Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Framebuffer patching using WhateverGreen

Joined
Apr 21, 2016
Messages
8
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G2 Mini
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
MacBook Pro
Hi all, having a weird issue with my i5 6500/HD 530 on Catalina 10.15.4 (19E287)

I have two monitors attached to the two displayports (Index 1, 2) on my computer. The computer also has a VGA port (Index 3?) but I don't use that.

If only one of the monitors is plugged in, either port will work. If both are plugged in to both ports, only one will work.

The blue selection is where the other monitor reports to be when it is the only one plugged in.
Screenshot 2020-04-10 at 13.58.41.png


I'm sure i'm doing something simple wrong but I've been battling this for two days and think it's time I asked for help.

Attached my config.plist also.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 4, 2011
Messages
59
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170N-WiFi
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi all,

I have a similar issue to one reported by @lukeylad118.

I have a UHD630 on an ASUS UX580GE that work as it should when I have only the internal screen connected. When I connect an external screen via USB3 DisplayPort the internal port get shutdown when framebuffer is initialized and if I close the lid, wait for a few seconds, till the password appears on external screen, and reopen it the image appears also on internal screen an it works as it should.

I've checked from remote if the systems sees the screens when the internal is off and external is on and they are there as they should be (see the attached screenshot).

I got the same behavior with Whatevergreen 1.3.7 and 1.3.8

For sure I miss some parameters that Whatevergreen needs but I fail to find them anywhere in documentation or in forum posts.

Any hints are welcome.

Thank you all for your support of this beautiful community.
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 4, 2011
Messages
59
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170N-WiFi
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
One more thing that I just noticed.
With the latest Whatevergreen 1.3.8 the system stops in the middle of shutdown and after a while gives a KP.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2016
Messages
8
Motherboard
Z390 aorus pro wifi
CPU
i5 8400
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Friends can't win intel gfx VDAdec_check, help
GVA info: Successfully connected to the Intel plugin, offline Gen95
An error was returned by the decoder layer. This may happen for example because of bitstream/data errors during a decode operation. This error may also be returned from VDADecoderCreate when hardware decoder resources are available on the system but currently in use by another process.
VDADecoderCreate failed. err: -12473
I tried a lot of options, FCPX is launched, but VDADecoderChecker is haunts.
Снимок экрана 2020-04-11 в 15.50.54.png
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
May 15, 2013
Messages
112
Motherboard
Intel Z390I AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
HD 630
Mobile Phone
Android
my system bootup with only intelgraphicsfixup.kext with 2048MB vram. If delete it and put only Whatevergreen system hangs on during bootup. What is problem exactly?
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2011
Messages
59
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi everyone,

I'm desperatly needing help to properly configure my graphics. I want to use both my rx580 and intel hd 4000 to be able to activate quicksync ! The issue is that my intel part is not recognized even when i inject th id platforms ! my 4k monitor is plugged on my rx580 and i was wondering if i can still activate the intel part without putting the igx as primary gpu !

Thanks for your help !
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2016
Messages
8
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G2 Mini
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
MacBook Pro
Hi all,

I have a similar issue to one reported by @lukeylad118.

I have a UHD630 on an ASUS UX580GE that work as it should when I have only the internal screen connected. When I connect an external screen via USB3 DisplayPort the internal port get shutdown when framebuffer is initialized and if I close the lid, wait for a few seconds, till the password appears on external screen, and reopen it the image appears also on internal screen an it works as it should.

I've checked from remote if the systems sees the screens when the internal is off and external is on and they are there as they should be (see the attached screenshot).

I got the same behavior with Whatevergreen 1.3.7 and 1.3.8

For sure I miss some parameters that Whatevergreen needs but I fail to find them anywhere in documentation or in forum posts.

Any hints are welcome.

Thank you all for your support of this beautiful community.
I've mentioned on my own thread I sometimes need to plug in my second monitor once the system is logged in. Not that much of a problem for me while I wait for updates to Whatevergreen that will hopefully fix the issue but I imagine it's probably more annoying for people with larger system cases.

Sorry it's not a fix for your issue but if it has the same effect on your machine and you're plugging in via thunderbolt, it might be a good solution for you at the moment.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
6
Motherboard
ASRock B365M-HDV
CPU
i5-8500
Graphics
UHD 630
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hello.

I have integrated UHD 630 graphics. All works properly. Only one issue. When my system wake up after sleep (or display only wake up), I need reconnect HDMI cable to see the image (or off/on display).

WhateverGreen and Lilu already installed.

Can anyone help me please?
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,665
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I have integrated UHD 630 graphics. All works properly. Only one issue. When my system wake up after sleep (or display only wake up), I need reconnect HDMI cable to see the image (or off/on display).

@pozitiffcat,

First make sure you have patched the framebuffer so that the defined IGPU connectors match the physical monitor connections on your motherboard, see @CaseySJ's excellent guide on the subject for more info :-


However, even with correctly defined IGPU connectors, if you search the forums here you will find that this is quite a common issue when using HDMI driven off a IGPU.

Newer versions of MacOs (Mojave, Catalina) appear to be optimised for Display Port and many users have been able to resolve the issue by switching to Display Port for monitor connections so that might be something else you could try.

Cheers
Jay
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
6
Motherboard
ASRock B365M-HDV
CPU
i5-8500
Graphics
UHD 630
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Newer versions of MacOs (Mojave, Catalina) appear to be optimised for Display Port and many users have been able to resolve the issue by switching to Display Port for monitor connections so that might be something else you could try.
I don't have a display port, only HDMI. I applied DP to HDMI type patches to my coffeelake UHD graphics, but issue not resolved. I already have graphics acceleration, all works fine. Only one trouble I need reconnect HDMI cable after wake up the system.
 
Last edited:
Top