Contribute
Register

[Guide] Install High Sierra on the HP 8300 Elite / 6300 Pro Desktop PC

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
19,360
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thank you so much for this so helpfull guide, i've follow it from begining to the end and must say nothing is missing.
my 8300 SFF is running like a charm:

A minor problem is that i'm using another cpu (3470 or 3770) and before to sell it i would submit a little request

When it is working so well, why would you want to sell it when you just got it working "like a charm" ?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
19,360
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I am just installing 10.13.3 and Clover looks weird. This is not the first time, happened to me with Unibeast 9.1 and newer: booting from the USB (or SSD with Sierra) after I created the installer following exactly the guide, Clover is missing some icons and labels. I could boot up the installer tho.

Edit 1: the Clover theme is all wrong it is not tonymacx86 like in the video.

Edit 2: No matter how I change the theme (deleting everything else, only tonymacx86 is left), it will always be like this:
View attachment 309181
Have you tried changing the theme back to tmx86 with Clover Configurator ?
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2017
Messages
24
Motherboard
HP 8300 SFF
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
When it is working so well, why would you want to sell it when you just got it working "like a charm" ?

Sorry i meant sell the CPU not the computer ...
in fact i've spent time and money to this build in order to replace a previous Gigabyte GA-B75M that was finaly working better (more powerfull for audio editing) by swaping some hardware from it, SSD, 3570, ram, HDD. And truth is even with a gtx670 it was less noisy compare PSU fan of the Elite 8300 (but i'll put the fan to 5v) ...
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
19,360
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Sorry i meant sell the CPU not the computer ...
in fact i've spent time and money to this build in order to replace a previous Gigabyte GA-B75M that was finaly working better (more powerfull for audio editing) by swaping some hardware from it, SSD, 3570, ram, HDD. And truth is even with a gtx670 it was less noisy compare PSU fan of the Elite 8300 (but i'll put the fan to 5v) ...

It's very easy to run Piker Alpha's script from Terminal and generate a 3570 specific SSDT. All you do is copy and paste the text that tonymacx86 has provided and it will work. Take your time and make sure it is all correct, then test with Intel Power gadget or the AppleIntelInfo kext method that Tony provides.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/quick-guide-to-generate-a-ssdt-for-cpu-power-management.177456/
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2017
Messages
24
Motherboard
HP 8300 SFF
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
It's very easy to run Piker Alpha's script from Terminal and generate a 3570 specific SSDT. All you do is copy and paste the text that tonymacx86 has provided and it will work. Take your time and make sure it is all correct, then test with Intel Power gadget or the AppleIntelInfo kext method that Tony provides.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/quick-guide-to-generate-a-ssdt-for-cpu-power-management.177456/

ok i'll try this, one last question, on your Elite 8300, when using intel gadget, do you see the "turbo" frequency (in case of i5 or i7) ? thanks again
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
19,360
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
ok i'll try this, one last question, on your Elite 8300, when using intel gadget, do you see the "turbo" frequency (in case of i5 or i7) ? thanks again
Use the AppleIntelInfo.kext method for turbo states.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2015
Messages
35
Motherboard
HP 8300 Compaq Elite SFF
CPU
Intel i3 3225
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What are the necessary steps if I am already on Sierra and want to upgrade to High Sierra?, my update got downloaded from App Store.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
19,360
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
What are the necessary steps if I am already on Sierra and want to upgrade to High Sierra?, my update got downloaded from App Store.
Read the standard in place upgrade guide, https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/update-directly-to-macos-high-sierra.232707/
most important to update Clover and Fakesmc. Get the newest version of APFS.efi and place that in /EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI/
on your system drive. The 10.13.2 version is the same as the .3 version. Since you use HD4000 you don't have to worry about all the 10.13.3 Nvidia driver issues. If you have an ssd boot drive determine whether you want APFS or not. See the HP 8300 High Sierra guide for more on that. https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...the-hp-6300-pro-8300-elite-desktop-pc.243272/
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2016
Messages
155
Motherboard
ASRock AB350M
CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB mITX
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Have you tried changing the theme back to tmx86 with Clover Configurator ?

I did it manually with Xcode, but no use. Yesterday I prepared the installer pendrive with the latest official Clover and the RehabMan method (HP laptops, worked perfectly with my 820 G1), avoiding the Unibeast installer, then copying the right kexts, .efi files and config.plist (as Unibeast would have done) to the specific folders, but I was too sleepy to test :D Maybe today.

I have an assumption, correct me if I am wrong: what if the Elite's NVRAM or anything else on the motherboard somehow memorizes the bootloader that was booted first after clearing the CMOS (getting the battery out)?

Today I will check, if the freshly prepared (non-Unibeast) pendrive boots correctly (before clearing CMOS).
1. If not, then I'll clear the CMOS and try again.
2. If it boots properly after clearing the CMOS, then it proves my assumption.

I have no idea, how can Clover boot with a wrong theme, when there is no theme in the theme folder other than tonymacx86. I deleted *every* other folder and .pngs from there, only tonymacx86's left + edited config.plist.

English is not my mother tongue, but I hope it is clear what I want to say :)
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
19,360
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have an assumption, correct me if I am wrong: what if the Elite's NVRAM or anything else on the motherboard somehow memorizes the bootloader that was booted first after clearing the CMOS (getting the battery out)?
I'd guess it is possible but I've never had it happen yet. Instead of removing the battery just press the yellow clear CMOS button on the motherboard. HP thought of everything with these builds. Maybe a complete re-flash of the BIOS would fix the problem ?

Screen Shot 1.jpg
Screen Shot 2.jpg
 
Last edited:
Top