Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Framebuffer patching using WhateverGreen

Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
1,017
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aero 15X v8-BK4K4P
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630 / GTX 1070
In order to do that, you will absolutely need to take into account patches applied.

The latest version adds a Patch->Apply Current Patches menu so you can see your current patches

I also added a Patch->Import KextsToPatch so you can import a Clover Find/Replace patch
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2016
Messages
611
Motherboard
<< need model # >> See Forum Rules !!
CPU
I3 5020U
Graphics
Hd5500
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Is compiling Lilu with WEG a must?
How about pre-compiled Lilu?
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X UDH5
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD4600 + Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
you can find IGPU by IORegistryExplorer.
0x0412000B is an id with no connectors

Code:
ID: 0412000B, STOLEN: 32 MB, FBMEM: 0 bytes, VRAM: 1536 MB, Flags: 0x00000000
TOTAL STOLEN: 1 MB, TOTAL CURSOR: 0 bytes, MAX STOLEN: 1 MB, MAX OVERALL: 1 MB
GPU Name: Intel HD Graphics 4600
Model Name(s): iMac15,1
Camelia: Disabled, Freq: 0 Hz, FreqMax: 0 Hz
Mobile: 0, PipeCount: 0, PortCount: 0, FBMemoryCount: 0

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
    <key>Devices</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Properties</key>
        <dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1b,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>layout-id</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>
                CwASBA==
                </data>
                <key>device-id</key>
                <data>
                EgQAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-fbmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-memorycount</key>
                <data>
                AAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-mobile</key>
                <data>
                AAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-pipecount</key>
                <data>
                AAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-portcount</key>
                <data>
                AAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-stolenmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAAAg==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-unifiedmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAAYA==
                </data>
            </dict>
        </dict>
    </dict>
</dict>
</plist>

I inserted this code, besides being missing the PM, does not give HEVC for Hardware, H264 works at 100%.

Regards
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2018
Messages
5
Motherboard
Lemovo ideapad 700-15ISK SDK0J40709 WIN (CLOVER)
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700HQ
Graphics
GTX 950m & IGPU HD 530, 1920x1080
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey guys,
After two days of trying and failing, I finally managed to set up Clover (config.plist and kexts) to boot my macOS Mojave USB. However, after booting I can use the installation media for 2-3 minutes and then the screen becomes black and 2-3 seconds later the machine restarts. No matter if I start the installation process or just do something in disk utility, 2-3 minutes after the boot the laptop restarts. I followed this guide and think I set up the framer for my HD 530 correctly. However, I still believe the problem is with my iGPU, because if I open Apple's webpage in Safari from the USB the animations are bad. I am sharing my CLOVER folder as an attachment. Please if anyone can help me find where the problem is or knows a different way to configure HD 530 with i7, write a reply. Thanks in advance.
 

Attachments

  • CLOVER.zip
    10.4 MB · Views: 48
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
40
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170A
CPU
Skylake i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 770
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I've updated my Qotom mini-pc (i5-5250U) to Mojave and everything works except audio via HDMI output (using the internal intel HD6000 graphic). Have Lilu+Whatevegreen present but I'm really not sure how to generate proper config for IGPU in config.plist. I've only setup the very basic AAPL,ig-platform-id (using Haswell laptop from p.1). I'm attaching ioreg report. Anything else I need to get?
 

Attachments

  • Qotom-5250U.ioreg.zip
    566.6 KB · Views: 41

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,727
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've updated my Qotom mini-pc (i5-5250U) to Mojave and everything works except audio via HDMI output (using the internal intel HD6000 graphic). Have Lilu+Whatevegreen present but I'm really not sure how to generate proper config for IGPU in config.plist. I've only setup the very basic AAPL,ig-platform-id (using Haswell laptop from p.1). I'm attaching ioreg report. Anything else I need to get?

Your graphics in i5-5675C is actuall " Intel® Iris™ Pro Graphics 6200":
https://ark.intel.com/products/88095/Intel-Core-i5-5675C-Processor-4M-Cache-up-to-3_60-GHz
You should fix your profile for accuracy.

From your ioreg, looks like you're trying to use VoodooHDA. Perhaps consider patched AppleHDA via AppleALC.kext+WhateverGreen.kext.

Note: Your hardware is Broadwell, not Haswell.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
40
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170A
CPU
Skylake i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 770
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Your graphics in i5-5675C is actuall " Intel® Iris™ Pro Graphics 6200":
https://ark.intel.com/products/88095/Intel-Core-i5-5675C-Processor-4M-Cache-up-to-3_60-GHz
You should fix your profile for accuracy.

From your ioreg, looks like you're trying to use VoodooHDA. Perhaps consider patched AppleHDA via AppleALC.kext+WhateverGreen.kext.

Note: Your hardware is Broadwell, not Haswell.
Well when trying to set the profile there wasn't any option for 5250u so I went for the closest one that was on the list.
Code:
vendor_id    : GenuineIntel
cpu family    : 6
model        : 61
model name    : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-5250U CPU @ 1.60GHz
Yes I've tried Voodoo after failing with HDMI (VoodooHDA works for my analogue sound). Will install AppleALC.kext and report back.

Edit: After removing VoodooHDA and installing AppleALC.kext I get no audio device. Again ioreg is attached.
 

Attachments

  • Qotom-new.ioreg.zip
    548.5 KB · Views: 38
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
209
Motherboard
EVGA P55 Micro SLI
CPU
i5-760
Graphics
GTX 760
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi,

I must be an idiot, but I can't make the dump of my FB (HD3000).

I downloaded the debug versions of Lilu and Whatevergreen (on github) and set the -igfxdump boot arg, but I don't get the dump file.

What am I doing wrong?

I already have a find/replace entry on my config.plist to patch on the fly AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB to use only 3 ports (LVDS, VGA and HDMI) and works fine. I need this utility to try to set the DVMT prealloc to 32MB because I experience some glitches and ocasionally freezes of the screen (except the mouse pointer). I already have 8GB of RAM (tried 16GB and still glitches) and I'm out of ideas to get rid of those annoying lines glitches.

Thanks in advance for your advices.
 
Top