Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Broadwell NUC5 using Clover UEFI (NUC5i5MHYE, NUC5i3MYHE, etc)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 4, 2015
Messages
4
Motherboard
NUC5i7RYH
CPU
i7-5557U
Graphics
Iris™ graphics 6100
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Many thanks for the guide!
I have a problem after I run "make install" (mounts the EFI partition, and copies the built files where they can be loaded by Clover (to EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched)) I get error 64.
After that, I did a restart and its stacks at a black screen with a "not allowed" sign
 

Attachments

  • RehabMan.zip
    36.1 KB · Views: 77
  • Christos’s iMac.ioreg
    3.5 MB · Views: 114

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,477
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Many thanks for the guide!
I have a problem after I run "make install" (mounts the EFI partition, and copies the built files where they can be loaded by Clover (to EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched)) I get error 64.
After that, I did a restart and its stacks at a black screen with a "not allowed" sign

Your profile is not filled out as requested in the guide (no idea which NUC you have). Please fix.

What do you mean by "error 64". Use photos/text from Terminal to explain clearly. Don't forget that you must install Clover to your SSD/HDD before running 'make install' (it is in post #2 of the main Clover guide, linked from this guide).

If you can't boot, how do you have the ability to provide ioreg? And if you can't boot, ... Boot verbose, show photo. Attach EFI/Clover folder as ZIP (omit 'themes' folder).

If you can boot, but something is not right, read post #1, "Problem Reporting".
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2015
Messages
4
Motherboard
NUC5i7RYH
CPU
i7-5557U
Graphics
Iris™ graphics 6100
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I Apologise for missing info:
I have a NUC5i7RYH, 16GB RAM, 512GB Samsung SM951 NVMe M.2.
I tried the installation process two times just in case I am missing something. I got the ioreg just before restarting during the second installation. In order to get screenshot of terminal with the error I would have to repeat the installation process again. No problem doing that.
I can't boot verbose. I am pressing cmd+V after Clover boot choices but still getting the not allowed screen.
If I remove the USB stick used for the installation I get " A bootable device has not been detected". With the USB I get clover choices.
After I got the error when executing the "make install" I could see the EFI partition but didn't had any files on it.

If I need to start over with the installation I will do it in order to give you more details about the error.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,477
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I Apologise for missing info:
I have a NUC5i7RYH, 16GB RAM, 512GB Samsung SM951 NVMe M.2.

Please, in your profile, as requested.

I can't boot verbose. I am pressing cmd+V after Clover boot choices but still getting the not allowed screen.

Cmd+V does nothing (your computer is not a Mac). Verbose boot is available from the Clover menu that results from pressing the space bar.

If I remove the USB stick used for the installation I get " A bootable device has not been detected". With the USB I get clover choices.

After I got the error when executing the "make install" I could see the EFI partition but didn't had any files on it.

It indicates you forgot to install Clover to your SSD.

If I need to start over with the installation I will do it in order to give you more details about the error.

I think the problem is EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched doesn't exist, so 'make install' fails. You need to follow the guide carefully. By the time you're running 'make install', Clover should have already been installed to your SSD. The Clover installer creates the EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched directory.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 4, 2015
Messages
4
Motherboard
NUC5i7RYH
CPU
i7-5557U
Graphics
Iris™ graphics 6100
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Please, in your profile, as requested.



Cmd+V does nothing (your computer is not a Mac). Verbose boot is available from the Clover menu that results from pressing the space bar.



In indicates you forgot to install Clover to your SSD.



I think the problem is EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched doesn't exist, so 'make install' fails. You need to follow the guide carefully. By the time you're running 'make install', Clover should have already been installed to your SSD. The Clover installer creates the EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched directory.

Thanks for the help, I will try again the installation.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2015
Messages
4
Motherboard
NUC5i7RYH
CPU
i7-5557U
Graphics
Iris™ graphics 6100
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Please, in your profile, as requested.



Cmd+V does nothing (your computer is not a Mac). Verbose boot is available from the Clover menu that results from pressing the space bar.



It indicates you forgot to install Clover to your SSD.



I think the problem is EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched doesn't exist, so 'make install' fails. You need to follow the guide carefully. By the time you're running 'make install', Clover should have already been installed to your SSD. The Clover installer creates the EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched directory.

Many thanks for your help!
After reading the guide carefully and following the instructions one by one I manage to make it work.

Thanks again!
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
6
Motherboard
NUC5i3RYH
CPU
i3-5010U
Graphics
HD5500
Got my NUC5i3RYH working after after some mistakes, including sleep and audio.

Has anyone got VDADecoder support on the Broadwell NUC?

I added iMac16,2 to the VDADecoder.bundle/Contents/Info.plist and rebuilt kextcache, but it does not work.

Would be really nice if we could get this to work, it keeps the fan off while watching video.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,477
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Got my NUC5i3RYH working after after some mistakes, including sleep and audio.

Has anyone got VDADecoder support on the Broadwell NUC?

I added iMac16,2 to the VDADecoder.bundle/Contents/Info.plist and rebuilt kextcache, but it does not work.

Would be really nice if we could get this to work, it keeps the fan off while watching video.

No such VDADecoder.bundle in my 10.11 /S/L/E. What are you actually referring to?
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
6
Motherboard
NUC5i3RYH
CPU
i3-5010U
Graphics
HD5500
Oh my mistake its called AppleVADriver.bundle.
But now that I compare with my MacBookPro11,1 - it is not listed in there as well.
I think this bundle might be for older Hardware only.

My main Problem is missing Video Decoding Acceleration (H264). Safari, Chrome and QuickTime all use 150-200% CPU playing a 4K video instead of max. 20% on my Macbook (or Windows 10 on the NUC itself).
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
6
Motherboard
NUC5i3RYH
CPU
i3-5010U
Graphics
HD5500
Here some general tips to get a smooth experience with the NUC5i3RYH (and probably other Boradwell NUCs):

  1. I had Audio popping when the sound chip was put to sleep and woken up.
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/a-quick-fix-hack-to-eliminate-sound-popping.91572/#post-736862

    Instead of downloading a silent aiff file, I created my own with say -o silence.aiff " "
    and set the delay to 24.

    _
  2. I was annoyed with the numlock LED on my keyboard being on and being unable to turn it off.
    In OSX the num block is always enabled anyway.

    To fix this someone posted a way to turn it off in the Visual BIOS.
    As the Poster I needed to click and use arrow keys multiple times until it switched to off.
    https://communities.intel.com/message/318373#318373
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top