Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP ProBook/EliteBook/Zbook using Clover UEFI hotpatch

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 28, 2016
Messages
121
Motherboard
ASRock B365M Pro4
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Random question:

Why do you use CodecCommander instead of AppleALC which can use native AppleHDA ?

Just asking for curiosity :D
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,968
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Random question:

Why do you use CodecCommander instead of AppleALC which can use native AppleHDA ?

Just asking for curiosity :D

We are using "patched" AppleHDA.
It is just as native as patching AppleHDA with AppleALC (no such thing as native AppleHDA on hacks... always requires patching).

I think you're just confused as to how AppleALC works (it actually is still patching AppleHDA).

For the future, I will look at using AppleALC (it may help with intermittent disappearing audio), but only after I have time to integrate the required codec data and test.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2012
Messages
871
Motherboard
HP EliteBook_8x0G1
CPU
i7-4600U
Graphics
HD 4400, 1366 x 768
Compatible List - Wireless WIFI Bluetooth BT / half-mini PCIe, and Elitebook G1 / September 2018

Hi

I have read the old and updated guides, some questions for a stable 10.11.x or 10.13.x with HFS+ only.

For other laptops (including Elitebook?) why is the AR5B195 not recommended? It's quick and easy for me to get at low cost locally. Sorry if its been answered in other posts.
What works?
What doesn't work?


BCM94360HMB/AzureWave AW-CB160H
- I will skip this because requires installing extra antenna cable in the screen monitor unit, teardown rebuild process looks complicated
- is the actual wifi speeds truly that fast? maybe future upgrade option.

BCM94352 HMB/AzureWave AW-CE123H supports Airport and BT4LE (some sellers listings online say this card not compatible with HP and lenovo!?)

BCM943224 HMB supports Airport and BT3

(edit - added 2 to list below)

AR5B195 (not recommended), WIFI+BT

BCM43225HMB / BCM4352HMB (better OS X feature support)
BCM943225HMB and BCM43225HMB same or completely different?


Off topic.
If ram is increased from 4gb to 8gb after install and regular daily use 10.11.x or 10.13.x, is a fresh install recommeded ? (backup/restore affected? - Time Machine)

Thank you everyone





    • Half mini: BCM94360HMB/AzureWave AW-CB160H - native WiFi/ac and BT4LE



    • Half mini: BCM94352 HMB/AzureWave AW-CE123H - supports WiFi/ac and BT4LE



    • Half mini: BCM943224 HMB - native WiFi and BT3


From #1

[Guide] Airport - PCIe Half Mini v2

WiFi + BT



    • BCM94352 HMB/AzureWave AW-CE123H supports Airport and BT4LE
    • BCM943224 HMB supports Airport and BT3




And

Compatible WiFi
Here is the list of recommended compatible wifi cards:
...
- Other laptop:
WIFI+BT: AR5B195 (not recommended),

Broadcom 43225HMB/4352HMB (better OS X feature support)


Further information regarding OS X compatible WiFi is in the FAQ: http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capita...faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.html

The patch provided for 5ghz (BCM94352HMB) is specific to US/FCC (North America). If you reside in another part of the world, the patch (by @the-darkvoid) must be customized for your country code. Read here: http://www.tonymacx86.com/network/104850-guide-airport-pcie-half-mini-v2.html

For those laptops with half-mini PCIe, BCM94360HMB is also a good option, but you will likely need to route new/additional antennas as this card uses (3) smaller coax connectors than most half-mini PCIe WiFi cards. The advantage is that it is recognized natively and no 5ghz patch is needed (AirPort branding still provided by FakePCIID).




 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,968
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
For other laptops (including Elitebook?) why is the AR5B195 not recommended?
More complete functionality with Broadcom.
And AR5B195 has no 5ghz radio, so is slow.

If ram is increased from 4gb to 8gb after install and regular daily use 10.11.x or 10.13.x, is a fresh install recommeded ?
No need for a re-install.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
8
Motherboard
HP8300
CPU
i7 3.09Ghz
Graphics
Intel 4000
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey Rehabman

i have this coming when i peform the ssdtPRGen.sh

gDataPath: /Users/probook/Library/ssdtPRGen/Data
System information: Mac OS X 10.13.6 (17G65)
Brandstring 'Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2670QM CPU @ 2.20GHz'

Scope (\_PR_) {222 bytes} with ACPI Processor declarations found in the DSDT (ACPI 1.0 compliant)
Generating ssdt.dsl for a 'MacBookPro8,2' with board-id [Mac-94245A3940C91C80]
Sandy Bridge Core i7-2670QM processor [0x206A7] setup [0x0703]
With a maximum TDP of 45 Watt, as specified by Intel
Number logical CPU's: 8 (Core Frequency: 2200 MHz)
Number of Turbo States: 9 (2300-3100 MHz)
Number of P-States: 24 (800-3100 MHz)
Adjusting C-States for detected (mobile) processor
Injected C-States for CPU0 (C1,C3,C6,C7)
Warning: 'cpu-type' may be set improperly (0x0703 instead of 0x0603)



  1. the bit above, warning, is this a big issue for my laptop...i have upgraded the cpu and it all seems to work ok its just i get this warning and wanted your opinion.
  2. every now and then get strange lines on my screen and also laptop freezes and need to restart it to work again.
  3. can you check my data to see if i have done it all correctly.

any help much appreciated.

Thank You very much.
 

Attachments

  • debug_17933.zip
    2 MB · Views: 48
Joined
Sep 18, 2012
Messages
871
Motherboard
HP EliteBook_8x0G1
CPU
i7-4600U
Graphics
HD 4400, 1366 x 768
Thanks

no 5ghz is ok for now. later can swap in the broadcom





More complete functionality with Broadcom.
And AR5B195 has no 5ghz radio, so is slow.


No need for a re-install.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,968
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Warning: 'cpu-type' may be set improperly (0x0703 instead of 0x0603)

Ignore it.

any help much appreciated.

Your config.plist is corrupt.
Read post #1, "Final config.plist". Make sure you only edit with Xcode or PlistEdit Pro.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
8
Motherboard
HP8300
CPU
i7 3.09Ghz
Graphics
Intel 4000
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey RehabMan are you able to have a look at my final config file....

usually i used text editor but now have downloaded a fresh copy from your site and used PlistEdit and configured my smbios...

attached is my configlist.

Thank You....
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    21.9 KB · Views: 136

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,968
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey RehabMan are you able to have a look at my final config file....

usually i used text editor but now have downloaded a fresh copy from your site and used PlistEdit and configured my smbios...

attached is my configlist.

Thank You....

This config.plist is not corrupt.

You should never use a text editor with plists, unless you plan to very careful, and check them by using "plutil -lint" or by opening in Xcode or PlistEdit Pro to be certain you didn't damage the file syntax.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2016
Messages
121
Motherboard
ASRock B365M Pro4
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I think that my new battery is bad: Now it turned off at 40 % and macOS says that it has 2700 mAh capacity.

Turned on showed 0 % , after 2 minutes unplugged the charger shows 81 %,plugged back in shows 48 % and charging.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top