Contribute
Register

[Guide] Install High Sierra or Mojave on the Dell Optiplex 7010 / 9010 Desktop PC - Revision II

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
12,897
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Thank you SO much for this updated guide! This fixed my bluetooth problem that I could never get fixed!
That is great to hear ! Enjoy.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
377
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GTX 710
Mobile Phone
Android
there should be no reason for the card to not work with new method.
Thanks @Sniki, problem reporting files had been posted earlier (page before) when I first reported the problem. Im away from the machines till later and trs96 suggested I include another file - Ill do that when I can.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
12,897
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
@nicksoph would you post the exact Broadcom model of the card you're using. Does it have native support in Mojave ?

From your PR files it looked like you had needed all the various Broadcom kexts installed for it to work.
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2017
Messages
197
Motherboard
Lenovo Flex 4
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD620, 1920x1080
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
That is great to hear ! Enjoy.
So here is something that happened. When I changed my SMBIOS fro iMac 13,2 or ,1 (don't remember which I had it as), to a Mac Mini 6,1 or ,2 (Whichever the i5 version is), it disabled my third monitor on my GT 740. I have 1 Mini HDMI, 1 DVI-D, and 1 DVI. I used a DVI to VGA adapter on the one dvi port that I could, because the way my windows laptop docking station and my desktop pc ports allow, that was the only way to utilize all three monitors on both work stations. When I updated my SMBIOS, it wouldn't detect that one monitor on the DVI to VGA adapter, so I thought maybe I was now limited to two monitors. I found out that is not the case because if I use a regular DVI cable then it works. Do you know how to maybe fix this? Is it macOS or my gpu?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
12,897
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
So here is something that happened. When I changed my SMBIOS fro iMac 13,2 or ,1 (don't remember which I had it as), to a Mac Mini 6,1 or ,2 (Whichever the i5 version is), it disabled my third monitor on my GT 740. I have 1 Mini HDMI, 1 DVI-D, and 1 DVI. I used a DVI to VGA adapter on the one dvi port that I could, because the way my windows laptop docking station and my desktop pc ports allow, that was the only way to utilize all three monitors on both work stations. When I updated my SMBIOS, it wouldn't detect that one monitor on the DVI to VGA adapter, so I thought maybe I was now limited to two monitors. I found out that is not the case because if I use a regular DVI cable then it works. Do you know how to maybe fix this? Is it macOS or my gpu?
I know of someone who got the integrated graphics working with an Nvidia card by using a specific ig-platform-id. They were using the iMac 13,2 smbios which supports integrated and discrete graphics working together.

For the i5 you've got the 6,1 Mac mini smbios is preferred. You might look into possibly enabling integrated graphics along with your GT 740 to give you use of the two DP outputs. Doing that is going to require config.plist changes that I'm not entirely informed on how to implement. I'm sure that the 6,1 Mac minis only use igfx such as the HD4000.

Possibly you could post your PR files and have @Sniki take a look at the bigger picture. I use DP to HDMI cables for onboard HD4000. The graphics look better to me this way than any Nvidia graphics cards that I've used. Probably worth the effort to enable your HD4000 and use that for two monitors and have the 3rd on HDMI from your GPU. Another option would be simply to add a second gfx card. The low cost GT 710 would work nicely for 1 extra HDMI and another DVI output.

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/tool-generate-proper-problem-reporting-files.235953/

If you read the Mac mini 6,1 graphics description they actually support DP to VGA adapters so you could possible get one of those if need be. Use it from onboard DP to your VGA monitor.
This model simultaneously supports 1920x1200 on an HDMI display or a DVI display using the included HDMI-to-DVI adapter and 2560x1600 on a Thunderbolt or Mini DisplayPort display or even a VGA display (with an optional Mini DisplayPort-to-VGA adapter.)
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00Z08TZNU/?tag=tonymacx86com-20
On this Amazon page they even show it used with an older MBP laptop via the mini-DP.

619spgv4avL._SL1500_.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 25, 2019
Messages
9
Motherboard
Dell 7010mt
CPU
i7-3770/Q77
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hello fellows,
i am a long time reader of your work and i admire you for your commitment
i just bought an 7010mt with i7-3770 and HD4000 for backup of my aging MacPro 2009.
Yesterday i tried to install Mojave on it. I followed the guide and prepared the Usb disk and boot from it.
At first the installation bar stopped at 80% and computer went to sleep. I could not wake it so switched it off and on again.
Then i start the installation again with option on bios "to not deep sleep" and also with clover option not to sleep.
It started installation again with verbose option and i left it overnight to finish.
This morning the screen showed this:
Any idea where is the problem ?
Thank you
 

Attachments

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
12,897
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Hello fellows,
i am a long time reader of your work and i admire you for your commitment
i just bought an 7010mt with i7-3770 and HD4000 for backup of my aging MacPro 2009.
Yesterday i tried to install Mojave on it. I followed the guide and prepared the Usb disk and boot from it.
At first the installation bar stopped at 80% and computer went to sleep. I could not wake it so switched it off and on again.
Then i start the installation again with option on bios "to not deep sleep" and also with clover option not to sleep.
It started installation again with verbose option and i left it overnight to finish.
This morning the screen showed this:
Any idea where is the problem ?
Thank you
Looks like a graphics problem. How is the monitor connected ? Is it via VGA (15 pin D-Sub) or the DP output ? You'll need a DisplayPort cable when using HD4000. That can be adapted to either HDMI or VGA if need be. Is it a flat screen LED LCD monitor or one of the older CRT tube monitors ? Those can also create a problem.

See: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-install-high-sierra-on-the-dell-optiplex-7010-9010-desktop-pc-revision-ii.251736/#post-1743316
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 25, 2019
Messages
9
Motherboard
Dell 7010mt
CPU
i7-3770/Q77
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Looks like a graphics problem. How is the monitor connected ? Is it via VGA (15 pin D-Sub) or the DP output ? You'll need a DisplayPort cable when using HD4000. That can be adapted to either HDMI or VGA if need be. Is it an flat screen LED LCD monitor or one of the older CRT tube monitors ? Those can also create a problem.

See: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-install-high-sierra-on-the-dell-optiplex-7010-9010-desktop-pc-revision-ii.251736/#post-1743316
Thanks for answer. It is an old LED LCD Monitor that connected through VGA.
It only have VGA, DVI inputs. I will buy an DP-to-VGA adaptor and write back.
I hope it will be enough.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2017
Messages
30
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 9010
CPU
i3-3220
Graphics
GT 710
fwiw, wouldn't a DP to DVI-D cable be better for picture quality (eg. sharper small text) as it is all digital connection, whereas as VGA is 'analogue' and usually results in slightly blurry images?

my 7010 usff with i3-3225 HD4000 works fine with a cheap DP to DVI-D cable wired to old 19" VGA/DVI-D LCD monitor.

Just double check the type of DVI socket on your monitor. As it is an 'LED' monitor, it should be at least 'DVI-D' if not rarer dual 'DVI-I' standard.
DVI-I vs DVI-D
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
377
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GTX 710
Mobile Phone
Android
@trs96 @Sniki Sorry to have wasted peoples time with wifi card issues, I had got in to a mess by trying various cards without clearing previous kexts. The card I have is the AR9280 AR5BHB92 ST mini pci with an adaptor and the only kext that's needed is the AirPortAtheros40 kext. Fresh install and all went perfectly.
 
Last edited:
Top