Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Framebuffer patching using WhateverGreen

Joined
Jun 10, 2010
Messages
202
Motherboard
ASRock Z490M-ITX/ac
CPU
i10 10700 3.8GHz
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Further to post #307 here (and thanks, @RehabMan) I've downloaded gfxutil to try and establish the PCIRoot information for my i6700 HD530 IGPU.

Running gfxutil gives me this:

./gfxutil -f IGPU
DevicePath not found!


Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks,

Steve
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,093
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Further to post #307 here (and thanks, @RehabMan) I've downloaded gfxutil to try and establish the PCIRoot information for my i6700 HD530 IGPU.

Running gfxutil gives me this:

./gfxutil -f IGPU
DevicePath not found!


Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks,

Steve

No need.
IGPU is always at PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0)
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2010
Messages
202
Motherboard
ASRock Z490M-ITX/ac
CPU
i10 10700 3.8GHz
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
This is where I'm at now @RehabMan - wondered if you had any ideas?

System:
i7 6700 (HD530)
Gigabgyte GA-H170N (Mini ITX desktop)

Kexts:
FakeSMC
Lilu (Release)
WhateverGreen (Release)


The system boots and runs fine - IGFX is selected as the initial display output in the BIOS and shows the Apple logo / progress indicator during boot. 2/3 of the way through booting, signal is dropped from the IGFX display and carries on via the GTX760. No more signal from the IGFX but the 760 is fine.

I've used both my braincells and believe I've reversed the platform-id correctly:

0x19120000 >> 00001219

System Report shows my IGPU as "Intel HD Graphics SKL CRB" which, doesn't look right.

iMac_and_config_plist_and_EFI.jpg

Thanks,

Steve
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,093
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
System Report shows my IGPU as "Intel HD Graphics SKL CRB" which, doesn't look right.


It is normal. You can inject "model" to indicate your graphics cosmetic model if you want.
eg. Inject "model"="Intel HD Graphics 530".
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2010
Messages
202
Motherboard
ASRock Z490M-ITX/ac
CPU
i10 10700 3.8GHz
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Got it, thanks. Any thoughts as to why my HD530 IGFX is as dead as a dodo ?

Steve
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2018
Messages
68
Motherboard
Gigabyte z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
HD 630/RX 5700 XT
Hi there, a few questions about the guide:

My graphics currently show Intel HD Graphics 530 7MB, is this the guide I follow to fix that?

Is this still in beta? Has it become any "safer" to follow these instructions?

Also, where do I find this (quoted below). In Library or System/Extensions or on my conflig.plist in clover configurator?

Preliminary
1. Remove:
- FakePCIID_Intel_HD_Graphics
- IntelGraphicsFixup
- NvidiaGraphicsFixup
- CoreDisplayFixup
- Shiki
2. Turn off all graphics injections in Clover:
- config.plist/Graphics/Inject/ATI=NO
- config.plist/Graphics/Inject/Intel=NO
- config.plist/Graphics/Inject/NVidia=NO
- config.plist/Graphics/ig-platform-id=
- config.plist/Devices/FakeID/IntelGFX=

Thanks!
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2015
Messages
69
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170MX Gaming 5
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi there, a few questions about the guide:

My graphics currently show Intel HD Graphics 530 7MB, is this the guide I follow to fix that?

Is this still in beta? Has it become any "safer" to follow these instructions?

Also, where do I find this (quoted below). In Library or System/Extensions or on my conflig.plist in clover configurator?



Thanks!

I followed this guide and it's working well. It worked fully on High Sierra but dual monitors doesn't work on Mojave. No fix for that yet, as far as I'm aware.

Those items to remove would be things you previously injected with Clover. If you're not familiar with them, it's likely you didn't inject them.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2018
Messages
68
Motherboard
Gigabyte z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
HD 630/RX 5700 XT
I followed this guide and it's working well. It worked fully on High Sierra but dual monitors doesn't work on Mojave. No fix for that yet, as far as I'm aware.

Those items to remove would be things you previously injected with Clover. If you're not familiar with them, it's likely you didn't inject them.

Thanks you’ve saved me the long hours spent researching how to get dual monitors working which I was just doing.

I was able to get the 7mb changed and no longer have glitches.

Hoping to get dual monitors soon. It’s hard to go back to just using one.
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2014
Messages
22
Motherboard
GA Z87 HD3
CPU
i4970k
Graphics
HD4600 (Intel integrated)
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I am also looking for dual monitors on Mojave... any topic to follow for this specific need?

edit: framebuffer patching is not enough for dual monitors, your SMBios should also match a model with identical CPU/IGPU for dual screen to work. For my i7-4790K I used iMac14,3 instead of multibeast recommended quickstart choice and I now have dual screens!
 
Last edited:
Top