Contribute
Register

[Guide] Install Catalina on the Dell Optiplex 7010 and 9010 Desktop PC

Joined
Sep 16, 2017
Messages
28
Motherboard
GA-G41M-ES2L
CPU
Wolfdale 2.93 C2D E7500
Graphics
Gt 710 2GB
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Anyone tried a beta of .6 yet? Does it break anything? My .5 install is quite stable and smooth and I'm guessing .6 is about to drop soon and am nervous about updating. I am also using the BCRMpatchram3 for BT and WIFI and don't want that to break either. I am probably going to setup a APFS container with a test install and test update it.
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2013
Messages
60
Motherboard
Dell XPS 8700
CPU
i7-4770
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just wanted to add that I upgraded my SSD today, only to a 250GB MX500 as I use my Synology for everything. I used CCC it took 3 minutes and 7 seconds to copy/clone. I mounted my EFI partition and copied it over to the new SSD and I was up and running within 5 minutes (typing on it now).

Brilliant bit of software. How far we've moved along in 5/8 years.

Thanks all!
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
23,294
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I used CCC it took 3 minutes and 7 seconds to copy/clone.
It's so easy to clone your system drive these days I really don't know why some people fail to do this. Murphy's Law is still in effect for hacks as much as any other mechanical/electrical device. Things happen, data gets lost, it's just a part of the nature of tech.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 19, 2013
Messages
60
Motherboard
Dell XPS 8700
CPU
i7-4770
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It's so easy to clone your system drive these days I really don't know why some people fail to do this. Murphy's Law is still in effect for hacks as much as any other mechanical/electrical device. Things happen, data gets lost, it's just a part of the nature of tech.

Exactly, I have a back of a back of a back up! Learnt the hard way years a go when younger. Never again. So many memories were lost...
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
65
Motherboard
Dell optiplex 9020 Mt
CPU
i7 4770
Graphics
Hd 4600
I want 2 ssd (Catalina and win10) and 1 hard drive for data. The dell 7010 dt have only 3 sata. Can i fit an pcie convert for nvme or sata pcie ssd?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
23,294
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Can i boot from this disk or i boot for the sata?
You'll need to have Clover installed to the EFI partition of a Sata based drive. So if you use an NVME SSD with an adapter then Clover must be on a different Sata SSD drive. The NvmExpressDXE-64.efi driver must also be installed to the DriversUEFI folder on that EFI partition that Clover is on. Without it the NVME drive won't be recognized.
 

Attachments

  • NvmExpressDxe-64.efi.zip
    17.1 KB · Views: 31
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 16, 2017
Messages
28
Motherboard
GA-G41M-ES2L
CPU
Wolfdale 2.93 C2D E7500
Graphics
Gt 710 2GB
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
You'll need to have Clover installed to the EFI partition of a Sata based drive. So if you use an NVME SSD with an adapter then Clover must be on a different Sata SSD drive. The NvmExpressDXE-64.efi driver must also be installed to the DriversUEFI folder on that EFI partition that Clover is on. Without it the NVME drive won't be recognized.

I am doing this with a SATA 2TB Sammy QVO and a 1TB Rocket Q NVMe. Works great. I put in the x16 x4 port and get around 1300 R/W's.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 16, 2017
Messages
28
Motherboard
GA-G41M-ES2L
CPU
Wolfdale 2.93 C2D E7500
Graphics
Gt 710 2GB
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Anyone tried a beta of .6 yet? Does it break anything? My .5 install is quite stable and smooth and I'm guessing .6 is about to drop soon and am nervous about updating. I am also using the BCRMpatchram3 for BT and WIFI and don't want that to break either. I am probably going to setup a APFS container with a test install and test update it.

Upped to .6 with no incident. Music app seems slightly little less terrible. Probably last major update for the last X. :(
 
Top