Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel IGPU HDMI/DP audio (all Sandy Bridge -> Kaby Lake [and likely later])

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,247
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello!

I'm trying again to make a macOS install on my laptop (Acer F5-573G), this time with Mojave. So far, almost everything is working (Audio, Wi-fi and Ethernet, Elan touchpad, Brightness and Volume Keys, HDMI image, etc), but I have a strange issue with HDMI audio that's not working. Before I connect the external monitor, the connector-type in IOReg shows as "00 08 00 00", but when I connect the HDMI, it changes to "00 04 00 00", and audio does not work.

I don't know how to solve this, since everything appears to be OK to me, so any help is appreciated.

Sorry for my bad English.

Here's the files as ZIP and also 2 screenshots, one before and other after I plug the HDMI cord.

Thanks!

Try without FakePCIID_Intel_HDMI_Audio.kext.
Check that AppleALC.kext is latest.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Messages
73
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 7548 - OpenCore
CPU
i7-5500U
Graphics
HD 5500, R7 M270, 3840x2160
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hi, when I plug the HDMI the TV screen works (for no more than 5 seconds) and then blacks out and then again it works. It's constantly doing this, but the external display is always recognized my laptop.
Everything from the post #1 is checked and its ok, don't seem to find any problem but its not working.

Note: when the TV works the audio is also working.

Thanks in advance, any help it's appreciated
 

Attachments

  • debug_16794.zip
    2.1 MB · Views: 38
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,247
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, when I plug the HDMI the TV screen works (for no more than 5 seconds) and then blacks out and then again it works. It's constantly doing this, but the external display is always recognized my laptop.
Everything from the post #1 is checked and its ok, don't seem to find any problem but its not working.

Note: when the TV works the audio is also working.

Thanks in advance, any help it's appreciated

You might try tweaking the settings in SysPrefs->Displays.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Messages
73
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 7548 - OpenCore
CPU
i7-5500U
Graphics
HD 5500, R7 M270, 3840x2160
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
You might try tweaking the settings in SysPrefs->Displays.

Thanks, it worked with a 1920x1080 non-HiDPI resolution, can’t really get above that, nor any HDPI resolution for that matter.
Weird though, it's a 4K TV, it should be able to get higher res. Don't know if it's related to this problem also: #37
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,247
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks, it worked with a 1920x1080 non-HiDPI resolution, can’t really get above that, nor any HDPI resolution for that matter.
Weird though, it's a 4K TV, it should be able to get higher res. Don't know if it's related to this problem also: #37

Kernel flag -cdfon + WhateverGreen.kext.
Also, be sure the framebuffer connector-type is patched correctly.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,247
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Have them both.


Framebuffer connector-type is <00 08 00 00> as per IOreg

You could try different settings on the TV, not to mention a different 4k TV (just for comparison).
No further ideas.
Further discussion here is off-topic (this topic is regarding HDMI/DP audio).
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
6
Motherboard
Acer E1-572G
CPU
intel i7-4500u
Graphics
intel hd4400
Hello, Rehabman!

I need some help... this is my first Hachintosh, and I followed your guide on how to step and everything for laptops and I used your config.plist and got everything working, except wifi(mine is not supported) and HDMI audio. I followed this guide to the best of my abilities and I can't get it work. Here is what I have done:

-first I opened IOregisteyExplorer to figure out which framebuffer I am working with, found display0 under @2.
-opened up PlistEdit pro and removed '#':
framebuffer-con2-enable
framebuffer-con2-type <00 08 00 00>
framebuffer-con2-pipe
+under PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0)
hda-gfx "onboard-1"
+PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x1b,0)
layout 3
PinConfigurations
+PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x03,0)
layout 3
hda-gfx "onboard-1"
-added Kexts to my /L/E
-finally rebooted...
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2019-02-15 at 4.24.48 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-02-15 at 4.24.48 PM.png
    135.7 KB · Views: 38
  • Screen Shot 2019-02-15 at 4.25.33 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-02-15 at 4.25.33 PM.png
    173.9 KB · Views: 40
  • Screen Shot 2019-02-15 at 4.27.27 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-02-15 at 4.27.27 PM.png
    191.2 KB · Views: 38
  • Hackintosh.ioreg
    7.7 MB · Views: 24
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
6
Motherboard
Acer E1-572G
CPU
intel i7-4500u
Graphics
intel hd4400
Hello!

I figured how to fix it. it's seems (and I might be wrong) the plist i downloaded from Rehabman's github for my computer which is the HD4600-4400 has some problems, if I enable the layout-id in any place Mac will get stuck but if i remove it and add it again only this time I don't make it a number but data or hex and enter 03000000 and use the rest settings like in this guide I boot with audio working through HDMI.

Thank you very much rehabman for this guide. It helped me very much.
 
Top