Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Ivy Bridge HD2500 Full Resolution and QE/CI (10.8.3+)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 9, 2013
Messages
118
Motherboard
Sony Vaio SVE15115FXS
CPU
Core i5-3210m, HM76
Graphics
HD4000, 1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
EDIT: UPDATED AS OF 22-APRIL-2013

AS of 10.8.3, the stock Apple kexts include the dev-id of the Ivy Bridge HD2500 IGPU.

Know issue:
- Works only with DVI/HDMI. No analog VGA.

Prerequisites:
- Connect your display to your motherboard's DVI or HDMI port.
- Enable the integrated GPU in your BIOS/UEFI
- Set the vram in your computer's BIOS/UEFI to 32MB.
- Mac OS X 10.8.3+ with untouched kexts.

Instructions: (Tip: Use the chameleon wizard app)
1- Enable Chameleon's Graphics Enabler.
2- Set smbios to Macmini6,2
3- Inject the following EFI device properties

ig-platform-id: 0166000B, Shared RAM for FB: 32MB, Pipes: 2, Ports: 3, FBMem: 2
Code:
[COLOR=#000000]7f0000000100000001000000730000000200000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff04002c0000004100410050004c002c00690067002d0070006c006100740066006f0072006d002d00690064000000080000000b006601140000006800640061002d0067006600780000000d0000006f6e626f6172642d31[/COLOR]

On reboot, the card will be detected as Intel HD4000, and you'll have full resolution and QE/CI
biggrin.png



Troubleshooting:

If it doesn't work, you might need to inject the platform-id using DSDT.
Remove the string and disable the Chameleon's graphics enabler.

Find the device with address
Name (_ADR, 0x00020000) and rename it IGPU and add this method right below the line. You may need to renames all references to this device in the DSDT to avoid compile errors.
Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
{
Store (Package (0x02)
{
"AAPL,ig-platform-id",
Buffer (0x04)
{
0x0B, 0x00, 0x66, 0x01
}
}, Local0)
DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
Return (Local0)
}
 

tonymacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
7,202
Motherboard
PRIME Z490-A
CPU
i5 10600K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey thanks for the info- unfortunately I can't test, as I don't have a CPU with HD 2500.

This is awesome- I wonder how universal it is? I'll spotlight this post, then we can get some more feedback. :clap:
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2013
Messages
118
Motherboard
Sony Vaio SVE15115FXS
CPU
Core i5-3210m, HM76
Graphics
HD4000, 1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hey thanks for the info- unfortunately I can't test, as I don't have a CPU with HD 2500.

This is awesome- I wonder how universal it is? I'll spotlight this post, then we can get some more feedback. :clap:

Feel free to share the wonderful news.
The HD2500 beats the cr@p out of my GeForce 210 (at least on OS X). No more AGPM nightmares and lags :D

It'll probably work on all desktop HD2500 cards. It might, at most, require a different platform-id for different setups.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2012
Messages
50
Motherboard
GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP
CPU
Core i5 3570K
Graphics
Zotac Geforce 560
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
So, I'm curious about this. I have a GTX 560 in my hack, but I use it basically only for gaming (under Windows), and it gives me Fermi freezes under 10.8.3. It got so bad that I had to downgrade to 10.8.2.

Would it be possible for me to disable the GPU on the Mac side, in order to save power, but have it show up under Windows? That way I'd also be able to upgrade my OS.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2011
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270x-Ultra Gaming
CPU
i5-7600
Graphics
R9 280X
I was trying this but I can't get QE/Ci working.
First of all, I have a Geforce 9600GT but need to make HD2500 (from i5 3470) to work in order to activate Airplay.

The facts,

1. Always enable onboard graphics on bios.
2. Connect vga cable to onboard vga port.
3. I'd to modify AppleIntelMEIDriver in AppleIntelFramebufferCapri.kext's Info.plist from 0x1C3A8086 to 0x1E3A8086 to get HD2500 working but still no QE/CI. Even with several EFI device properties configurations.

Do you know why it isn't working for me?

Thanx a lot.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2013
Messages
118
Motherboard
Sony Vaio SVE15115FXS
CPU
Core i5-3210m, HM76
Graphics
HD4000, 1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I was trying this but I can't get QE/Ci working.
First of all, I have a Geforce 9600GT but need to make HD2500 (from i5 3470) to work in order to activate Airplay.

The facts,

1. Always enable onboard graphics on bios.
2. Connect vga cable to onboard vga port.
3. I'd to modify AppleIntelMEIDriver in AppleIntelFramebufferCapri.kext's Info.plist from 0x1C3A8086 to 0x1E3A8086 to get HD2500 working but still no QE/CI. Even with several EFI device properties configurations.

Do you know why it isn't working for me?

Thanx a lot.

Please post a screenshot of the graphics section from system profiler (system info app). Whats your dev-id?

Revert all kexts back to stock 10.8.3, select macmini6,2
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2013
Messages
7
CPU
i5 3470
Graphics
gtx 660ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
What device-id do you have? Do we need to inject it?
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2013
Messages
118
Motherboard
Sony Vaio SVE15115FXS
CPU
Core i5-3210m, HM76
Graphics
HD4000, 1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Joined
Apr 6, 2013
Messages
7
CPU
i5 3470
Graphics
gtx 660ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Do you use vga or dvi? If I plug using dvi the display is scrambled as if the system couldn't detect the proper display resolution.
Moreover I have IOAccelerator2D.plugin loading instead of AppleIntelHD4000GraphicsGA.plugin .
Could you upload your ioreg?
 

Attachments

  • mmm.ioreg.zip
    408.7 KB · Views: 1,025
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top