Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP ProBook/EliteBook/Zbook using Clover UEFI hotpatch

Joined
Dec 12, 2018
Messages
24
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 840 G5-Clover
CPU
i5-8350U
Graphics
UHD 620 / 1920x1080
Can you guys verify is caps lock diode is working for you? Once I press caps lock, the led stays on until reboot. The function of caps lock itself is working ok. I have this issue on both my hacks.
On mine 840 g5 with Catalina 15.01 working fine.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2014
Messages
13
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
i5-3320M
Graphics
HD 4000
After a while my HP Elitebook 8470p laptop running stability with this guide. Today, after an unexpected restart, Clover screen doesn't display macOS boot options but only window boot options.
How can I fix this?
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2017
Messages
15
Motherboard
HP 840 G3
CPU
i7-6600U
Graphics
Intel HD 520
Dear @RehabMan,

I'm using my Hackint0sh Elitebook for 2 years now and I'm really happy with it.
Right now - Mojave with latest Clover and with updated repositories with KEXTs.

I don't have a problem with connecting my 840 G3 by DisplayPort. But lately I've bought DOCKING STATION (
HP UltraSlim Docking Station 2013 D9Y32AA)

USB ports are working, HP is charging but when I'm connecting my monitor via DisplayPort in Docking station - I have screen flickering and It's trying to display on external screen but It's going on and off.
Does the docking station is not supported?
Maybe I should do something to make It works?

Thank you for your help and great job!
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2019
Messages
21
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
i5-3360M
Graphics
HD 4000, 1600x900
Mobile Phone
iOS
In photo booth the cam is ok but in facetime or in users to chance the photo Black image bit is not a big problem

Thanks
Try to open facetime (or other app) and then open photobooth at the same time to see what happens.
I opened Facetime and got the same thing, a black image. When I opened photobooth, It started to work on both apps.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2015
Messages
25
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 840 G3-N75-Clover
CPU
i5-6300U
Graphics
HD520, 1920×1080
Mobile Phone
iOS
Dear @RehabMan,

I'm using my Hackint0sh Elitebook for 2 years now and I'm really happy with it.
Right now - Mojave with latest Clover and with updated repositories with KEXTs.

I don't have a problem with connecting my 840 G3 by DisplayPort. But lately I've bought DOCKING STATION (
HP UltraSlim Docking Station 2013 D9Y32AA)

USB ports are working, HP is charging but when I'm connecting my monitor via DisplayPort in Docking station - I have screen flickering and It's trying to display on external screen but It's going on and off.
Does the docking station is not supported?
Maybe I should do something to make It works?

Thank you for your help and great job!
I've got the same laptop and the docking station. 2 monitors are connected to the docking station - first one via Display Port and the second one via VGA. Both connected via Display Ports didn't work for me - the second one was mirror of the first one. Also note that I don't close the laptop when I connect it to the docking station.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2019
Messages
16
Motherboard
Probook 450 G3
CPU
i5-6200U
Graphics
HD 520
When i have installed Mojave on Probook 450 G3 after the second install of the apple wizard step (which i must chose the language etc.. ) can't see the screen. See attachment.

I have used the last clover EFI. Videomode set on 64mb How can i solve the problem?

Schermafbeelding 2019-11-05 om 20.42.02.png
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2015
Messages
25
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 840 G3-N75-Clover
CPU
i5-6300U
Graphics
HD520, 1920×1080
Mobile Phone
iOS
Can you guys verify is caps lock diode is working for you? Once I press caps lock, the led stays on until reboot. The function of caps lock itself is working ok. I have this issue on both my hacks.
The caps lock problem was fixed with some updated kext. I don't know which one was that. I will find out on my other hack.

After a while my HP Elitebook 8470p laptop running stability with this guide. Today, after an unexpected restart, Clover screen doesn't display macOS boot options but only window boot options.
How can I fix this?
I think it's caused by Windows as Windows started replacing clover at each boot. More here:

12. Clover Bios setup

I used the rename trick for long time (bootmgfw.efi to bootmgfw-orig.efi and then place CLOVERX64.efi renamed as bootmgfw.efi) but after each windows update I had to again rename it. and recently windows started replacing it at each boot. so I came up with this trick: I copied the CLOVERX64.efi form EFI/Clover/ created a new folder named ubuntu inside EFI folder and placed CLOVERX64.efi in EFI/ubuntu/ then renamed CLOVERX64.efi to grubx64.efi. now Bios think that Grub is installed. and finally in Bios Boot Order move ubuntu to top.
(you have to repeat this process after every Clover Bootloader update)
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2015
Messages
25
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 840 G3-N75-Clover
CPU
i5-6300U
Graphics
HD520, 1920×1080
Mobile Phone
iOS
over 1 hour
I tried to create the usb installer as well and I have the same problem. The only way for me to get into installer is to use my EFI from running hackintosh. :/

edit: found this on a different forum and it supposedly helped, I'll try that tomorrow
add Clover ACPI patch renaming ECDV device to EC; this is absolutely mandatory since Catalina beta #5.
 
Last edited:
Top