Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Framebuffer patching using WhateverGreen

Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
1
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370M-D3H
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi guys,
I appreciate your work @headkaze and this helped me a lot. I updated to Mojave few days ago so I decided to make this happen.

Unfortunately patching doesn't work on my machine from signature. I have done everything, even generated dump files in two ways. You can see screenshots of FBPatcher. It shows as iGPU 2 under IORegistry as seen on screenshot. Under system info, there is only RX580 graphic card showed(OOB). I have also problem with mouse cursor and keyboard, sometimes it freezes hard. That started after I have done this patching guide.
Sorry for sounding so noob.:rolleyes:
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2018-10-17 at 16.40.16.png
    Screenshot 2018-10-17 at 16.40.16.png
    115.2 KB · Views: 332
  • Screenshot 2018-10-17 at 16.40.00.png
    Screenshot 2018-10-17 at 16.40.00.png
    102.6 KB · Views: 242
  • Screenshot 2018-10-17 at 16.39.51.png
    Screenshot 2018-10-17 at 16.39.51.png
    126.6 KB · Views: 310
  • config.plist
    10.6 KB · Views: 125
  • Screenshot 2018-10-17 at 17.21.22.png
    Screenshot 2018-10-17 at 17.21.22.png
    271 KB · Views: 187
Joined
Feb 15, 2016
Messages
43
Motherboard
GA-170X-UD5-TH - BIOS F22g
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
I really don't understand why IGPU is not working for you. HD 530 is supported in macOS...

I just plugged in my RX 560 in my Skylake system and it worked. I already had Lilu and WhateverGreen installed prior to getting the card.



Thanks Pastrychef. Maybe it is my specific motherboard model that needs special patches or additional adjustments in order for the HD 530 to work. I have not found anyone here with my specific motherboard that is using the HD 530 on-board graphics in Mojave. I found a thread started about 2 years ago on this topic of the HD 530, but it doesn't seem like anyone was successful with my motherboard. I guess I'll decide over the weekend if I will purchase the AMD video card. The thing is we don't know how long Nvidia will wait to release web drivers.
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2014
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270-HD3P
CPU
i7-7700
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hello everyone, I am not able to use the FBPatcher. Whenever I run the patcher, it shows me the intel gen i.e kaby lake but platform Id is blank. So all the tabs show nothing, no information. Do, I need to import something? Can anyone guide me how to use the patcher ? I have intel HD 630 GPU with Z270 HD3 motherboard. On high sierra everything was working fine but as soon as I updated to mojave, everything on the screen became pink tinted.

Thanks
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
13
Motherboard
Acer Aspire TC885 - B360
CPU
i5 8400
Graphics
UHD 630
Does this WEG log explain why I can't get 4k on my HDMI monitor. I note that -cdfon wasn't setting enable-hdmi2k either. Note that my monitor is only 30fps so it is really only HDMI 1.4

Code:
 WhateverGreen:    igfx @ (DBG) patching framebufferId 0x3E9B0007 connector [1] busId: 0x01, pipe: 9, type: 0x00000800, flags: 0x000003C7
 WhateverGreen:    igfx @ (DBG) patching framebufferId 0x3E9B0007 connector [2] busId: 0x02, pipe: 10, type: 0x00000800, flags: 0x000003C7
 WhateverGreen:    igfx @ (DBG) patching framebufferId 0x3E9B0007 connector [3] busId: 0x05, pipe: 8, type: 0x00000010, flags: 0x000001C7
 WhateverGreen:    igfx @ (DBG) Patching framebufferId 0x3E9B0007 successful
 WhateverGreen:     weg @ (DBG) failed to obtain display mode
 WhateverGreen:     weg @ (DBG) failed to obtain display mode
 WhateverGreen:     weg @ (DBG) failed to obtain display mode
 WhateverGreen:     weg @ (DBG) fb info 1: -2147479552:0 7680:0:32
 WhateverGreen:     weg @ (DBG) fb info 2: 3:8 --------RRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGBBBBBBBB 0:1920:1080
 WhateverGreen:     weg @ (DBG) this display has different mode
 WhateverGreen:    igfx @ (DBG) computeLaneCount: bpp = 24, available = 10
 WhateverGreen:     weg @ (DBG) fb info 1: -2147479552:1 7168:0:32
 WhateverGreen:     weg @ (DBG) fb info 2: 3:10 --RRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGBBBBBBBBBB 0:1680:1050
 WhateverGreen:     weg @ (DBG) this display has different mode
 WhateverGreen:     weg @ (DBG) fb info 1: -2147479552:1 7168:0:32
 WhateverGreen:     weg @ (DBG) fb info 2: 3:10 --RRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGBBBBBBBBBB 0:1680:1050
 WhateverGreen:     weg @ (DBG) this display has different mode
 WhateverGreen:    igfx @ (DBG) computeLaneCount: bpp = 24, available = 10
 WhateverGreen:     weg @ (DBG) fb info 1: -2147479552:1 7168:0:32
 WhateverGreen:     weg @ (DBG) fb info 2: 3:10 --RRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGBBBBBBBBBB 0:1680:1050
 WhateverGreen:     weg @ (DBG) this display has different mode

Is there something I can do to help WEG obtain 2160p? The boot log shows it correctly at 3840x2160 before the res change to 1080p

Martin
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
1,015
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aero 15X v8-BK4K4P
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630 / GTX 1070
Hello everyone, I am not able to use the FBPatcher. Whenever I run the patcher, it shows me the intel gen i.e kaby lake but platform Id is blank. So all the tabs show nothing, no information. Do, I need to import something? Can anyone guide me how to use the patcher ? I have intel HD 630 GPU with Z270 HD3 motherboard. On high sierra everything was working fine but as soon as I updated to mojave, everything on the screen became pink tinted.

Thanks

You can use the Framebuffer menu to use FB-Patcher's built in data which should suffice. If you only need to inject ig-platform-id then you could just use Xcode or a plist editor to add the values to your config.plist as explained in the first post.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
24
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370M DS3H
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi vyiciu,

I am also new to Hackintosh and here is what I can help you:

(1) There is no need to compile Lilu/Whatevergreen kexts yourself. Just use the release version on Github and put it into your /Volumes/EFI/EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other

(2) In Clover Configurator, after you load the config.plist, click "Devices" in "Sections", then click "Properties" in "Arbitrary/Properties" tabs group. Add "PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)" in "Devices" table, then you can add all other parameters in "Properties" table.

Make sure you update to latest Clover Configurator.

Thanks kunluncat, I've redone all the steps and in Clover Configurator added to Devices->Properties as in the screenshot below. However I must still be doing something wrong, since when I reboot back Night Shift doesn't work (I have Night Shift permanently turned on), Chrome is completely glitched up, audio over HDMI/DP is missing, and the computer is sluggish and seems to have a hard time drawing anything on screen, so I'm guessing I didn't make Whatevergreen work. I know that my computer has Intel HD Graphics 4400, so I've tried all of the values suggested under Haswell (0x0D220003, 0x0A16000, 0x0A260005, and if I read the instructions correctly, when inputing the Properties Value column I should reverse these and type 300022D0, 000061A0 and 500062A0), but none of these work. I've reverted back to the old InjectIntel method I had been using before, since that still works save for audio over HDMI/DP.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2018-10-19 at 22.08.17.png
    Screen Shot 2018-10-19 at 22.08.17.png
    160.3 KB · Views: 151
Joined
Sep 27, 2018
Messages
7
Motherboard
Intel
CPU
Intel
Graphics
Intel 4400
Thanks kunluncat, I've redone all the steps and in Clover Configurator added to Devices->Properties as in the screenshot below. However I must still be doing something wrong, since when I reboot back Night Shift doesn't work (I have Night Shift permanently turned on), Chrome is completely glitched up, audio over HDMI/DP is missing, and the computer is sluggish and seems to have a hard time drawing anything on screen, so I'm guessing I didn't make Whatevergreen work. I know that my computer has Intel HD Graphics 4400, so I've tried all of the values suggested under Haswell (0x0D220003, 0x0A16000, 0x0A260005, and if I read the instructions correctly, when inputing the Properties Value column I should reverse these and type 300022D0, 000061A0 and 500062A0), but none of these work. I've reverted back to the old InjectIntel method I had been using before, since that still works save for audio over HDMI/DP.
You are reversing the values incorrectly. Should be 0300220D. It is reversed as a hex value not a straight reverse.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
24
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370M DS3H
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You are reversing the values incorrectly. Should be 0300220D. It is reversed as a hex value not a straight reverse.

Ah I see. Sorry to ask another noob question, so how should I correctly reverse as a hex value? I'm confused. (I'm asking this because I think I'll need to try all three of the Haswell values)
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2018
Messages
7
Motherboard
Intel
CPU
Intel
Graphics
Intel 4400
They are reversed in pairs of 2 characters. So “0D 22 00 03” is what you need and if you reverse the nibbles it becomes “03 00 22 0D”. You have 30 00 22 D0 which is incorrect. I am using the same fix for my intel HD 4400 IGPU and it does indeed work correctly.
 
Top