Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP ProBook/EliteBook/Zbook using Clover UEFI hotpatch (10.11)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 24, 2016
Messages
28
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4540s (Clover)
CPU
Intel Core i5-3210M Ivy Bridge
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4000 (1366x768)
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
The correct patches are already present in the files provided by the guide.
Problem is you didn't follow the guide.
Your problem reporting files are incomplete, but just from ioreg, I can see your ACPI/patched content is wrong as is your config.plist.

Read post #1, "Post Installation" onward.
Follow as written.

One more thing to start all over again. What is the plist file for my laptop?

This is the command I've been using:
cd ~/Projects/probook.git
cp ./config/config_4x40s.plist /Volumes/EFI/EFI/Clover/config.plist

Is this the correct file I have to use? According to my laptop HP Probook 4540s
config_4x40s.plist

Thanks again!
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,827
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
One more thing to start all over again. What is the plist file for my laptop?

This is the command I've been using:
cd ~/Projects/probook.git
cp ./config/config_4x40s.plist /Volumes/EFI/EFI/Clover/config.plist

Is this the correct file I have to use? According to my laptop HP Probook 4540s
config_4x40s.plist

Thanks again!

Yes, of course.
You have 4540s. Matches perfectly with 4x40s.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2016
Messages
28
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4540s (Clover)
CPU
Intel Core i5-3210M Ivy Bridge
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4000 (1366x768)
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Yes, of course.
You have 4540s. Matches perfectly with 4x40s.

Excellent. I re-installed everything. I fixed the booting problem after installing Clover v2.3k_r3330. Not sure why Clover v2.4k_r4184 did not worked.

I have now battery meter working, but I do not have audio. I read the part where it says:

Audio: After installing new/updated kexts or after the initial installation, you may lose audio.

To fix:
- reboot without caches (hit space at Clover, select without caches)
- rebuild cache

I captured the options after hitting space in Clover boot screen, and I could not see any part "without caches".

Please help

Thanks again!
 

Attachments

  • 20170904_183440.jpg
    20170904_183440.jpg
    202.2 KB · Views: 81
  • 20170904_183453.jpg
    20170904_183453.jpg
    204.7 KB · Views: 85

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,827
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Excellent. I re-installed everything. I fixed the booting problem after installing Clover v2.3k_r3330. Not sure why Clover v2.4k_r4184 did not worked.

Later versions of Clover working just fine here.
You probably made some other mistake.

I have now battery meter working, but I do not have audio. I read the part where it says:

Audio: After installing new/updated kexts or after the initial installation, you may lose audio.

To fix:
- reboot without caches (hit space at Clover, select without caches)
- rebuild cache

I captured the options after hitting space in Clover boot screen, and I could not see any part "without caches".

Please help

Thanks again!

Boot without caches is available by specifying the "-f" kernel flag in Clover options.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2016
Messages
28
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4540s (Clover)
CPU
Intel Core i5-3210M Ivy Bridge
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4000 (1366x768)
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Later versions of Clover working just fine here.
You probably made some other mistake.

Boot without caches is available by specifying the "-f" kernel flag in Clover options.

Finally, everything is working like before (when I had El Capitan). I do not know what else to say, but Thanks. You've been very patient, and I am very grateful. I hope my issues help someone else if they have the same problem and find these questions useful.

You respond very quickly to anyone, even if it's weekend or holiday, or if the questions are silly or stupid sometimes.

Thank you for your time. I really appreciate it!
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,827
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Finally, everything is working like before (when I had El Capitan). I do not know what else to say, but Thanks. You've been very patient, and I am very grateful. I hope my issues help someone else if they have the same problem and find these questions useful.

You respond very quickly to anyone, even if it's weekend or holiday, or if the questions are silly or stupid sometimes.

Thank you for your time. I really appreciate it!

Are you up and running with the latest Clover?
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2013
Messages
33
Motherboard
ASUS / P8P67 EVO rev3 (Clover)
CPU
i7-2600k
Graphics
960 GXT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The necessary whitelist patch is already present in the provided config.plist files.
Read post #1, "Problem Reporting".

Thanks for the response.
I updated the compressed files with all mentioned on "Problem Reporting" in post #1.
My config.plist on CLOVER comes from your repository, I used config_8x60p.plist for Elitebook 8560p. I saw that the whitelist patch is preset, this is because I posted my question, I'm lost with what problem I have or what fix I miss.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,827
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the response.
I updated the compressed files with all mentioned on "Problem Reporting" in post #1.
My config.plist on CLOVER comes from your repository, I used config_8x60p.plist for Elitebook 8560p. I saw that the whitelist patch is preset, this is because I posted my question, I'm lost with what problem I have or what fix I miss.

No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read post #1, "Problem Reporting".
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2011
Messages
16
Motherboard
Dell Precision 7730-Clover
CPU
E-2186M
Graphics
P3200 + UHD P630, 1920x1080
Hi guys, I'm experiencing a problem with an OS X (10.11.6 El Capitan) installation on a HP 2570p notebook, I've followed the RehabMan's guide (https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...book-using-clover-uefi-hotpatch-10-11.189416/) verbatim (or so I think) now I have a mostly fully functional hackintosh :) (thank you RehabMan and Hackintosh community!)


However there is a small issue that I've encountered, whenever I insert an USB drive (USB key, USB hard drive) to any USB 3.0 port on my notebook (this HP has 2 USB 3.0 and 1 USB 2.0 ports) OS X tells me (trough a notification on the top right area of the screen) : "USB Device needs Power" and if I look at the /private/var/log/system.log file trough Console.app I see this: "Sep 4 20:32:39 HP kernel[0]: 010511.333499 DataTraveler 3.0@1a120000: IOUSBHostDevice::setConfigurationGated: 300mA of bus current is not available" or similar messages with different names according to the manufacturer/model of the USB device (Lexar, SanDisk etc..)


I've also tried using the USBHubPowerFix kext by mkhon (https://github.com/mkhon/USBHubPowerFix) but even though I get the "kUSBConfigurationCurrentOverride" entry in ioreg output it seems that it isn't solving my problem..


The issue doesn't (always) happen with the single USB 2.0 port ..


Another strange thing is that if I insert an USB device to a USB 3.0 port before powering on the laptop the device is detected and mounted, on the contrary if I connect it after the system booted then it isn't recognised (not even in system.log) :-/


I've attached a compressed archive (ZIP) with the "Problem Reporting" requested files

EDIT:

I've edited the original config.plist because I like more the 1366x768 display resolution even If the Apple logo loading screen looks a bit garbled

I've also another minor issue:
I'm currently using an Apple Magic Keyboard 2 (US layout, Bluetooth) in combination with this Hack, it works really well with the exception of an error that appears whenever I resume from sleep the laptop, OS X says: "Bluetooth Not Available" on the menu bar and whenever I try to bring back the Bluetooth with the "Turn Bluetooth On" button on the Bluetooth pref pane, the UI seems to get stuck and it won't turn back on.

I've swapped the original WiFi/BT combo NIC (Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205) with a new AC/BT4.0 miniPCIe card (an AzureWave AW-CE123H based on Broadcom BCM94352HMB chipset)
 

Attachments

  • Problem-Reporting.zip
    2 MB · Views: 64
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,827
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi guys, I'm experiencing a problem with an OS X (10.11.6 El Capitan) installation on a HP 2570p notebook, I've followed the RehabMan's guide (https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...book-using-clover-uefi-hotpatch-10-11.189416/) verbatim (or so I think) now I have a mostly fully functional hackintosh :) (thank you RehabMan and Hackintosh community!)


However there is a small issue that I've encountered, whenever I insert an USB drive (USB key, USB hard drive) to any USB 3.0 port on my notebook (this HP has 2 USB 3.0 and 1 USB 2.0 ports) OS X tells me (trough a notification on the top right area of the screen) : "USB Device needs Power" and if I look at the /private/var/log/system.log file trough Console.app I see this: "Sep 4 20:32:39 HP kernel[0]: 010511.333499 DataTraveler 3.0@1a120000: IOUSBHostDevice::setConfigurationGated: 300mA of bus current is not available" or similar messages with different names according to the manufacturer/model of the USB device (Lexar, SanDisk etc..)


I've also tried using the USBHubPowerFix kext by mkhon (https://github.com/mkhon/USBHubPowerFix) but even though I get the "kUSBConfigurationCurrentOverride" entry in ioreg output it seems that it isn't solving my problem..


The issue doesn't (always) happen with the single USB 2.0 port ..


Another strange thing is that if I insert an USB device to a USB 3.0 port before powering on the laptop the device is detected and mounted, on the contrary if I connect it after the system booted then it isn't recognised (not even in system.log) :-/


I've attached a compressed archive (ZIP) with the "Problem Reporting" requested files

EDIT:

I've edited the original config.plist because I like more the 1366x768 display resolution even If the Apple logo loading screen looks a bit garbled

Your ioreg shows no USB storage devices plugged in.
It also shows Android File Transfer hooking your USB ports. See FAQ:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/

USB3 devices don't connect to a hub (they connect directly to XHC), so USBHubPowerFix is nonsense in this scenario.

I have no issue with my USB3 storage devices here and my 4540s.
It could be your specific device needs more power than mine.
You might try increasing the power properties (refer to SSDT-XHC.asl).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top