Contribute
Register

[Guide] Install Catalina on the Dell Optiplex 7010 and 9010 Desktop PC

Joined
Sep 16, 2017
Messages
28
Motherboard
GA-G41M-ES2L
CPU
Wolfdale 2.93 C2D E7500
Graphics
Gt 710 2GB
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I want 2 ssd (Catalina and win10) and 1 hard drive for data. The dell 7010 dt have only 3 sata. Can i fit an pcie convert for nvme or sata pcie ssd?
Careful about the SATA port selection. I only got SATA 2 speeds on the white one. I had to use the blue one to get SATA 3 speeds on my SSD.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2019
Messages
17
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300
CPU
i5-3475S
Graphics
HD 4000
It's so easy to clone your system drive these days I really don't know why some people fail to do this. Murphy's Law is still in effect for hacks as much as any other mechanical/electrical device. Things happen, data gets lost, it's just a part of the nature of tech.

I got one Dell Kace M300 arm computer for about $14 and put a rusty 750GB 2.5" hard drive in, installed Debian and time machine on that little old arm machine. Works like a charm.
 
Joined
May 27, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
ASUS
CPU
INTEL I5
Graphics
Radeon
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I just completed me CustomMac install on a Dell 7010 with an I7, 16GB of RAM, and 500 GB SSD. I think I will really enjoy it but why does it still show Clover and take some extra time at boot time? I followed the instruction to make the drive bootable so I was not expecting to Clover again.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
23,330
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I think I will really enjoy it but why does it still show Clover and take some extra time at boot time? I followed the instruction to make the drive bootable so I was not expecting to Clover again.
That's the Clover boot menu. That appears at boot up so you can multiboot with Windows or Linux and select another OS to boot into. You can set the timeout to 0 in your config.plist if you don't want to see the boot menu screen.

Open the config.plist with CC and then toggle the timeout.

Screen_Shot_11.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 11, 2019
Messages
8
Motherboard
7010
CPU
3770
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Upped to .6 with no incident. Music app seems slightly little less terrible. Probably last major update for the last X. :(
How did you update it? Should one just let system update do its job?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
23,330
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
How did you update it? Should one just let system update do its job?
Make sure you've at least got a backup of your EFI folder or a Unibeast drive if there are any issues with the update. Using System Update should work fine.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
23,330
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Would it be possible to move from clover to OC ?
Eventually, not just yet. While you're on Catalina keep using Clover. We've yet to test the Optiplex with Big Sur as it's only in pre public beta stage.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
Messages
2
Motherboard
z390-e
CPU
8700k
Graphics
rx580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have an optiplex 9010 with an AMD rx580 running Catalina, everything is working perfectly, except I can't watch Netflix in safari. It seems its an issue with the iGPU, but I'm not sure. Do you guys have a fix for this? My processor is a 3770 and there is a 3 on the cover. I can't watch appletv+ either
 
Last edited:
Top