Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP ProBook/EliteBook/Zbook using Clover UEFI hotpatch

Joined
Apr 23, 2017
Messages
92
Motherboard
elitebook 2570p/ThinkPad x220/elitebook 840g3
CPU
i7-3520m/i7-2620m/i7-6600U
Graphics
HD 4000/HD 3000/HD 4520
Mobile Phone
Android,
@y010204025

Hi. I can see that we have the same 2570p elite book. Are you currently running Mojave? I'm on 10.14.0 but I have no audio following this guide. Did you do anything extra to enable audio?
Hey, I have given up the elitebook2570p, I am using elitebook840g3, the sound is normal.
I went to applealc to find the layout-id and found that the 2570p layout-id should use 13, instead of the 12 provided by RehabMan. I have modified the aml file. Please overwrite the original file with the aml file I provided. Efi/clover/acpi/patch. You test it, then give me feedback, please also use the latest version of applealc.
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 1, 2019
Messages
13
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
i5-3360M
Graphics
HD 4000
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi there,

I successfully installed Mojave 10.14.5 on my elitebook 8470p.
Was wondering, is there any way to make VGA or DisplayPort outputs to work? I'm trying to use an external display.

Thanks
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
160
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4440s-Clover
CPU
i5-3360M
Graphics
HD 4000, 1366x768
Classic Mac
iMac, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Thanks Krazy-Killa, but I thought I read somewhere to try some guides closest/similar to your hardware but apparently I was wrong to assume.

I have only seen posts planning to buy the same model (dated 2013), no specific guides. Can another clean install revert back the changes? The USB ports were working 'pre-hotpatch'.

I used other guides but it simply didn't work. And yes I have tried all the available layout ids (around 18 of them) for a set of configuration. This guide fixed my audio but after injecting layout-id 6.
Quick searching I was only able to find guides for OS X 10.8 for your specific model, and even those guides don't have battery status functioning. And unfortunately to get proper brightness control and battery status requires very specific DSDT patching to get those functioning. WiFi your best bet is to find one of the recommended ones mentioned in Post #1, but that's as far as I go with this, as again this thread is for the HP ProBook line of laptops and anything outside of that is off-topic to this thread, and also since I have 0 knowledge of the Fujitsu LifeBook laptops.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
160
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4440s-Clover
CPU
i5-3360M
Graphics
HD 4000, 1366x768
Classic Mac
iMac, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hi there,

I successfully installed Mojave 10.14.5 on my elitebook 8470p.
Was wondering, is there any way to make VGA or DisplayPort outputs to work? I'm trying to use an external display.

Thanks
VGA is unsupported, therefore disabled. There are unofficial ways of enabling it, but it breaks HDMI. Same goes with DisplayPort as far as I know.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2016
Messages
24
Motherboard
Asus UX305FA
CPU
Intel Core M 5Y10
Graphics
Intel HD 5300, 1920x1080
Hi there!

I'm trying to install macOS Mojave 10.14.5 on my HP Elitebook 820 G3. Currently it's running Sierra 10.12.6 very well. So Mojave should also work, but currently the USB installer already takes for ever to boot up. I created the Installer according to RehabMans excellent guide using his Clover build and kexts, being:
  • Clover:
    Clover_v2.4k_r4701.RM-4963.ca6cca7c.zip
  • EFI:
    HFSPlus.efi
    HFSPlus.efi
  • Kexts:
    SATA-unsupported.kext from hack-tools-master.zip
    Lilu.kext form Lilu-1.3.6.RELEASE
    FakeSMC.kext from RehabMan-FakeSMC-2018-0915
    USBInjectAll.kext from RehabMan-USBInjectAll-2018-1108
    VoodooPS2Controller.kext from RehabMan-Voodoo-2018-1008
    WhateverGreen.kext from WhatEverGreen-1.2.9.RELEASE
  • Config.plist (removed the DVMT 32MB patch)
    config_HD515_520_530_540.plist
When booting from the USB installer to get past the following screenshot takes for ever:

413797


The last four long lines where added very slowly and more of them will be added when waiting even longer.

I also uploaded my EFI folder with all the kext and config.plist.

I'd appreciate any help on how to get the installer booting!

Thanks for taking the time to read this!

####
Edit: Removed the EFI folder to free the space. Not needed anymore.
 
Last edited:

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
11,787
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-Clover
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi there!

I'm trying to install macOS Mojave 10.14.5 on my HP Elitebook 820 G3. Currently it's running Sierra 10.12.6 very well. So Mojave should also work, but currently the USB installer already takes for ever to boot up. I created the Installer according to RehabMans excellent guide using his Clover build and kexts, being:
  • Clover:
    Clover_v2.4k_r4701.RM-4963.ca6cca7c.zip
  • EFI:
    HFSPlus.efi
    HFSPlus.efi
  • Kexts:
    SATA-unsupported.kext from hack-tools-master.zip
    Lilu.kext form Lilu-1.3.6.RELEASE
    FakeSMC.kext from RehabMan-FakeSMC-2018-0915
    USBInjectAll.kext from RehabMan-USBInjectAll-2018-1108
    VoodooPS2Controller.kext from RehabMan-Voodoo-2018-1008
    WhateverGreen.kext from WhatEverGreen-1.2.9.RELEASE
  • Config.plist (removed the DVMT 32MB patch)
    config_HD515_520_530_540.plist
When booting from the USB installer to get past the following screenshot takes for ever:

View attachment 413797

The last four long lines where added very slowly and more of them will be added when waiting even longer.

I also uploaded my EFI folder with all the kext and config.plist.

I'd appreciate any help on how to get the installer booting!

Thanks for taking the time to read this!
you will need to use latest version of clover via sourceforge
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2016
Messages
24
Motherboard
Asus UX305FA
CPU
Intel Core M 5Y10
Graphics
Intel HD 5300, 1920x1080
Dear Feartech,

thanks for your reply! I followed your suggestion and used the latest version of Clover: Clover_v2.4k_r4972.zip

Now it crashes quite early during the boot process and executes an automatic reboot. Recording a video I've been able to get the last message:
413805


Then the screen goes dark and the notebook reboots.

I'll attach my EFI folder.
Actually RehabMans Clover build did get me further. What can I do?

Thanks!

####
Edit: Removed the Efi-folder. Not needed anymore.
 
Last edited:

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
11,787
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-Clover
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Dear Feartech,

thanks for your reply! I followed your suggestion and used the latest version of Clover: Clover_v2.4k_r4972.zip

Now it crashes quite early during the boot process and executes an automatic reboot. Recording an video I've been able to get the last message:
View attachment 413805

Then the screen goes dark and the notebook reboots.

I'll attach my EFI folder.
Actually RehabMans Clover build did get me further. What can I do?

Thanks!
you seem to be missing AptioMemoryFix (or another osxmemory fix?) in drivers64UEFI folder
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2016
Messages
24
Motherboard
Asus UX305FA
CPU
Intel Core M 5Y10
Graphics
Intel HD 5300, 1920x1080
Thank you Feartech!

You're right I didn't include this efi driver. I misunderstood the guide as this driver was not explicitly mentioned in the list:

For Clover UEFI, run the Clover Installer package:
- if using MBR, select the target of the install to "CLOVER EFI" using "Change Install Location"
- if using GPT, select the target of the install to "install_osx" using "Change Install Location"
- select "Customize" (the default is a legacy install -- we need to change it)
- check "Install for UEFI booting only", "Install Clover in the ESP" will automatically select
- check "BGM" from Themes (the config.plist files I provide use this theme)
- the defaults for Drivers64UEFI are recommended
- most systems will work without DataHubDxe-64.efi, but some may require it


Now that the AptioMemoryFix is included the USB installer did boot up! Thank you so much for pointing this out!

After fighting for hours I can see the installation procedure now! Again thanks!
 
Last edited:
Top