Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Framebuffer patching using WhateverGreen

Joined
Dec 17, 2016
Messages
15
Motherboard
Asus Prime H310T-Clove
CPU
i5-8500
Graphics
UHD 630
Here's the config.plist that works for me with DisplayPort. I've also tried playing around with the SMBIOS values.
iMac18,2 or iMac18,3 had glitchy graphics, but iMac18,1 seems fine.
Macmini8,1 booted up fine, but all USB ports were dead.

DisplayPort works only if I plug in a DP to DP cable. If I use the same port and plug in a DP to HDMI cable (same monitor, even, just a different input on the monitor), there's no signal. It makes me think MacOS is looking for some sort of handshake that only works over DP natively.
Hey, @vzmr82, I was able to get the Asus Prime H310T/CSM working with both HDMI and DP.
I switched my platform-id from 3e9b0007 to 3ea50000 because it seemed to better match my ioreg, but I noticed that when I plugged in my HDMI cable, I would see this in the console:
Code:
FB2: Hot plug on port2
FB2: Display unplugged from port2
fb2 : DP-EDID set offset failed: 0xe00002d6

Which confirmed that the HDMI port is FB2 and that it's active.
Searching for that EDID error led me to this thread: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/uhd-630-no-hdmi-audio.265490/
and a suggestion to use AAPL02,override-no-connect.
I used a config.plist from black.dragon74 as a sample. My latest config.plist is attached.

Thanks, Rashiki. I had already switched from HDMI to DP, and the hackintosh is now pretty stable. I have completed the USB mapping according to the FBPatch thread, and I can sleep and shutdown OK. All that with 0x3e9b0007 platform-id.

I have only one problem. When switching back and forth my KVM Switch, sometimes the screen doesn't turn on or turns on with flickering... doing a fast switch again usually solves the problem and I get a stable system.

I will try your 0x3EA50000 later today, when I am at home, to see if I get a more stable system. The thread of black.dragon74 regarding AAPL02,override-no-connect is, at the moment, a little bit out of my league.

I will post the results here.

Thanks.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
53
Motherboard
Asrock B85M-ITX
CPU
i5-4670K
Graphics
HD4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. LC
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,
I'd like to get three monitor working on Skylake i5-6500 HD530 (DELL Optiplex 5040 - 2xDP and 1 HDMI)
I have used 0x1912000 (only two usable ports) for as long as I can remember and a couple of patches to get dual 27" screen 1DP & 1HDMI working. I would really want to connect a third display to the remaining DP (a 20"). I can get either of the DP to work, but not both at the same time.

It seems that using FB 0x193B0005 I could get a better solution.

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...fter-patching-framebuffer.269179/post-1891355

Intel HD Graphics 530:
Chipset Model: Intel HD Graphics 530
Type: GPU
Bus: Built-In
VRAM (Dynamic, Max): 1536 MB
Vendor: Intel
Device ID: 0x193b
Revision ID: 0x0006
Metal: Supported, feature set macOS GPUFamily2 v1

Displays:
DELL P2717H:
Resolution: 1920x1080 (1080p FHD - Full High Definition)
UI Looks like: 1920 x 1080 @ 60 Hz
Framebuffer Depth: 30-Bit Colour (ARGB2101010)
Display Serial Number: -----
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Rotation: Supported
Automatically Adjust Brightness: No

DELL P2717H:
Resolution: 1920x1080 (1080p FHD - Full High Definition)
UI Looks like: 1920 x 1080 @ 60 Hz
Framebuffer Depth: 30-Bit Colour (ARGB2101010)
Display Serial Number: ------
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Rotation: Supported
Automatically Adjust Brightness: No
Connection Type: DisplayPort

DELL P2210:
Resolution: 1680x1050 (Widescreen Super eXtended Graphics Array Plus)
UI Looks like: 1680 x 1050 @ 60 Hz
Framebuffer Depth: 30-Bit Colour (ARGB2101010)
Display Serial Number: ------
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Rotation: Supported
Automatically Adjust Brightness: No
Connection Type: DisplayPort
EDIT 2:
Since I have three screen working, I can no longer play Twitter videos with Vivaldi, and some fields are looking odd, see the blue selection focus
Screenshot 2019-01-09 at 15.28.29.png
 

Attachments

  • Dell5040_TS_files.zip
    4.7 MB · Views: 94
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 15, 2013
Messages
19
Motherboard
Asus H170M-Plus
CPU
i5-6600
Graphics
igpu
Hello,
I'd like to get three monitor working on Skylake i5-6500 HD530 (DELL Optiplex 5040 - 2xDP and 1 HDMI)
I have used 0x1912000 (only two usable ports) for as long as I can remember and a couple of patches to get dual 27" screen 1DP & 1HDMI working. I would really want to connect a third display to the remaining DP (a 20"). I can get either of the DP to work, but not both at the same time.

It seems that using FB 0x193B0005 I could get a better solution. Though I can't get it to work
FB0 - Dummy - 00000800 02000000 98000000
FB1 - HDMI - Port 0x5 - Bus ID 05 - 01050900 00040000 C7010000 needs patching (04 to 08) to change port type
FB2 - DP - Port 0x6 - Bus ID 04 - 02040A00 00040000 C7010000
FB3 - DP - Port 0x7 - Bus ID 06 - 03060A00 00040000 C7010000

The problem is that I can't get the patch to work.
I'm using latest Lilu and WEG

I've attached configuration files and debug log from WEG
Thanks for your help

EDIT: I figured it out
kept ig-platform-id 0x0193B0005 (set in devices section and in Graphics)

Patching port 5 to HDMI
AppleIntelSKLGraphicsFramebuffer
Find: <01050900 00040000 C7010000>
Replace: <01050900 00080000 C7010000>

No other patch

Intel HD Graphics 530:
Chipset Model: Intel HD Graphics 530
Type: GPU
Bus: Built-In
VRAM (Dynamic, Max): 1536 MB
Vendor: Intel
Device ID: 0x193b
Revision ID: 0x0006
Metal: Supported, feature set macOS GPUFamily2 v1

Displays:
DELL P2717H:
Resolution: 1920x1080 (1080p FHD - Full High Definition)
UI Looks like: 1920 x 1080 @ 60 Hz
Framebuffer Depth: 30-Bit Colour (ARGB2101010)
Display Serial Number: -----
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Rotation: Supported
Automatically Adjust Brightness: No

DELL P2717H:
Resolution: 1920x1080 (1080p FHD - Full High Definition)
UI Looks like: 1920 x 1080 @ 60 Hz
Framebuffer Depth: 30-Bit Colour (ARGB2101010)
Display Serial Number: ------
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Rotation: Supported
Automatically Adjust Brightness: No
Connection Type: DisplayPort

DELL P2210:
Resolution: 1680x1050 (Widescreen Super eXtended Graphics Array Plus)
UI Looks like: 1680 x 1050 @ 60 Hz
Framebuffer Depth: 30-Bit Colour (ARGB2101010)
Display Serial Number: ------
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Rotation: Supported
Automatically Adjust Brightness: No
Connection Type: DisplayPort
I have and asus h170m plus motherboard and the same processor (desktop version) can you help me out ?

If i put "wrong" plataform id i have a stable os but with graphics card only show 6mb, if i put the 19120000 i get 1500Mb but i cannot use the os, because i get a lot of glichts and screen freezes

Thanks
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2015
Messages
168
Motherboard
MSI Z490-a Pro
CPU
i7-10700k
Graphics
UHD 630
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The first step in these instructions is to remove everything related to graphics (kexts, intel inject, ig-platform etc), but then it obviously wont boot like that, so what am I missing?
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2016
Messages
15
Motherboard
Asus Prime H310T-Clove
CPU
i5-8500
Graphics
UHD 630
Thanks, Rashiki. I had already switched from HDMI to DP, and the hackintosh is now pretty stable. I have completed the USB mapping according to the FBPatch thread, and I can sleep and shutdown OK. All that with 0x3e9b0007 platform-id.

I have only one problem. When switching back and forth my KVM Switch, sometimes the screen doesn't turn on or turns on with flickering... doing a fast switch again usually solves the problem and I get a stable system.

I will try your 0x3EA50000 later today, when I am at home, to see if I get a more stable system. The thread of black.dragon74 regarding AAPL02,override-no-connect is, at the moment, a little bit out of my league.

I will post the results here.

Thanks.

This was it, Rashiki. It took some time to test it because I had to get access to an HDMI display.

All changes had to be included in Devices: the ig-platform-id you mention (0x3EA50000), the change from DP to HDMI in the FB2: connector, and the EDID injection - which I had to get the one from my monitor (thanks SwitchResX).

Thanks everybody.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
1,017
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aero 15X v8-BK4K4P
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630 / GTX 1070
The thread of black.dragon74 regarding AAPL02,override-no-connect is, at the moment, a little bit out of my league.

Just a heads up Intel FB-Patcher has been renamed to Hackintool and the next release will include EDID patching from Andy Vandijck's FixEDID. You can try out a pre-release of it from here but FYI it hasn't been tested much yet.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2016
Messages
15
Motherboard
Asus Prime H310T-Clove
CPU
i5-8500
Graphics
UHD 630
This was it, Rashiki. It took some time to test it because I had to get access to an HDMI display.

All changes had to be included in Devices: the ig-platform-id you mention (0x3EA50000), the change from DP to HDMI in the FB2: connector, and the EDID injection - which I had to get the one from my monitor (thanks SwitchResX).

Thanks everybody.

A little update.

When switching back to my DP display, with the config.list I generated with the EDID injection, the FBPatcher tool was saying that both displays (DP and HDMI) where connect. Two red lines in the Connectors tab.

I had to create 2 config.plist files, one with EDID injection, to use when connect to (that) HDMI display, and another to use when connected only through DP.

Sleeping, restart and shutdown are working perfectly.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2016
Messages
15
Motherboard
Asus Prime H310T-Clove
CPU
i5-8500
Graphics
UHD 630
Just a heads up Intel FB-Patcher has been renamed to Hackintool and the next release will include EDID patching from Andy Vandijck's FixEDID. You can try out a pre-release of it from here but FYI it hasn't been tested much yet.

Good news, Headkaze.

I tried to use the new version in another Hackintosh I am trying to put back to work. It's an ASUS H110T, i3 6100 8GB RAM simple system, with 10.13.6 (which was working perfectly with clover and tools available when 10.13.6 come out - for a stupid reason I updated clover, and can't get it back to work again).

I can get accelerated HD530 4K graphics with Lilu+Whatevergreen with ig-platform-id 0x193B0000 (Device ID 0x1912), but most of the time no image on the DP display. Never after boot up, but after switching back and forth my KVM switch, a picture appears on the display. Sometimes for just 1 second, but once or twice picture was stable enough to work for more than one hour. Today flickering was terrible, and only able to work through Screen Sharing.

These are how Connectors are before and after patching Index for each connector.

1547510637401.png 1547510737741.png

On Devices-Properties I also inject EDID, even though I don't think the problem is there.

1547510857050.png

On the new tab for Displays and EDID, I exported DisplayEDID.kext, DisplayVendorID-5e3 directory and a bin file. I put DisplayVendorID-5e3 into System/Library/Displays/Overrides (directory that didn't exist and I had to create).

1547510986595.png
After rebooting, system gets to login screen with no display on monitor, I can see it on Screen Sharing, and then hangs. Completely. I had to reboot into Clover Shell and delete Overrides directory to get be able to reboot and access it remotely.

I am also following this thread: [GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem) and will understand if change Bus Id will have any positive impact on my problem.

Looking into some other places, I find errors I cannot interpret:

Code:
2019-01-14 23:42:27.558097+0000  localhost WindowServer[207]: (CoreDisplay) <CoreDisplay> [ERROR] - GetThermalCompensationAttributes: can't get framebuffer red gamma scaling factor on port 19459 (e00002d7)
2019-01-14 23:42:27.558099+0000  localhost WindowServer[207]: (CoreDisplay) <CoreDisplay> [ERROR] - GetThermalCompensationAttributes: can't get framebuffer green gamma scaling factor on port 19459 (e00002d7)
2019-01-14 23:42:27.558099+0000  localhost WindowServer[207]: (CoreDisplay) <CoreDisplay> [ERROR] - GetThermalCompensationAttributes: can't get framebuffer blue gamma scaling factor on port 19459 (e00002d7)
2019-01-14 23:42:27.559520+0000  localhost WindowServer[207]: (CoreDisplay) <CoreDisplay> [ERROR] - GetThermalCompensationAttributes: can't get framebuffer red gamma scaling factor on port 14607 (e00002d7)
2019-01-14 23:42:27.559522+0000  localhost WindowServer[207]: (CoreDisplay) <CoreDisplay> [ERROR] - GetThermalCompensationAttributes: can't get framebuffer green gamma scaling factor on port 14607 (e00002d7)
2019-01-14 23:42:27.559523+0000  localhost WindowServer[207]: (CoreDisplay) <CoreDisplay> [ERROR] - GetThermalCompensationAttributes: can't get framebuffer blue gamma scaling factor on port 14607 (e00002d7)
2019-01-14 23:42:27.561100+0000  localhost WindowServer[207]: (CoreDisplay) <CoreDisplay> [ERROR] - GetThermalCompensationAttributes: can't get framebuffer red gamma scaling factor on port 16399 (e00002d7)
2019-01-14 23:42:27.561102+0000  localhost WindowServer[207]: (CoreDisplay) <CoreDisplay> [ERROR] - GetThermalCompensationAttributes: can't get framebuffer green gamma scaling factor on port 16399 (e00002d7)
2019-01-14 23:42:27.561103+0000  localhost WindowServer[207]: (CoreDisplay) <CoreDisplay> [ERROR] - GetThermalCompensationAttributes: can't get framebuffer blue gamma scaling factor on port 16399 (e00002d7)


2019-01-14 23:42:32.071941+0000  localhost WindowServer[207]: (CoreDisplay) <CoreDisplay> [ERROR] - ColorSyncUtilsUpdateDisplayProfiles display profile info list is NULL
2019-01-14 23:42:32.098448+0000  localhost WindowServer[207]: (CoreDisplay) <CoreDisplay> [ERROR] - ColorSyncUtilsUpdateDisplayProfiles display profile info list is NULL
2019-01-14 23:42:32.145584+0000  localhost WindowServer[207]: (CoreDisplay) <CoreDisplay> [ERROR] - ColorSyncUtilsUpdateDisplayProfiles display profile info list is NULL
2019-01-14 23:42:32.626621+0000  localhost WindowServer[207]: (CoreDisplay) <CoreDisplay> [ERROR] - ColorSyncUtilsUpdateDisplayProfiles display profile info list is NULL


=======
After a new boot


2019-01-15 00:35:23.518878+0000 0x49a      Fault       0x0                  0      0    kernel: (IOAcceleratorFamily2) bool IOAccelDisplayPipe2::init_framebuffer_resource(IOAccelResource2 *): getPixelInformation for framebuffer 2 failed
2019-01-15 00:35:26.605243+0000 0x49a      Fault       0x0                  0      0    kernel: (IOAcceleratorFamily2) bool IOAccelDisplayPipe2::init_framebuffer_resource(IOAccelResource2 *): getPixelInformation for framebuffer 2 failed
2019-01-15 00:35:27.027596+0000 0x49a      Fault       0x0                  0      0    kernel: (IOAcceleratorFamily2) bool IOAccelDisplayPipe2::init_framebuffer_resource(IOAccelResource2 *): getPixelInformation for framebuffer 2 failed
2019-01-15 00:35:28.096238+0000 0x49a      Fault       0x0                  0      0    kernel: (IOAcceleratorFamily2) bool IOAccelDisplayPipe2::init_framebuffer_resource(IOAccelResource2 *): getPixelInformation for framebuffer 2 failed


The question I am asking now is should I continue to try to get this 10.13.6 stable or should I first upgrade it to 10.14.2, and then try to get display/graphics to work...

Hope to hear from you.

PS - Sometimes the system does not detect any display (connectors tab in Hackintool has no lines in red), trying to get to new EDID tab with General breaks the App, it just closes with a dump. If I can reproduce it I will post its details.
PS2 - Injecting EDID in AAPL02,override-no-connect, sometimes plugin and unplugging the KVM switch hangs the system and have to restart it by reseting!
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
1,017
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aero 15X v8-BK4K4P
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630 / GTX 1070
On the new tab for Displays and EDID, I exported DisplayEDID.kext, DisplayVendorID-5e3 directory and a bin file. I put DisplayVendorID-5e3 into System/Library/Displays/Overrides (directory that didn't exist and I had to create).

The folder is actually /System/Library/Displays/Contents/Resources/Overrides for El Capitan or above. I have updated the instructions.

Anyway I think it might be best to use the DisplayEDID-xxx.kext option. Try Hackintool 1.7.3 as it will now export files for all displays to the desktop.

That being said I don't know if injecting EDID will solve your hotplug issue.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2018
Messages
20
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K OC 5.0
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Thanks to all for this great community. I was able to follow the directions and get both my IGPU and dGPU working on Mojave. Much appreciation!
 
Last edited:
Top