Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP ProBook/EliteBook/Zbook using Clover UEFI hotpatch

Status
Not open for further replies.

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,805
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@RehabMan
here is linein fix file for 4x30s

I see:
Code:
u430:probook.git Admin$ git diff
diff --git a/Resources_ProBook/layout12.plist b/Resources_ProBook/layout12.plist
index 3d34724..f21fd36 100644
--- a/Resources_ProBook/layout12.plist
+++ b/Resources_ProBook/layout12.plist
@@ -33,9 +33,14 @@
                                <integer>0</integer>
                        </dict>
                        <key>LineIn</key>
-                       <dict/>
+                       <dict>
+                               <key>MuteGPIO</key>
+                               <integer>1342242828</integer>
+                       </dict>
                        <key>Mic</key>
                        <dict>
+                               <key>MuteGPIO</key>
+                               <integer>0</integer>
                                <key>SignalProcessing</key>
                                <dict>
                                        <key>SoftwareDSP</key>

So it is just setting MuteGPIO to 0. Seems safe enough. Will check into the beta branch soon.

also key87 mapping not good.
i removed key87 and 103, then i can use all fn key on 4230s.

In what way(s) do key87/key102 not work?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,805
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
additionally, i found solution for brightness problem, if connect ac power adaptor.
this problem is that i can't back brightness with fn+f3 key after minimize brightness(black screen). it appears as averegy 8/10. also shown max brightness lost. sometimes after minimize brightness(black screen), increase brightness(rare case. it means success) max brightness is different compared booted brightness. i checked all DSDT part. but no luck. maybe it's hardware issue. because sometimes it is success. but happen fail case many times.

it's little trick.
00110000 00340052 00730094 00BE00FA 01360172 01C5022F 02B90360 041A050A 060E0710

to

00110001 00340052 00730094 00BE00FA 01360172 01C5022F 02B90360 041A050A 060E0710

This I will have to test on my 4530s and 4540s as both HD3000 and HD4000 use that brightness profile.
I don't see any existing profiles in native AppleBacklight.kext that use that 0001 (although there are some that use 0005, which would be bit 0 set).
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2012
Messages
186
Motherboard
15ZD960-GX3DK
CPU
i3-6100U
Graphics
HD 520
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I see:
Code:
u430:probook.git Admin$ git diff
diff --git a/Resources_ProBook/layout12.plist b/Resources_ProBook/layout12.plist
index 3d34724..f21fd36 100644
--- a/Resources_ProBook/layout12.plist
+++ b/Resources_ProBook/layout12.plist
@@ -33,9 +33,14 @@
                                <integer>0</integer>
                        </dict>
                        <key>LineIn</key>
-                       <dict/>
+                       <dict>
+                               <key>MuteGPIO</key>
+                               <integer>1342242828</integer>
+                       </dict>
                        <key>Mic</key>
                        <dict>
+                               <key>MuteGPIO</key>
+                               <integer>0</integer>
                                <key>SignalProcessing</key>
                                <dict>
                                        <key>SoftwareDSP</key>

So it is just setting MuteGPIO to 0. Seems safe enough. Will check into the beta branch soon.



In what way(s) do key87/key102 not work?

Right. MuteGPIO 0 is safe
I tested key87. I can't use fn key. So I removed key87 info in 4x30s ssdt.
All is working.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2012
Messages
186
Motherboard
15ZD960-GX3DK
CPU
i3-6100U
Graphics
HD 520
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
This I will have to test on my 4530s and 4540s as both HD3000 and HD4000 use that brightness profile.
I don't see any existing profiles in native AppleBacklight.kext that use that 0001 (although there are some that use 0005, which would be bit 0 set).
Yes. There is no 0001 in native applebacklight.
But if 0000, minimum brightness present problem in 4230s. Can't increase brightness. I found this trick before to resolve this issue. I confirmed it on two 4230s and surely checked it.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,805
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Right. MuteGPIO 0 is safe
I tested key87. I can't use fn key. So I removed key87 info in 4x30s ssdt.
All is working.

What do you mean by "can't use fn key"?

Yes. There is no 0001 in native applebacklight.
But if 0000, minimum brightness present problem in 4230s. Can't increase brightness. I found this trick before to resolve this issue. I confirmed it on two 4230s and surely checked it.

When I have time, I will test the 0001 on my 4540s and 4530s to see if it causes any problems.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2012
Messages
186
Motherboard
15ZD960-GX3DK
CPU
i3-6100U
Graphics
HD 520
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Joined
Nov 10, 2011
Messages
1,340
Motherboard
GA-H77N-WIFI F4
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Made a fresh 10.13.1 install on my ProBook 430 G3 (HFS+ install on SSD) today and I'm having problems with keyboard and the pad. It seems the VoodooPS2controller just stops and I lose both the keyboard and the pad. There is no pattern, sometimes it stops when I type the password at the login screen, sometimes when I connect a mouse, sometimes when I disconnect that mouse. Troubleshoot files attached.
 

Attachments

  • ProBook430G3_10.13.1_hfs.zip
    1.9 MB · Views: 91
Joined
Sep 24, 2015
Messages
20
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-H110M-DS2
CPU
i5 6400
Graphics
ASUS RX580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi, updated recently to 10.13.1 and everything seems to work just fine. But recently i keep having random freezes while working and sometimes when the screen turns off from inactivity, and try to log back in it just stays off.. strangely the computer seems to still work with the screen of (eg. spotify keeps playing) and i have to turn off the whole machine. what could cause it?
 

Attachments

  • RehabMan.zip
    9.9 MB · Views: 79
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top