for this tutorial !

I read it methodically, everything seems to work great except the audio, I try during days to find a solution by myself, i tried many solutions but unsuccessfull...

I join the file requested for a bug report, I hope I did it well and sorry to bother you but if you could help it would be awesome :)

Thanks in advance
 

Attachments

  • ReportSoundBug.zip
    2.7 MB · Views: 71

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,623
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello RehabMan !!!

First thank you so much for this tutorial !

I read it methodically, everything seems to work great except the audio, I try during days to find a solution by myself, i tried many solutions but unsuccessfull...

I join the file requested for a bug report, I hope I did it well and sorry to bother you but if you could help it would be awesome :)

Thanks in advance

You did not follow the guide.
This guide does not recommend installing realtekALC.kext, yet your kextcache output clearly shows it installed.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2016
Messages
15
Motherboard
Asus s300ca 1061h
CPU
Intel core i5-3317u (1,7GHz)
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
You did not follow the guide.
This guide does not recommend installing realtekALC.kext, yet your kextcache output clearly shows it installed.

I followed it, but at the first i didnt understood everything and I mixed it with a French tutorial based on your guide, but really not exactly the same so I think I made a mistake during the post installation. Then I tried to fix with many other options (that's why the realtekALC.kext) and yeah it may be a mess...

So I'm gonna restart all from scratch and from what I learned (and apply very seriously your guide) I hope it's gonna be good :)

Thank you for your quick response.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top