Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP ProBook/EliteBook/Zbook using Clover UEFI hotpatch

Status
Not open for further replies.

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,827
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
When I substitute in config_4x0s_G5_Kabylake-R.plist I get a hang on boot. In verbose mode the graphics are illegible, so I can't tell what's causing it.

You will need to attach full PR files (including verbose boot photo).
If you need to boot with USB setup, do so (so you can attach output from gen_debug.sh).

Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.

Check your BIOS settings to be sure they conform to guidance in post #1.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
20
Motherboard
HP Probook 430 G5 (Clover)
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620 1366 x 768
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I just noticed that the config.plist I was using (config_4x0s_G5_Kabylake-R.plist) doesn't match my model number exactly (i.e. I have 430 not 430s). Is there a more appropriate one for me to use?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,827
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just noticed that the config.plist I was using (config_4x0s_G5_Kabylake-R.plist) doesn't match my model number exactly (i.e. I have 430 not 430s). Is there a more appropriate one for me to use?

It is the correct plist for the hardware in your profile.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
20
Motherboard
HP Probook 430 G5 (Clover)
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620 1366 x 768
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanks Rehabman - here's the output of gen_debug.sh. Also (for what it's worth!) a screenshot of a verbose mode boot (the scrambled text), and an image showing the boot during normal mode before the hang (i.e. offset Apple logo with distorted progress bar).
 

Attachments

  • debug_18002.zip
    2.4 MB · Views: 54
  • 20180906_171824.jpg
    20180906_171824.jpg
    4.7 MB · Views: 51
  • 20180906_172040.jpg
    20180906_172040.jpg
    3.6 MB · Views: 78

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,827
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Upon rechecking my BIOS settings, I had the video memory set to 32Mb, rather than 64Mb. Working great now - thanks Rehabman.

Yes,... 32mb would be guaranteed fail.
Always important to follow instructions carefully.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2016
Messages
121
Motherboard
ASRock B365M Pro4
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
ProBook 4540s has whitelist ? I want to replace the internal Wi-Fi card (Intel 7260 which seems to be working okay under Windows) but I don't really know what should I buy. In the 10-20 dollar range.

I was thinking about BCM94352HMB, what do you say ?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
72
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4540s- F.60-Clover
CPU
i3-3110M
Graphics
HD4000, 1920x1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ProBook 4540s has whitelist ? I want to replace the internal Wi-Fi card (Intel 7260 which seems to be working okay under Windows) but I don't really know what should I buy. In the 10-20 dollar range.

I was thinking about BCM94352HMB, what do you say ?

Yes, It will work 100%. I am using it with my ProBook 4540s. The only thing not working is the Continuity/ Handsoff. I did not try to fix. It didn't matter for me.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2017
Messages
92
Motherboard
Ignore Me
CPU
I'm Ignoring
Graphics
Forum Rules !!!!!
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You might try treating it as 8x0 G4 (similar hardware and seems same audio codec).
Hi Rehabman!; Use 8X0G4 file support according to your suggestions; already available, but there are still some problems I hope to get help
1. The touchpad is recognized but not usable;
2. Sound is normal, inserting headphones is invalid..
3. can not sleep,
4. Thunder 3 interface is not recognized, I don't know if it can be used。
 

Attachments

  • debug_14690.zip
    2.2 MB · Views: 66
  • elitebook830-g5.ioreg
    17.4 MB · Views: 58
Joined
Jul 28, 2016
Messages
121
Motherboard
ASRock B365M Pro4
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Yes, It will work 100%. I am using it with my ProBook 4540s. The only thing not working is the Continuity/ Handsoff. I did not try to fix. It didn't matter for me.

Thanks ! By the way do you know why ALT is Command on macOS ? I think that Windows key should be the command key.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top