Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Framebuffer patching using WhateverGreen

Joined
Apr 12, 2011
Messages
94
Motherboard
GA-Z270X-UD5
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
Sapphire Nitro+ RX 580 8GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
128K, 512K, Classic, Performa, Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
@dracon,

To disable a unused port configure it as a dummy port :-
Index = -1, Bus-ID = 0x00, Pipe = 0, type = Dummy, Flags = 0x00000020

You will probably have to re-index the used ports as Index 1 & Index 2

Cheers
Jay
Excellent, I assume I need to set framebuffer-pipecount to 2 and framebuffer-portcount to 2 as well since I'll only have the two active ports (although the HDMI and DP port have the same pipe number)?
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,817
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I assume I need to set framebuffer-pipecount to 2 and framebuffer-portcount to 2 as well since I'll only have the two active ports.
Yes.

However you should be aware that sometimes making too many changes to a framebuffer can result in more problems than just leaving the unused ports defined in the FB, try it and see if it works.

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2011
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Elite
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hi !

I have the Framebuffer Patching, all is working but there is a little problem...

In about this Mac I see : "Intel HD Graphics CFL 2048 MB" and not Intel HD Graphics 630 1536 MB ?

Is there a solution ?

Thank you...
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
349
Motherboard
Asrock Z270X ITX Fatality
CPU
I7-7700K
Graphics
HD 630 + RX 560
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
Hmm, I had sleep working fine with inject intel 59120003 but with the following the screen doesn't wake up, and if I replug the screen the system restarts. https://www.dropbox.com/s/l1qpnjjvgkb0m4c/debug_31377.zip?dl=1

It is not always the case, it used to be the same where I had two types of sleeps, one that would come back from sleep normally screen and all, and one that sometimes required replugging the display or hitting the reset button to wake up. Well now I have one that wakes up, and one that hard restarts if I replug the screen.

This is with Rx560 and Running Igpu without headers
Code:
<key>Properties</key>
        <dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>
                AwASWQ==
                </data>
            </dict>
        </dict>
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
20
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 3060
CPU
i3-8100
Graphics
UHD630
Hey guys,

maybe you could help me. My System is a Dell Optiplex 3060 MT with an i3-8100 and the corresponding UHD 630 IGP. The problem is present in High Sierra 10.13.6 (17G5019) and latest Mojave 10.14.3 (18D109).

As soon as i get the GPU detected correctly by using AAPL,ig-platform-id=07009B3E and device-id=923E0000 (or 9B3E0000) i get graphics acceleration but my display/resolutions gets messed up while the EDID seems to stay the same. Without acceleration the monitor is seen as 4k 27 inch with 3840x2160 24-bit correctly, with acceleration it is shown as 1080p 30,5 inch with 30bit and i cant get any higher resolution no matter what. DP and HDMI are showing the same symptoms while the display is running fine with a NVIDIA GTX 970 and also in Windows. DVMT pre-alloc is confirmed as 128MB in Windows but on OS-X i am unable to boot without a kernel panic when not using 19/9MB FB-patches. I already tried SMBIOS: iMac 18,, iMac17,1, iMac 14, in High Sierra and Mojave and also MacMini8,1 in Mojave. Always the same result. Patching the GPU-Memory from 1536MB 2048MB and slightly increasing stolenmen to 30MB did also not result in any change. Setting hdmi-on or not also did nothing. Problems were also present before installing the GTX 970 and the corresponding NVIDIA drivers, so these are unrelated. Both High Sierra and Mojave are also fresh installs, even tried different disks.

Logs attached.

Any idea?
 

Attachments

Last edited:

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,817
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I have the Framebuffer Patching, all is working but there is a little problem...In about this Mac I see : "Intel HD Graphics CFL 2048 MB" and not Intel HD Graphics 630 1536 MB ?

@jamesbit,

CFL is short for Coffee Lake ...

The changed IGPU device description is a result of using WhatEverGreen and the frame buffer patches which in some cases can result in a generic device name rather than a specific one. It is purely cosmetic and nothing to worry about.

Cheers
jay
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2011
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Elite
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
@jamesbit,

CFL is short for Coffee Lake ...

The changed IGPU device description is a result of using WhatEverGreen and the frame buffer patches which in some cases can result in a generic device name rather than a specific one. It is purely cosmetic and nothing to worry about.

Cheers
jay
Thx jaymonkey.

I know CFL=Coffee Lake but I need to know what file I can mod for the cosmetic change...

Thank you...
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,817
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Thx jaymonkey. I know CFL=Coffee Lake but I need to know what file I can mod for the cosmetic change...

@jamesbit,

I believe the IGPU device name comes from the framebuffer kext ... its not an easy plist edit like system name is.

If everything else is working ok then my advice would be to leave it as is, its just a cosmetic thing.

I get something similar with my Vega 64 GPU, before I installed WEG MacOS called it an AMD Radeon Vega 64, now its simply called Radeon Vega .. WEG over rides MacOS specific device names with generic ones.

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2011
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Elite
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 570
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
@jamesbit,

I believe the IGPU device name comes from the framebuffer kext ... its not an easy plist edit like system name is.

If everything else is working ok then my advice would be to leave it as is, its just a cosmetic thing.

I get something similar with my Vega 64 GPU, before I installed WEG MacOS called it an AMD Radeon Vega 64, now its simply called Radeon Vega .. WEG over rides MacOS specific device names with generic ones.

Cheers
Jay
Ok, I don't change anything.
Anyway it's strange because before applying the Framebuffer Patching was recognized as "Intel UHD Graphics 630 (1536 MB) "
Mystery...

Cheers
James.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2015
Messages
19
Motherboard
HP 290 G2 Microtower - H370
CPU
i5-8500
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS

Attachments

Top