Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP ProBook/EliteBook/Zbook using Clover UEFI hotpatch

Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
15
Motherboard
Hp Probook 4530s
CPU
i7-2760qm
Graphics
HD3000 Low-Res
Mac
MacBook
Mobile Phone
Android
Hey guys,

I recently did an update from 10.13.4 to 10.13.6 on my Probook 4530s i7 2760qm 12GB (clover) and I have gained a few problems after doing the upgrade.

1) I have numerous graphical glitches and freezes, such as lines across the screen as I scroll and all. The worst is that the computer seems to freeze, but the mouse still moves (but doesn't click) and the only thing that can fix it is a hard reset. (had this on 10.13.4 as well, but once in a blue moon).

2.) my boot times after updating (from clover to login screen) have gone up significantly (about 2 min vs about 30 seconds previously).

3.) (just a small annoyance) my battery indicator doesn't switch to "on battery" after being unplugged; instead, it switches to "not charging, AC Power", however, when booted up with only battery power, it shows that it's on battery.

Please let me know what I can do to solve these issues. I know I am running AFPS, but aside from that, I updated my system just as the guide recommends. My problem reporting files have been attached below.
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 1, 2016
Messages
122
Motherboard
H77N
CPU
i7
Graphics
GTX 680
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Hi Rehabman,
a happy and healthy 2019 to all of you!
I'm returning to the problem of getting to the installer screen on my aforementioned G2 450 Probook. As I cannot use the error reporting script for obvious reasons, I would be grateful if you could have a closer look at the screenshots I was trying to get as they are scrolling through very quickly. The second part includes the required EFI folder without themes and with clover doing its F2-F4 thingy in the acpi folder. A helping hand would be awesome!
the screenshots are in reverse order :banghead:
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
17,815
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Rehabman,
a happy and healthy 2019 to all of you!
I'm returning to the problem of getting to the installer screen on my aforementioned G2 450 Probook. As I cannot use the error reporting script for obvious reasons, I would be grateful if you could have a closer look at the screenshots I was trying to get as they are scrolling through very quickly. The second part includes the required EFI folder without themes and with clover doing its F2-F4 thingy in the acpi folder. A helping hand would be awesome!
the screenshots are in reverse order :banghead:
View attachment 377192View attachment 377193View attachment 377195View attachment 377196
try updating your VoodooPS2Controller
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2016
Messages
122
Motherboard
H77N
CPU
i7
Graphics
GTX 680
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
1000 HUGS! - I feel so stupid for that mistake - I can't tell where it sneaked in because I assembled all versions from GitHub - but the installer screen is now shining bright! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! - I hope I can get the job done as it worked out so nicely for 10.12.6. Again - thank you so much!!! And all the best to you guys!
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,949
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey guys,

I recently did an update from 10.13.4 to 10.13.6 on my Probook 4530s i7 2760qm 12GB (clover) and I have gained a few problems after doing the upgrade.

1) I have numerous graphical glitches and freezes, such as lines across the screen as I scroll and all. The worst is that the computer seems to freeze, but the mouse still moves (but doesn't click) and the only thing that can fix it is a hard reset. (had this on 10.13.4 as well, but once in a blue moon).

2.) my boot times after updating (from clover to login screen) have gone up significantly (about 2 min vs about 30 seconds previously).

3.) (just a small annoyance) my battery indicator doesn't switch to "on battery" after being unplugged; instead, it switches to "not charging, AC Power", however, when booted up with only battery power, it shows that it's on battery.

Please let me know what I can do to solve these issues. I know I am running AFPS, but aside from that, I updated my system just as the guide recommends. My problem reporting files have been attached below.
Your config.plist is not up-to-date with respect to the current github.
Maybe other files not up-to-date either.
Always use latest github content.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,949
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello RehabMan I have a hp EliteBook 8470p 8GB DDR3 Intel HD4000 and 500GB HDD when I boot the uefi hackintosh high Sierra installer I get a weird graphical glitch at the apple logo boot I don’t understand what’s going on I’ll send a screen shot later to day plz help me thx.
No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2016
Messages
122
Motherboard
H77N
CPU
i7
Graphics
GTX 680
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey guys - just a quick question concerning battery status (it's NOT apfs but hfs+ in all cases) and hdmi output on 10.13.6. On my own 430 G2 (Broadwell) both things are working so nicely (battery status only) but on other rigs with 4x0s configs (430 G3 and 470 G3 - both Skylakes with HD 520) neither of which work properly. Both battery symbols show 0%. That can't be a coincidence. Hdmi output flickers and denies audio output via TV. But on the very same rig worked flawlessly under 10.12.6.
Thank you guys so much for some help or hints.

[add. note/question: is it normal that during the installation the cmos goes crazy so that bios requires a reset? Setting everything back to defaults and re-establishing the necessary configurations does the trick and it's possible to resume the installation whenever the regular installation process requires a reboot. But strange it is....]

correction: I have to take back that my 430 G2 Broadwell could provide proper hdmi audio output. Battery status IS working. I have tried to understand the FAQ/troubleshooting here: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
but despite the fact that there is an illustration/screenshot for my very Broadwell HP I can't understand it. Please help. If I may comprehend the troubleshooting for the 430 G2 Broadwell I might apply it to the other two as well. EFI folder with with F2/F4 thingy added and themes folder removed.

last question: why does the error reporting script require access to google???
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
15
Motherboard
Hp Probook 4530s
CPU
i7-2760qm
Graphics
HD3000 Low-Res
Mac
MacBook
Mobile Phone
Android
Your config.plist is not up-to-date with respect to the current github.
Maybe other files not up-to-date either.
Always use latest github content.
Hey RehabMan! Thanks so much for your quick replies and help! I updated my config.plist and pretty much completely redid my efi partition but now I am unable to boot into Mac because of a "kernal cache cannot be loaded 0x9" error. I have been playing around, and my old config.plist works perfectly with the new EFI folder but the new config.plist consistently gives the same error. Also, I am able to boot into Mac while using safe mode on the new config.plist.
Could you take a look and help me figure out why my new config.plist doesn't work as it should? I downloaded it directly from the github and even tried running older versions of it but haven't had any luck figuring out a way to make it work. I have attached my EFI folder below.

Thanks, Jigg
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 20, 2015
Messages
13
Motherboard
HP ProBook 650 G2
CPU
i5-6200U
Graphics
HD 520 (1920 x 1080)
Mobile Phone
Android
hello RehabMan

Thak you a lot , now I install my hack using your guid :) :)

my laptop is hp probook 650 g2
i5 6200U intel HD520 256 SSD SanDisk


my problem now is in time boot , my laptop take about 45 sec from pressing the power button until the desktop appears
please if you can help me to slove this issu :)
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2015
Messages
10
Motherboard
DELL XPS 15
CPU
i7-7700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi everybody
Long time i miss forum..
Now I have my hp 430 G5 to hack with Sierra..Is there anyone who have fully functional description of target config.plist That I have to reach?
 
Top