Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP ProBook/EliteBook/Zbook using Clover UEFI hotpatch

Status
Not open for further replies.

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,935
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi RehabMan,

Using your old thread and now this one i have everything working super fine on my Elitebook Folio 9470m.
Thanks for this great guide !

I have triple boot (OSX, Windows and Linux Mint) on the same SSD. Initial OSX was El capitan and always been updating till Sierra 10.12.6 without any problem what so ever. Now, when i tried to update to High Sierra without converting to APFS (using "/Applications/"Install macOS High Sierra.app"/Contents/Resources/startosinstall --converttoapfs NO") the update start but a few minutes later it shows the message :

"macOS could not be installed on your computer"
"This partition map modification would make a windows partition unbootable"

Do you have any clue what could be the problem ?
Any workaround to bypass this ?

Attach output of 'diskutil list' in Terminal.
Also, attach "Problem Reporting" files as per post #1.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2012
Messages
36
Motherboard
Custom / ProBook 4530s
CPU
i7 2600k / i3 2310M
Graphics
GTX 560 Ti / HD 3000
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Color Classic
  3. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi I just updated with this method and I did all the patches the guide told me to, I also checked the common problems post and I have no smooth display brightness, a completely unusable battery status, and I have weird lines on my screen in certain applications. I have updated clover to the latest, I checked my kext versions, the proper kexts are in /L/E and I ran kextcache again for good measure
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2016
Messages
12
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 840 G1-Clover
CPU
i5-4200U
Graphics
HD 4400,1920x1080
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
On dock ? Both ports ?
Hi, Sorry for late response.

I just check again.
With 840 G1 docked, the DP port on dock works. DP port on 840 G1 not work.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2017
Messages
8
Motherboard
HP ProBook 640 G1 (RAM: 16G) Wifi: BCM43225HMB
CPU
i5 4300M (Haswell)
Graphics
Intel HD4600, 1600x900
No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/

Here you go.
Thanks for the effort! Really appreciate! :)

.A.
Capture1.JPG Capture2.JPG Capture3.JPG
 

Attachments

  • CLOVER_HP6460b.zip
    1.7 MB · Views: 59
Joined
Sep 11, 2011
Messages
24
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87-HD3
CPU
Intel Core i5 4670k
Graphics
Gigabyte Gaming 1 GTX970
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
It is part of putting the codec into idle and taking it out of idle (referred to as "D3hot" in the HDA spec).
Unfortunately, that process is not as smooth as it is on real Apple hardware.
thanks for reply
is it possible to disable this feature?
 
Joined
May 16, 2016
Messages
50
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 9010
CPU
Intel Core i5 3470 @3,2Ghz
Graphics
Intel integrated GPU
Hi Rehabman,
i have my 8460p with osx sierra installed with your guide.
I download high sierra and launch from terminal installation with no conversion to APFS removing alle kext from other folder maintaining only fakesmc, ethernet kext
It start correctly without error unitil i receive message unable to install High Sierra and the only choice is reboot (it suggests to do a diagnostic on startup pressing "d" ) .
Any ideas?
IMG_1478.JPG
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Messages
7
Motherboard
ASUS P5QL Pro
CPU
Quad-Core Intel Xeon X5460
Graphics
NVIDIA GTX 1050
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Attach output of 'diskutil list' in Terminal.
Also, attach "Problem Reporting" files as per post #1.

Thanks RehabMan,

Here you have the ZIP with all requested files
 

Attachments

  • ProblemReport.zip
    2.1 MB · Views: 51

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,935
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi I just updated with this method and I did all the patches the guide told me to, I also checked the common problems post and I have no smooth display brightness, a completely unusable battery status, and I have weird lines on my screen in certain applications. I have updated clover to the latest, I checked my kext versions, the proper kexts are in /L/E and I ran kextcache again for good measure

No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top