Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Framebuffer patching using WhateverGreen

Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
25
Motherboard
Z77MX-D3H-TH
CPU
i7 3770k @4.6mhz
Graphics
r9 280x
Mac
MacBook Pro
@wooolooo,

Have a read of the "Headless" section in Chapter 4 of this guide :-


Cheers
Jay
Thanks a lot. Interesting read.
I understand much better what "patching" means now = Copying the correct info in the config.plist, and I am now sure that I need to use platform id 0x01620006 .

EDIT : I am now able to boot, with iGPU... I'll be honest I'm not even sure what I did, I believe checking InjectIntel in clover configurator did it, and AddIMEI... pretty much the oposite of what this guide is all about.
I am sure it's not optimised but all seems to be running fine, I can run Final Cut Pro ok and export in h264... For the next update I will start from a clean install lol.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
980
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aero 15X v8-BK4K4P
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630 / GTX 1070 Max-Q / 4K
Can you elaborate, I'm not sure what you mean by this ...
Just download the latest release if you don't want to compile.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2017
Messages
141
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5-TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
iMac, LC, Power Mac, Quadra
-
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
365
Motherboard
asus z170-k
CPU
i5-6400
Graphics
HD530/GTX 650
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Framebuffer patching in Mojave
Hello. Thanks for all the good work you all do.

I used the work RehabMan had done and his config section under devices/properties to get the
proper displays setup on an hd4000 laptop. Before using that Whatevergreen worked a treat for
the external HDMI port with audio but the built in display garbled out. Now using the config edit,
displays are proper but no longer has HDMI audio.

Maybe you can tell pretty quick what I'm missing here?

Thanks again.

Edit figured it out. The config had a pound sign that canceled the injection of HDMI port (08)
The IORegistryExplorer was showing where the HDMI cable plugged in as DP (04) that clued
me in. Didn't know the HDMI would be working if it was thought to be a DP port!

Thanks again for all the info and help
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Nov 23, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
Mobile Intel QM87 Express
CPU
i7-4710MQ
Graphics
HD 4600
Hello, I usually am not one to ask for help.. however.. I have spent way to many hours on this.. and I am stuck. Perhaps if someone can help me, it can be used to help someone else (I hope).

I have tried everything... but in general every time I think Its going to work... I get stuck booting, and it never starts.

I get:
busy timeout[0], (60s): 'IGPU'

IMG_2470.JPG


And then eventually I get:
gIOScreenLockState 3,
IMG_2472.JPG


I have a Zbook G2 notebook that I have followed the instructions from here to setup:

Actually, the full story is that this worked like a champ.. and then.. my motherboard went (my mistake). Story is I purchased a replacement motherboard on ebay to fix it... I then put my original bios in that new motherboard.. I re-installed everthing.. and this issue remained after the vanilla setup and using the recommended .plist file from the git pull.

I used a linux live boot to proof hw acceleration works, and full resolution.

My issue, I can get it to boot.. however I cannot get the 1920x1080 resolution.

My monitor is detected as "unknown monitor".

I have tried many, many different platform and device-id's.

Here is my latest config.plist:

IMG_2473.JPG


Here is my -igfxdump from whatevergreen
IMG_2471.JPG


Any suggestions are welcome!!!

Thanks for all that respond.
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,468
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
@nygalloway,

The PlatformID 0x04160000 that you are using is for a desktop system, as you can see in the following FrameBuffer dump the parameter "Mobile" is set to 0 which means that it is for a desktop system :-

Code:
ID: 04160000, STOLEN: 64 MB, FBMEM: 16 MB, VRAM: 1024 MB, Flags: 0x00000004
TOTAL STOLEN: 209 MB, TOTAL CURSOR: 1 MB (1572864 bytes), MAX STOLEN: 209 MB, MAX OVERALL: 210 MB (220737536 bytes)
GPU Name: Intel HD Graphics 4600
Model Name(s):
Camelia: Disabled, Freq: 5273 Hz, FreqMax: 5273 Hz
Mobile: 0, PipeCount: 3, PortCount: 3, FBMemoryCount: 3
[0] busId: 0x00, pipe: 8, type: 0x00000002, flags: 0x00000030 - LVDS
[1] busId: 0x05, pipe: 9, type: 0x00000004, flags: 0x00000004 - DigitalDVI
[2] busId: 0x04, pipe: 9, type: 0x00000800, flags: 0x00000082 - HDMI
00000800 02000000 30000000
01050900 04000000 04000000
02040900 00080000 82000000

Using a desktop platformID with a Laptop CPU and SMBIOS Combo is guaranteed to cause issue's.

The Azul HD 4600 FrameBuffer's are know to be very finicky so we generally recommended to use an Intel HD 5200 FrameBuffer instead.

Try the following:-

Use IGPU PlatfromID 0x0D260007 by setting AAPL,ig-platfrom-id to 0700260D (Mobile HD 5200)
Keep device-id set to 12040000 (HD 4600)
Use SMBIOS MacbookPro11,2 or MacbookPro11,2

FrameBuffer dump for PlatfromID 0x0D260007 :-

Code:
ID: 0D260007, STOLEN: 64 MB, FBMEM: 34 MB, VRAM: 1536 MB, Flags: 0x0000031E
TOTAL STOLEN: 99 MB, TOTAL CURSOR: 1 MB (1572864 bytes), MAX STOLEN: 227 MB, MAX OVERALL: 228 MB (239616000 bytes)
GPU Name: Intel Iris Pro Graphics 5200
Model Name(s): MacBookPro11,2 MacBookPro11,3
Camelia: Disabled, Freq: 1953 Hz, FreqMax: 1953 Hz
Mobile: 1, PipeCount: 3, PortCount: 4, FBMemoryCount: 3
[0] busId: 0x00, pipe: 8, type: 0x00000002, flags: 0x00000030 - LVDS
[1] busId: 0x05, pipe: 11, type: 0x00000400, flags: 0x00000107 - DP
[2] busId: 0x04, pipe: 11, type: 0x00000400, flags: 0x00000107 - DP
[3] busId: 0x06, pipe: 3, type: 0x00000800, flags: 0x00000006 - HDMI
00000800 02000000 30000000
01050B00 00040000 07010000
02040B00 00040000 07010000
03060300 00080000 06000000

As you can see this FrameBuffer has one extra port at busid 0x06 so you may need to re do your connector patching.

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
Mobile Intel QM87 Express
CPU
i7-4710MQ
Graphics
HD 4600
Thanks Jay, your fast response is appreciated!

Clearly, your suggestion has put me a step toward the right direction... I'm still not there yet. I am now clearly aware of mobile vs desktop... I tried what you suggested, and no luck.. still no boot.

I then when back to the config.plist straight from git for hp zbook2 Haswell.. and no luck. This uses 0600260a.

I then changed from to from MacbookPro11,1 to MacbookPro11,2.

Screen Shot 2019-11-25 at 7.11.26 PM.png


Here is my monitor registered:
Screen Shot 2019-11-25 at 7.14.22 PM.png


here is my config.plist device properties:
Screen Shot 2019-11-25 at 7.40.54 PM.png


I have tried options:
-wegnoegpu
-cdfon
-liluforce

I have tried to inject an EDID.. If I pulled it out of ubuntu correctly.. think I did because it was the only EDID file with data... commented out now.

I've tried may different bios settings.. currently set for the recommended.

I have noticed that coreduetd reports that it is burning cpu when the system is not starting... is it hung?

if I comment out device-id ... system boots with only 1024x786 resolution.

Same if I comment out AAPL,ig-platform-id.

Any other ideas? Thanks again to all that can help.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
Mobile Intel QM87 Express
CPU
i7-4710MQ
Graphics
HD 4600
another screen shot of boot.. in case there is anything here is a hint...

IMG_2478.JPG
 
Top