Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Broadwell NUC5 using Clover UEFI (NUC5i5MHYE, NUC5i3MYHE, etc)

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey RehabMan,

first of all, I want to thank you for the great guide. It works just fine with your files!
I use the Intel NUC5I3RYH model which has a Mini-HDMI and a Mini DisplayPort Output.
With High Sierra I got a picture via the Mini DP and via Mini-HDMI. After the Mojave Update (fresh installation) only the Mini-HDMI Output seems to work. With DP, my monitor (LG 32UD89-W 4K-Monitor) shows a black screen after the apple boot screen. For a split second, I can see the login screen but then, the monitor shows no signal. I had the same issue with High Sierra, but after turning the monitor off and on solved this problem (as a temporary fix).

I would like to use the DP Output because of the higher resolution (3840x2160 @60HZ).

I hope you can help me.
*Edit: I reuploaded the .zip-file.
I'm sorry. I reuploaded the .zip-file.
You have both the connector-type patches enabled (for @1 and @2).
Note both framebuffer-con1-type and framebuffer-con2-type enabled:
Screen Shot 2018-10-21 at 11.49.18 AM.png

While that makes sense if both ports were HDMI, you say one of them is DP.
So, at a minimum you could disable the patch for the connector associated with the DP port. Assuming the native data for the connector is DP. If it is not native DP, then change the data for that connector to DP <00 04 00 00>.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2013
Messages
11
Motherboard
Intel NUC5i3RYH
CPU
i3
Graphics
HD 5500
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Awesome, it works! You are the best!!! :thumbup: I changed the data for the connector.
I know, this is not related to this thread but can you explain, why it is not possible to play 1080p drm protected content from the iTunes Store? I can play 720p content without any problems. Even 1080p movies start with a picture and with audio but after 3 seconds there is the error message: "This film can only be played on displays that support HDCP". It is necessary to do configuration with the whatevergreen kext?
What does Inject Intel?

Thank you for your help!
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Awesome, it works! You are the best!!! :thumbup: I changed the data for the connector.
I know, this is not related to this thread but can you explain, why it is not possible to play 1080p drm protected content from the iTunes Store? I can play 720p content without any problems. Even 1080p movies start with a picture and with audio but after 3 seconds there is the error message: "This film can only be played on displays that support HDCP". It is necessary to do configuration with the whatevergreen kext?
I don't use/buy/rent DRM content on my computers...
But you might check into the various shiki options part of WhateverGreen.

What does Inject Intel?
This guide does not use Clover Graphics/Inject/Intel features for IGPU property injection. This guide injects properties such as AAPL,ig-platform-id via ACPI instead (more control over which properties are injected).
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2013
Messages
11
Motherboard
Intel NUC5i3RYH
CPU
i3
Graphics
HD 5500
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Alright, thanks again for your help! :)
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2015
Messages
13
Motherboard
Intel NUC5i7RYH
CPU
i7-5557U
Graphics
Iris 6100
Mac
Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi RehabMan,

I install Mojave following by your instruction but seems like I lost second screen after booting into the MAC login prompt. It used to work in High Sierra.
May you please help to check what I should do? I would also like to help to verify if the internal USB port is enabled (I have the internal USB port wired to the USB connector) but I don't know how to help. You can write me an instruction and I can do the test to contribute.

Thanks.
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi RehabMan,

I install Mojave following by your instruction but seems like I lost second screen after booting into the MAC login prompt. It used to work in High Sierra.
May you please help to check what I should do? I would also like to help to verify if the internal USB port is enabled (I have the internal USB port wired to the USB connector) but I don't know how to help. You can write me an instruction and I can do the test to contribute.

Thanks.
Your ioreg shows two displays detected (one @1, another @2).
What is the issue?

If your internally connected USB is already working, no need to do anything.
Otherwise, refer to the guide:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-creating-a-custom-ssdt-for-usbinjectall-kext.211311/
Any updated port data goes in SSDT-USB.dsl.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2015
Messages
13
Motherboard
Intel NUC5i7RYH
CPU
i7-5557U
Graphics
Iris 6100
Mac
Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Your ioreg shows two displays detected (one @1, another @2).
What is the issue?

If your internally connected USB is already working, no need to do anything.
Yes, just like you read from the log, two displays are detected but I only have 1 display screen shows up(HDMI one). Another screen(DP) lost of signal. How can I turn on the DP port as a 2nd screen connection?

Regarding the internal USB, unfortunately, it doesn't work. I will reply in another thread you mentions.

Thanks.
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yes, just like you read from the log, two displays are detected but I only have 1 display screen shows up(HDMI one). Another screen(DP) lost of signal. How can I turn on the DP port as a 2nd screen connection?

Regarding the internal USB, unfortunately, it doesn't work. I will reply in another thread you mentions.

Thanks.
Your current setup is patching both connectors for HDMI.
If you have 1x HDMI and 1x DP, remove the HDMI patch for the DP connector.
Look at config.plist/Devices/Properties/PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0). Set conX-enable to zero for the DP port (as the native connector is probably DP). You will find out when you check ioreg for connector-type.

Regarding the internal USB, unfortunately, it doesn't work. I will reply in another thread you mentions.
Follow the guide for port discovery first.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2015
Messages
13
Motherboard
Intel NUC5i7RYH
CPU
i7-5557U
Graphics
Iris 6100
Mac
Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Your current setup is patching both connectors for HDMI.
If you have 1x HDMI and 1x DP, remove the HDMI patch for the DP connector.
Look at config.plist/Devices/Properties/PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0). Set conX-enable to zero for the DP port (as the native connector is probably DP). You will find out when you check ioreg for connector-type.
it works! Thank you very much!!! I have my 2nd screen enabled.

<key>Devices</key>
<dict>
<key>Audio</key>
<dict>
<key>Inject</key>
<integer>0</integer>
</dict>
<key>Properties</key>
<dict>
<key>PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0)</key>
<dict>
<key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
<data>AAgAAA==</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
<data>AAgAAA==</data>
</dict>
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
it works! Thank you very much!!! I have my 2nd screen enabled.

<key>Devices</key>
<dict>
<key>Audio</key>
<dict>
<key>Inject</key>
<integer>0</integer>
</dict>
<key>Properties</key>
<dict>
<key>PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0)</key>
<dict>
<key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
<data>AAgAAA==</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
<data>AAgAAA==</data>
</dict>
Will need to check my NUC5 to see what ports it has...
Just checked... my NUC5 is 2x DP. I think I will just disable both patches... users will need to enable as appropriate for their hardware.
 
Top