Contribute
Register

[Guide] Installing macOS Mojave (10.14.2) on Intel NUCi5BEH using Clover UEFI + updating to Mojave (10.14.6) on post#2

Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
1,366
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
A usb-c hdmi hub that access power delivery
So the hub is plugged into the USBc hub and you run two hdmi video connectors out of it? Is that right? What brand and model hub? Be great to get a picture of what you are talking about too.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 29, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
NUC8i5BEH
CPU
i5-8259u
Graphics
Iris Plus 655
So the hub is plugged into the USBc hub and you run two hdmi video connectors out of it? Is that right? What brand and model hub?
So the hub is plugged into the USBc hub and you run two hdmi video connectors out of it? Is that right? What brand and model hub? Be great to get a picture of what you are talking about too.
Unfortunately this is probably not the greatest photo. The black cable is my hdmi cable and the red goes into a usb power adapter (it’s actually a usb-c to usb-a). The hub I have is a no name brand.
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
1,366
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
Unfortunately this is probably not the greatest photo. The black cable is my hdmi cable and the red goes into a usb power adapter (it’s actually a usb-c to usb-a). The hub I have is a no name brand.
Okay, its a pretty basic hub I guess, at least compared to some others. Seems like its doing what you need, what did it cost? I let my NUC Sleep and both displays still work when I tap the keyboard so that's my fix.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Intel NUC 8i7BEH
CPU
i7-8559U
Graphics
Iris Plus 655
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Used Leesureone's EFI folder and almost everything is perfect.

Right now my sticking point is that I can't get my BT dongle working. It had been working with the original RehabMan Guide, and it works on the Windows side of my dual boot.

If I go to system report, it shows the dongle plugged into my hub. If I remove it and switch ports, it duplicates the entry — so something is probably glitchy there.

But the tray at the top still says Bluetooth is unavailable.

Anyone had similar issues or have any leads on workarounds?

Thanks!
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
1,366
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
Used Leesureone's EFI folder and almost everything is perfect.

Right now my sticking point is that I can't get my BT dongle working. It had been working with the original RehabMan Guide, and it works on the Windows side of my dual boot.

If I go to system report, it shows the dongle plugged into my hub. If I remove it and switch ports, it duplicates the entry — so something is probably glitchy there.

But the tray at the top still says Bluetooth is unavailable.

Anyone had similar issues or have any leads on workarounds?

Thanks!
It sounds like a USB configuration issue. You can try substituting the attached for the three files in my EFI/ACPI/patched folder and see if it helps. It may not in which case you can build your own UAIC-SSDT.aml following the instructions here. Its never been easier thanks to Hackintool and the nice guide by @UtterDisbelief

 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
579
Motherboard
Huawei Matebook D
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
iOS
That's great you're getting that level of performance even if it takes a work around. I'm probably going to be one of the early adopters of the NUC10 model, had one ordered but intel hasn't filled orders yet. Soonest I've heard they'd be available will be Early February now.
Hi @Leesureone did you get the NUC10 yet?
Does it require any special EFI trick?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
1,366
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi @Leesureone did you get the NUC10 yet?
Does it require any special EFI trick
As far as I know the 10th generation Frost Canyon CPUs have not yet been successfully used in a Hackintosh. The hope is that the next generation on MacBooks will utilize those processors and pave the way. I would hold off for a few more months and see what happens.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2010
Messages
90
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i7BEH2
CPU
i7-8559U
Graphics
Iris Plus 655
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi @Leesureone ! Just to add on the previous question: Are you aware if the RTC fix needed for NUC8 BIOS newer than v56 (explained in my old post here) made it somehow to latest Clover versions as an available embedded option?

Just want to know if we still need that patch present inside our config.plist or if the Clover developers (due to great demand) eventually added it here... Since many people (such as @nickhx who posted in another forum and confirmed here) seem to need it nowadays, not sure if someone asked a Clover developer to include it.

Would this be a fix needed for upcoming NUC10 ? I very much think so... If anyone has means to contact Clover developers, please kindly do so :D :D :D

BIOS v71.png

(left: Original, right: Patched)
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
1,366
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi @Leesureone ! Just to add on the previous question: Are you aware if the RTC fix needed for NUC8 BIOS newer than v56 (explained in my old post here) made it somehow to latest Clover versions as an available embedded option?

Just want to know if we still need that patch present inside our config.plist or if the Clover developers (due to great demand) eventually added it here... Since many people (such as @nickhx who posted in another forum and confirmed here) seem to need it nowadays, not sure if someone asked a Clover developer to include it.

Would this be a fix needed for upcoming NUC10 ? I very much think so... If anyone has means to contact Clover developers, please kindly do so :D :D :D

View attachment 452815
(left: Original, right: Patched)
My take on this is its now a hardware/bios specific patch that isn't needed by anyone except NUC8 users. I think the fix has been established and that's pretty much it, no further development needed or expected.

Testing the need for it is pretty easy, remark out that comment in the config.plist and see if you will boot.

As far as the NUC10 we will have to wait and see if Apple decides to use the Frost Canyon CPUs and go from there.
 
Top