Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Framebuffer patching using WhateverGreen

Joined
Mar 31, 2011
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Elite
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
@jamesbit,

CFL is short for Coffee Lake ...

The changed IGPU device description is a result of using WhatEverGreen and the frame buffer patches which in some cases can result in a generic device name rather than a specific one. It is purely cosmetic and nothing to worry about.

Cheers
jay

Thx jaymonkey.

I know CFL=Coffee Lake but I need to know what file I can mod for the cosmetic change...

Thank you...
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,875
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Thx jaymonkey. I know CFL=Coffee Lake but I need to know what file I can mod for the cosmetic change...


@jamesbit,

I believe the IGPU device name comes from the framebuffer kext ... its not an easy plist edit like system name is.

If everything else is working ok then my advice would be to leave it as is, its just a cosmetic thing.

I get something similar with my Vega 64 GPU, before I installed WEG MacOS called it an AMD Radeon Vega 64, now its simply called Radeon Vega .. WEG over rides MacOS specific device names with generic ones.

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2011
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Elite
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
@jamesbit,

I believe the IGPU device name comes from the framebuffer kext ... its not an easy plist edit like system name is.

If everything else is working ok then my advice would be to leave it as is, its just a cosmetic thing.

I get something similar with my Vega 64 GPU, before I installed WEG MacOS called it an AMD Radeon Vega 64, now its simply called Radeon Vega .. WEG over rides MacOS specific device names with generic ones.

Cheers
Jay

Ok, I don't change anything.
Anyway it's strange because before applying the Framebuffer Patching was recognized as "Intel UHD Graphics 630 (1536 MB) "
Mystery...

Cheers
James.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2015
Messages
19
Motherboard
HP 290 G2 Microtower - H370
CPU
i5-8500
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

Attachments

  • config.plist
    19.9 KB · Views: 101
  • Screen Shot 2019-03-04 at 9.50.38 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-03-04 at 9.50.38 AM.png
    73.9 KB · Views: 214
  • Screen Shot 2019-03-04 at 9.59.38 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-03-04 at 9.59.38 AM.png
    60.8 KB · Views: 218
  • Screen Shot 2019-03-04 at 9.59.56 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-03-04 at 9.59.56 AM.png
    53.4 KB · Views: 176
  • Screen Shot 2019-03-04 at 10.00.18 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-03-04 at 10.00.18 AM.png
    40.4 KB · Views: 132
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
21
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 3060
CPU
i3-8100
Graphics
UHD630
Hi guys,

I can't make my graphics... I tried almost everything

Your config.plist is totally messed up. There are IGP settings all over the place and multiple times. Start fresh.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
5
Motherboard
Asus H110T
CPU
i3-6100
Graphics
HD530
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Next step (maybe next week), install Mojave from scratch. See what happens.

Thanks for the support and keep up the good work.
Did you ever manage to get things working? I've got the exact same config (Asus H110T + i3-6100) and I'm struggling to get the HD530 (CI/QE) @ 4k DP, and DisplayPort audio to work. I understand you're using Lilu+WhatEverGreen, any other patches. Could you share your config.plist?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
12,951
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi guys,

I can't make my graphics... I tried almost everything from https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-intel-framebuffer-patching-using-whatevergreen.256490/ but it's still not working. ./gfxutil -f IGPU gives me DevicePath not found! These my config.plist file and some screenshots... Any help is welcome. Thanks
Please try the attached config plist. Because I'm not familiar with the motherboard used by HP, no guarantees whether this will work. Verbose is enabled so you'll see detailed log messages during boot and shutdown. If the system hangs during boot, please grab a screenshot.

It is generally straightforward to enable the UHD 630. I've set IntelGFX to 0x3E9B8086, InjectIntel to True, and ig-platford-id to 0x3E9B0007.
 

Attachments

  • config-Janja.plist
    21.6 KB · Views: 160
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
1
Motherboard
Clevo P170EM
CPU
i7 3610QM
Graphics
HD4000
Sorry my english is bad.
Translate Google:
Hello! Who faced this problem:
I have a laptop? i7 3610qm processor with hd4000 video, everything was successfully managed except for the output ports on the video card! I have them 4 (with integrated display) is obtained LVDS, DVI, HDMI, DP.
I connect an additional monitor via DVI and nothing!
What I just did not do and changed AAPL, ig-platform-id (tried 03, 04, 09, 01), tried to write KextToPatch patches, registered the framebuffer in Properties and did not achieve any special results.

Tests:
id 01660003 - no pictures on LVDS, but it works
id 01660001 and 09 - turns off the LVDS completely
At the same time I experimented with patches in Properties - absolutely.

As a result, the best result:
Made by:
id 01660004, patch in KextToPatch, Inject Intel in Graphics (otherwise there is no image on LVDS)
Result:
The picture is duplicated on 2 monitors identical with the same extension, in the display settings there are both devices.
Help to finish off the guys, I have been working for 2 days, I can’t finish it

Kexts Check_new:
** Kexts in the folder S/L/E do not have a digital signature **


** Kexts in the folder L/E do not have a digital signature **


** Kexts in the folder S/L/E no use root privileges **


** Kexts in the folder L/E no use root privileges **


** All not Apple kexts **

Name (Version)
com.rehabman.driver.USBInjectAll (0.7.1)
as.vit9696.Lilu (1.3.4)
as.vit9696.WhateverGreen (1.2.6)
as.vit9696.AppleALC (1.3.5)
as.vit9696.VirtualSMC (1.0.2)
ru.usrsse2.SMCLightSensor (1)
ru.usrsse2.SMCBatteryManager (1)
as.vit9696.SMCProcessor (1.0.2)
org.rehabman.driver.VoodooTSCSync (1.5.0)
org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Controller (1.9.2)
org.rehabman.driver.FakePCIID (1.3.15)
org.rehabman.driver.FakePCIID.XHCIMux (1.3.15)
ru.joedm.SMCSuperIO (1.0.2)
net.osx86.kexts.GenericUSBXHCI (1.2.11)
com.insanelymac.RealtekRTL8111 (2.2.2)
org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Keyboard (1.9.2)
org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Trackpad (1.9.2)
org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Mouse (1.9.2)

Ioreg dump and EFI folder in archive.zip

My computer configuration:

Notebook: Clevo p170em
CPU: i7 3610qm (Ivy Bridge)
GPU: intel hd4000 (Full HD) / nvidia 670m (disable)
RAM: 8gb DDR3
SSD: 250GB
HDD: 1TB
 

Attachments

  • archive.zip
    18.3 MB · Views: 90

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,309
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry my english is bad.
Translate Google:
Hello! Who faced this problem:
I have a laptop? i7 3610qm processor with hd4000 video, everything was successfully managed except for the output ports on the video card! I have them 4 (with integrated display) is obtained LVDS, DVI, HDMI, DP.
I connect an additional monitor via DVI and nothing!
What I just did not do and changed AAPL, ig-platform-id (tried 03, 04, 09, 01), tried to write KextToPatch patches, registered the framebuffer in Properties and did not achieve any special results.

Tests:
id 01660003 - no pictures on LVDS, but it works
id 01660001 and 09 - turns off the LVDS completely
At the same time I experimented with patches in Properties - absolutely.

As a result, the best result:
Made by:
id 01660004, patch in KextToPatch, Inject Intel in Graphics (otherwise there is no image on LVDS)
Result:
The picture is duplicated on 2 monitors identical with the same extension, in the display settings there are both devices.
Help to finish off the guys, I have been working for 2 days, I can’t finish it

Kexts Check_new:
Kexts in the folder S/L/E do not have a digital signature


Kexts in the folder L/E do not have a digital signature


Kexts in the folder S/L/E no use root privileges


Kexts in the folder L/E no use root privileges


All not Apple kexts

Name (Version)
com.rehabman.driver.USBInjectAll (0.7.1)
as.vit9696.Lilu (1.3.4)
as.vit9696.WhateverGreen (1.2.6)
as.vit9696.AppleALC (1.3.5)
as.vit9696.VirtualSMC (1.0.2)
ru.usrsse2.SMCLightSensor (1)
ru.usrsse2.SMCBatteryManager (1)
as.vit9696.SMCProcessor (1.0.2)
org.rehabman.driver.VoodooTSCSync (1.5.0)
org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Controller (1.9.2)
org.rehabman.driver.FakePCIID (1.3.15)
org.rehabman.driver.FakePCIID.XHCIMux (1.3.15)
ru.joedm.SMCSuperIO (1.0.2)
net.osx86.kexts.GenericUSBXHCI (1.2.11)
com.insanelymac.RealtekRTL8111 (2.2.2)
org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Keyboard (1.9.2)
org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Trackpad (1.9.2)
org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Mouse (1.9.2)

Ioreg dump and EFI folder in archive.zip

My computer configuration:

Notebook: Clevo p170em
CPU: i7 3610qm (Ivy Bridge)
GPU: intel hd4000 (Full HD) / nvidia 670m (disable)
RAM: 8gb DDR3
SSD: 250GB
HDD: 1TB

Refer to plist files available from the laptop guide:

Keep in mind your external port may be connected to Nvidia (you should check in Windows).
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2016
Messages
15
Motherboard
Asus Prime H310T-Clove
CPU
i5-8500
Graphics
UHD 630
Did you ever manage to get things working? I've got the exact same config (Asus H110T + i3-6100) and I'm struggling to get the HD530 (CI/QE) @ 4k DP, and DisplayPort audio to work. I understand you're using Lilu+WhatEverGreen, any other patches. Could you share your config.plist?

I didn't. I quit. Still pending installing Mojave from scratch.
 
Top