Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Broadwell NUC5 using Clover UEFI (NUC5i5MHYE, NUC5i3MYHE, etc)

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,731
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Rehabman,
Thanks for your tutorial!
--------------------------------------------New post--------------------------------------------
Now, I used your github file to compile the DSDT, and added the following content to the config.plist file. I am lucky, it works perfectly, how should I find the patch again after the next system upgrade?I need your help.
XML:
<key>GUI</key>
    <dict>
        <key>ScreenResolution</key>
        <string>1280x1024</string>
    </dict>

<key>KernelAndKextPatches</key>
    <dict>
        <key>KextsToPatch</key>
        <array>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>10.14+ hd5500 boot graphics glitch patch (credit dadidi1978 & lff520520)</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                AQAAdWQ=
                </data>
                <key>InfoPlistPatch</key>
                <false/>
                <key>MatchOS</key>
                <string>10.14</string>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>IOGraphicsFamily</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                AQAA62Q=
                </data>
            </dict>
        </array>
    </dict>
--------------------------------------------Old Post--------------------------------------------

I use the Intel NUC5I5MYHE(2xmDP+1xLVDS) with 16G RAM,500GB WD BLACK HDD,PHILIPS BDM4350UC 4K Monitor(3840x2160 @60HZ with dp1.2) via mDP to the DP,macOS v10.14.2,Clover v4813,BIOS v0049.

Now,my computer can start normally,but when the computer starts up to the login screen,I see that the screen is glitchy like the two images attached,I have to turn off the monitor and re-open it to display the login screen normally.

In recent days,I also tried to set the IGD Minimum Memory size in the BIOS to 1GB,modify the framebuffer-stolenmem to 512MB,modify the framebuffer-fbmem to 256MB,modify the framebuffer-cursormem to 256MB,modify the framebuffer-unifiedmem to 3GB,in this case,the computer can start normally,but it looks strange,I got a wrong display size and resolution,such as 30-inch 1920x2160 or 60-inch 3840x2160 with 31MB VRAM,because my computer has PIP(Picture In Picture)/PBP(Picture By Picture) function,is it?

I don't know how to modify the NUC DVMT size,I don't find the option to set DVMT in the BIOS,I tried to inject another ig-plantform-id,but it still didn't work.
You failed to attach problem reporting files. Read post #1.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,731
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi RehabMan, I'm having the same problem as XatroX above i.e. no sound devices. I have the 5i5mhye NUC.

While trying to go through your shell scripts, is the install_downloads.sh supposed to calls the install_hdainject function (in _install_subs.sh)? I may be missing something here, I do see a bunch of work happening under the install_hda and install_hdainject functions but I'm failing to see any references to these functions (they aren't being called from anywhere).

Can you please advise?
You also failed to attach problem reporting files. Read post #1.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2018
Messages
2
Motherboard
Intel NUC 5 (nuc5i5myhe)
CPU
Intel Core i5
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 5500
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
You also failed to attach problem reporting files. Read post #1.
I've manually followed some steps you had posted for getting the debug info since the gen_debug.sh keeps complaining of me not having pressed F4 (which i've tried doing a number of times at the clover menu). Please let me know if this is lacking some more debug info.

Thanks
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,731
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've manually followed some steps you had posted for getting the debug info since the gen_debug.sh keeps complaining of me not having pressed F4 (which i've tried doing a number of times at the clover menu). Please let me know if this is lacking some more debug info.

Thanks
"Problem Reporting" files are incomplete/wrong.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
NUC5i5RYK
CPU
i5-5250U
Graphics
HD 6000
Hi I followed the steps from your guide, I have a NUC5i5RYK, when I try to boot using the USB, I cannot, the boot menu show me:

UEFI: USB: EUFI: USB: ASUS SDRW-08D2s-U A601 : PART 1: OS Bootloader: PA

I select that option but nothing happens, just return to that menu.

By the way I dont have any ASUS SDRW attached, I dont know why the boot menu show me that, should be display the USB key not some asus drive

any idea?

thanks
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,731
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi I followed the steps from your guide, I have a NUC5i5RYK, when I try to boot using the USB, I cannot, the boot menu show me:

UEFI: USB: EUFI: USB: ASUS SDRW-08D2s-U A601 : PART 1: OS Bootloader: PA

I select that option but nothing happens, just return to that menu.

By the way I dont have any ASUS SDRW attached, I dont know why the boot menu show me that, should be display the USB key not some asus drive

any idea?

thanks
Check your BIOS settings.
And check that you created the USB correctly.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
NUC5i5RYK
CPU
i5-5250U
Graphics
HD 6000
Check your BIOS settings.
And check that you created the USB correctly.
I checked all and it's ok, I tried with a USB WD 1Tb and I got the same, then I testes both (usb flashdrive and WD) in VirtualBox and Clover is running without problem

so for sure is something in NUC but what could be?
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2015
Messages
11
Motherboard
NUC
CPU
i7-5557U
Graphics
Iris 6100
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi! Rehabman. I followed the guide perfectly and was able to reach up to post installation with ./download.sh
I am stuck at this portion. There seems to be a problem with the repositories listed on the download.sh, most of the repository will have curl: (56) LibreSSL SSL_read: SSL_ERROR_SYSCALL, errno 54 errors. Tried to download some of the repositories manually but still cant seem to download some of them like the FakeSMC, IntelMausiEthernet and BrcmPatchRam.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 5, 2015
Messages
11
Motherboard
NUC
CPU
i7-5557U
Graphics
Iris 6100
Mobile Phone
Android
Really having a hard time downloading this post-installation patches via download.sh
Is there other repositories where I can download this required kexts.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,731
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I checked all and it's ok, I tried with a USB WD 1Tb and I got the same, then I testes both (usb flashdrive and WD) in VirtualBox and Clover is running without problem

so for sure is something in NUC but what could be?
This guide has nothing to do with VirtualBox.
 
Top