Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] Intel HD Graphics 5500 on OS X Yosemite 10.10.3

Joined
Jul 27, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 Touch 2015
CPU
i7-5500U
Graphics
HD 5500
Did you patch the framebuffer so that the configuration matches what you believe your DMVT setting to be?

I'm not sure, all did was:

Code:
    <key>KextsToPatch</key>
    <array>
      <dict>
        <key>Name</key>
        <string>AppleIntelBDWGraphicsFramebuffer</string>
        <key>Find</key>
        <data>Oc92PA==</data>
        <key>Replace</key>
        <data>Oc93PA==</data>
      </dict>
    </array>
    </dict>

In windows I can see that Dedicated Video Memory is 0, according to the table, DVMT = 32
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 Touch 2015
CPU
i7-5500U
Graphics
HD 5500
Did you patch the framebuffer so that the configuration matches what you believe your DMVT setting to be?

Finally, I extracted bios using "universal bios backup toolkit 2.0", found the DVMT variable, changed it from 32 to 96mb. Windows is now showing 64mb DVM. So I removed all patches from config.plist, injected ig-platform-id 0x16160002, but ended with the same problem - graphics driver is loaded with no panic, os is running, but os screen is not visible, just console.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,467
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Finally, I extracted bios using "universal bios backup toolkit 2.0", found the DVMT variable, changed it from 32 to 96mb. Windows is now showing 64mb DVM. So I removed all patches from config.plist, injected ig-platform-id 0x16160002, but ended with the same problem - graphics driver is loaded with no panic, os is running, but os screen is not visible, just console.

Post EFI/Clover folder. Try InjectEDID and/or CustomEDID. Post photo of the resulting verbose boot.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 Touch 2015
CPU
i7-5500U
Graphics
HD 5500
Post EFI/Clover folder. Try InjectEDID and/or CustomEDID. Post photo of the resulting verbose boot.

ok I'll try, but first I'll have to find out what EDID is :) here is my clover folder and console output:
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0179.jpg
    IMG_0179.jpg
    943.4 KB · Views: 316
  • CLOVER.zip
    5.1 MB · Views: 178
Joined
Dec 29, 2014
Messages
147
Motherboard
Lenovo X1 Carbon (Gen 3 20BS) - Clover
CPU
i7-5600U
Graphics
HD 5500, 1920x1080
I reinstalled Clover and the required drivers/kexts onto my usb drive. I retained my config.plist and it started working.

IMG_1036.jpg

However I was still seeing a ton of errors and warnings when it started:
IMG_1035.jpg

Are those safe to ignore? Am I missing files or something to make all of that freak out? Maybe a bad installer image?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,467
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ok I'll try, but first I'll have to find out what EDID is :) here is my clover folder and console output:

Remove CPUSensors.kext from FakeSMC Plugins. It is known to have issues with Broadwell. Get rid of npci=0x2000.

Not sure it makes sense to FakeCPUID to Haswell, but then attempt to use MBA7,1. These two items should probably be kept in sync.

SSDT/Generate should not be true when using OEM CPU SSDTs (DropSSDT=false). Get rid of all DSDT "Fixes" (NewWay and FixRegions are ok). See examples (not updated yet for Broadwell): https://github.com/RehabMan/OS-X-Clover-Laptop-Config

Seems most people are having better result with ig-platform-id 0x16160002 (you're using 0x16160000).
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 Touch 2015
CPU
i7-5500U
Graphics
HD 5500
Remove CPUSensors.kext from FakeSMC Plugins. It is known to have issues with Broadwell. Get rid of npci=0x2000.

Not sure it makes sense to FakeCPUID to Haswell, but then attempt to use MBA7,1. These two items should probably be kept in sync.

SSDT/Generate should not be true when using OEM CPU SSDTs (DropSSDT=false). Get rid of all DSDT "Fixes" (NewWay and FixRegions are ok). See examples (not updated yet for Broadwell): https://github.com/RehabMan/OS-X-Clover-Laptop-Config

Seems most people are having better result with ig-platform-id 0x16160002 (you're using 0x16160000).

I tried all your advices, but still no luck. I wonder if resolution can be the problem? it's 3200x1800, setting screenresolution in config.plist is ignored. I'll try to connect external monitor tommorrow..
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,467
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I tried all your advices, but still no luck. I wonder if resolution can be the problem? it's 3200x1800, setting screenresolution in config.plist is ignored. I'll try to connect external monitor tommorrow..

This is why you should have filled out your profile as requested by the guide...

Please provide complete details in your profile/signature
(Profile/Settings link in upper right corner of this site)

System: manufacturer/model + bootloader(Clover/Chameleon/Chimera)
CPU: detailed CPU model + motherboard chipset
Graphics: all graphics devices + laptop internal screen resolution

For example, typical Ivy laptop:
System: HP ProBook 4540s (Clover)
CPU: i5-3320m/HM76
Graphics: HD4000, 1366x768

Use CPU-Z on Windows to find CPU (Core iX-xxx) and motherboard chipset (HMxx), and graphics capabilities. For a laptop, these details are important and affect critical installation procedures.

---

The 3200x1800 makes a huge difference.

Yosemite is limited to less than 60Hz at that resolution (maybe use 58/59Hz), you need to patch the IOKit framework, and you need 96MB DMVT (maybe 128MB) plus the framebuffer patches to match.

See the-darkvoid's Dell XPS 9530 guide for more details: http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-laptop-guides/144351-guide-dell-xps-9530-using-clover-uefi.html

I don't think anyone has attempted UHD on Broadwell, but I see no reason why the solutions employed on Haswell won't apply.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2014
Messages
147
Motherboard
Lenovo X1 Carbon (Gen 3 20BS) - Clover
CPU
i7-5600U
Graphics
HD 5500, 1920x1080
Alright, final step before I branch off in a seperate Thinkpad Carbon X1 thread.

The Yosemite install took awhile but it worked out great. I have a desktop and it has been running for over an hour now. At this point, the only hiccup is graphic speed. Everything is rendering at a painfully slow rate, I was wondering if anyone had graphics acceleration working and if so, how?
 
Top