Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP ProBook/EliteBook/Zbook using Clover UEFI hotpatch (10.11)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 27, 2012
Messages
26
Those are the XML that is already part of the guide...
To make sure I understood it correct:
1. Find .xml's suitable for your audio chip.
2. Edit the info.plist inside AppleHDA.kext with the XML data. Rebuild kext caches.
3. Try, goto 1 if the it doesn't work.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2015
Messages
174
Motherboard
HP EliteBook 850 G5
CPU
i5-8350U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi.
I finaly make almost everything to work except external monitor on DP port.
Every time when I plug cable to my DP laptop freezes and instantly reboot itself.

Can be this fixed?
All my info are attached on post #4631

Thanks.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Messages
104
Motherboard
probook 4540s
CPU
i7
Graphics
intel 4000
i want to connect my probook to external IPS monitor (1080p) thru HDMI ..do i need to patch to 4x30s_ hires even though im using low resolution patch (1366x768) on my default probook screen.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,935
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
To make sure I understood it correct:
1. Find .xml's suitable for your audio chip.
2. Edit the info.plist inside AppleHDA.kext with the XML data. Rebuild kext caches.
3. Try, goto 1 if the it doesn't work.

You should probably read about AppleHDA patching so you understand better.

This guide uses:
- CodeCommander.kext and ACPI to set pinconfigs (most guides patch Info.plist of AppleHDAHardwareConfigDriver.kext)
- Clover patch for .xml.zlib->zml.zlib
- Clover patches for target codec vs. patch codec
- Platforms and layout *.zml.zlib placed directly in AppleHDA.kext/Contents/Resources
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,935
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi.
I finaly make almost everything to work except external monitor on DP port.
Every time when I plug cable to my DP laptop freezes and instantly reboot itself.

Can be this fixed?
All my info are attached on post #4631

Thanks.

I have ProBook 6x0 G1 as having DP..., therefore no patches for the framebuffer.
Please verify it does have a DP port.
Also, will need up-to-date "Problem Reporting" files.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,935
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
i want to connect my probook to external IPS monitor (1080p) thru HDMI ..do i need to patch to 4x30s_ hires even though im using low resolution patch (1366x768) on my default probook screen.

External monitor resolution is irrelevant.
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2016
Messages
32
Motherboard
Hp EliteBook 8460p (Clover)
CPU
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2520M CPU @ 2.50GHz / Mobile Intel QM67 Express
Graphics
Intel HD3000 , 1366x768
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
External monitor resolution is irrelevant.
I am also posting here ...
I have Elitebook 8460p i have used clover in bootable usb to install Sierra during Post Install I have also installed clover in my Hard Drive but when I Boot from hard drive no Clover screen appears instead Message comes to me please install an operating system in your hard drive.
But when I plug in USB clover screen appears and I can now easily boot into Sierra. I can't keep the USB plugged in forever please help especially rehab man because you are behind all the installation of Sierra on elitebooks / and I have followed your guidethroughout my installation.
There is also a weird situation when I plug my USB in 2.0 port I can see still Install Sierra option with Boot into Sierra and recovery in clover menu but when I plug my USB in 3.0 port I can see the clover menu with only 2 option i.e boot into Sierra and Recovery and also theme of clover menu this theme I installed in clover partition of my Hard Drive.
Is there any relation wth my wrong config.plist ? Please provide me a right one.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,935
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am also posting here ...
I have Elitebook 8460p i have used clover in bootable usb to install Sierra during Post Install I have also installed clover in my Hard Drive but when I Boot from hard drive no Clover screen appears instead Message comes to me please install an operating system in your hard drive.
But when I plug in USB clover screen appears and I can now easily boot into Sierra. I can't keep the USB plugged in forever please help especially rehab man because you are behind all the installation of Sierra on elitebooks / and I have followed your guidethroughout my installation.

Did you follow the guide in post #1?
Did you enable UEFI in BIOS?
Did you do all post-install instructions as per post #1?
If so, boot using USB and attach EFI/Clover from HDD.

There is also a weird situation when I plug my USB in 2.0 port I can see still Install Sierra option with Boot into Sierra and recovery in clover menu but when I plug my USB in 3.0 port I can see the clover menu with only 2 option i.e boot into Sierra and Recovery and also theme of clover menu this theme I installed in clover partition of my Hard Drive.
Is there any relation wth my wrong config.plist ? Please provide me a right one.

Does not sound weird...
As expected, since your laptop cannot boot from a USB3 device, you get boot from EFI/Clover from HDD.
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2016
Messages
32
Motherboard
Hp EliteBook 8460p (Clover)
CPU
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2520M CPU @ 2.50GHz / Mobile Intel QM67 Express
Graphics
Intel HD3000 , 1366x768
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Yes I have followed ?
I have used legacy instead and I have installed clover also as legacy.
all the post install I have done with same method everything working ok except wifi.
But I can't keep USB plugged in for ever ?
Did you follow the guide in post #1?
Did you enable UEFI in BIOS?
Did you do all post-install instructions as per post #1?
If so, boot using USB and attach EFI/Clover from HDD.



Does not sound weird...
As expected, since your laptop cannot boot from a USB3 device, you get boot from EFI/Clover from HDD.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,935
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes I have followed ?
I have used legacy instead and I have installed clover also as legacy.
all the post install I have done with same method everything working ok except wifi.
But I can't keep USB plugged in for ever ?

This guide uses UEFI, not legacy. Follow the guide as written.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top