Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP ProBook/EliteBook/Zbook using Clover UEFI hotpatch (10.11)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
6
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 840 G1
CPU
i5-4300U
Graphics
HD4400
It does not wake if I disable "Wake on LID open" in BIOS and does not sleep when I close the lid either.

Unfortunately, I need VirtualBox and Windows 7 for two specific programs. I had this problem before installing VirtualBox, though.

I am working on installing the RMDT and _LID but I am unable to compile. I keep getting syntax error, unexpected ',' or ')'. I am using "iasl -da -dl -fe refs.txt *.aml" to decompile (refs.txt made and in directory) and then opening the DSDT.dsl file in MaciASL. Without adding any patches, I compile and get the errors. There were only a few syn patches that made changes and none of them seemed applicable. I have attached the offending code and it begins at line 4371. Please advise. Thanks.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot of MaciASL Errors.jpg
    Screen Shot of MaciASL Errors.jpg
    54.5 KB · Views: 78
  • DSDT.dsl Code with Errors.txt
    918 bytes · Views: 289
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,703
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
It does not wake if I disable "Wake on LID open" in BIOS and does not sleep when I close the lid either.

Unfortunately, I need VirtualBox and Windows 7 for two specific programs. I had this problem before installing VirtualBox, though.

I am working on installing the RMDT and _LID but I am unable to compile. I keep getting syntax error, unexpected ',' or ')'. I am using "iasl -da -dl -fe refs.txt *.aml" to decompile (refs.txt made and in directory) and then opening the DSDT.dsl file in MaciASL. Without adding any patches, I compile and get the errors. There were only a few syn patches that made changes and none of them seemed applicable. I have attached the offending code and it begins at line 4371. Please advise. Thanks.

Looks like its not compiled properly. Use F4 at Clover. aml files will be in EFI/Clover/ACPI/origin.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
6
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 840 G1
CPU
i5-4300U
Graphics
HD4400
Ok, got it compiled correctly and installed debugging and _LID. The output of the console is attached. I tried "Poll for LID changes" patch and it just caused the _LID status to report non-stop in console. The "Remove _PRW from LID" patch did not find anything to change so I was unable to install it. Is there something in the patch I can modify to try it? Where can I go from here? Thanks.
 

Attachments

  • Debug _LID Console Results.txt
    1.1 KB · Views: 70

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,466
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It does not wake if I disable "Wake on LID open" in BIOS and does not sleep when I close the lid either.

I don't see where you provided the output from 'pmset -g assertions'...

Unfortunately, I need VirtualBox and Windows 7 for two specific programs. I had this problem before installing VirtualBox, though.

Remove it while troubleshooting.

I am working on installing the RMDT and _LID but I am unable to compile.

Are you using the correct tools? ACPI 6.1?

Ok, got it compiled correctly and installed debugging and _LID. The output of the console is attached. I tried "Poll for LID changes" patch and it just caused the _LID status to report non-stop in console. The "Remove _PRW from LID" patch did not find anything to change so I was unable to install it. Is there something in the patch I can modify to try it? Where can I go from here? Thanks.

_LID is working.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
6
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 840 G1
CPU
i5-4300U
Graphics
HD4400
I have uninstalled VirtualBox with VB kexts removed.

I am using ACPI 6.1. Everything compiled correctly, I believe. I made the mistake of trying to decompile and compile the DSDT by itself without the other SSDTs in the folder. Once I added all of the SSDTs to the folder, it worked.

I don't see where you provided the output from 'pmset -g assertions'...

I have included the output from 'pmset -g assertions' in the attached text file. There are two different versions as sometimes 'InternalPreventDisplaySleep' is set to 1 and sometimes 0. Not sure what that is, but it does not seem to keep it from sleeping if I use Apple>Sleep or press the power button.
 

Attachments

  • pmset -g assertions output.txt
    2 KB · Views: 124
Joined
Aug 27, 2016
Messages
7
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4740s / Intel HM76 chipset / 8 GB RAM / 320 GB HDD / WIFI: Atheros AR5BHB92
CPU
i3-2370M
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 3000 / AMD Radeon HD 7650M
Hallo everyone,

RehabMan, thanks for this guide! :)

I'm very new to hackintosh, never did it or know someone who did. I did read this guide, but I want to be 100% sure that I can make use of it. My wifi wasn't compatible, so I've bought Atheros AR5BHB92 (HP 518437-002) which should be supported.

Is this guide the easiest way to install Mac on my ProBook?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,466
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have uninstalled VirtualBox with VB kexts removed.

I am using ACPI 6.1. Everything compiled correctly, I believe. I made the mistake of trying to decompile and compile the DSDT by itself without the other SSDTs in the folder. Once I added all of the SSDTs to the folder, it worked.



I have included the output from 'pmset -g assertions' in the attached text file. There are two different versions as sometimes 'InternalPreventDisplaySleep' is set to 1 and sometimes 0. Not sure what that is, but it does not seem to keep it from sleeping if I use Apple>Sleep or press the power button.

You will need to check system.log to see why your laptop is not sleeping with the LID closed. Be patient though. Keep in mind your laptop will sleep when Apple wants it to and not before. But if it doesn't sleep until after 5 mins, then there is probably something else wrong.

Test it only after you see all sleep assertions clear.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,466
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hallo everyone,

RehabMan, thanks for this guide! :)

I'm very new to hackintosh, never did it or know someone who did. I did read this guide, but I want to be 100% sure that I can make use of it. My wifi wasn't compatible, so I've bought Atheros AR5BHB92 (HP 518437-002) which should be supported.

Is this guide the easiest way to install Mac on my ProBook?

Your profile does not indicate enough hardware details to answer your question regarding WiFi. But please note that post #1 contains clear details on compatible WiFi.

Please fill out your profile as requested in the main guide.

Here is a reminder of what is written:

Please provide complete details in your profile/signature
(Profile/Settings link in upper right corner of this site)

Mobo: manufacturer/model + bootloader(Clover/Chameleon/Chimera)
CPU: detailed CPU model + motherboard chipset
Graphics: all graphics devices + laptop internal screen resolution

For example, typical Ivy laptop:
Mobo: HP ProBook 4540s (Clover)
CPU: i5-3320m/HM76
Graphics: HD4000, 1366x768

Use CPU-Z on Windows to find CPU (Core iX-xxx) and motherboard chipset (HMxx), and graphics capabilities. For a laptop, these details are important and affect critical installation procedures.

Note: When specifying your bootloader, if using Clover legacy, please be sure to specify "Clover legacy"). Specifying "Clover" will be assumed as "Clover UEFI"
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2016
Messages
7
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4740s / Intel HM76 chipset / 8 GB RAM / 320 GB HDD / WIFI: Atheros AR5BHB92
CPU
i3-2370M
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 3000 / AMD Radeon HD 7650M
Your profile does not indicate enough hardware details to answer your question regarding WiFi. But please note that post #1 contains clear details on compatible WiFi.

Please fill out your profile as requested in the main guide.

Here is a reminder of what is written:

Please provide complete details in your profile/signature
(Profile/Settings link in upper right corner of this site)

Mobo: manufacturer/model + bootloader(Clover/Chameleon/Chimera)
CPU: detailed CPU model + motherboard chipset
Graphics: all graphics devices + laptop internal screen resolution

For example, typical Ivy laptop:
Mobo: HP ProBook 4540s (Clover)
CPU: i5-3320m/HM76
Graphics: HD4000, 1366x768

Use CPU-Z on Windows to find CPU (Core iX-xxx) and motherboard chipset (HMxx), and graphics capabilities. For a laptop, these details are important and affect critical installation procedures.

Note: When specifying your bootloader, if using Clover legacy, please be sure to specify "Clover legacy"). Specifying "Clover" will be assumed as "Clover UEFI"

Laptop: HP ProBook 4740s
Mobo: Intel HM76 chipset
CPU: i3-2370M
Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 300 / AMD Radeon HD 7650M / 1600x900
RAM/HDD: 8 GB RAM / 320 GB HDD
WIFI: Atheros AR5BHB92 (HP 518437-002)

is it enough? because I don't know any more info I could provide you.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2015
Messages
18
Motherboard
HP Zbook 15 G3 (Clover)
CPU
i7-6820HQ/C230
Graphics
HD530+M1000M, 1920x1080
Your ACPI files are slightly different, so _PRW patches are not working. Disable 'Wake on LAN', "Wake on USB" from BIOS.



Yes. Your HDMI is likely tied to Nvidia, just like other ZBook models. If you can make Nvidia work, you may be able to get that port working. It is not covered in this guide though.



Not sure what you mean by intermittent. You can always try KEY87 to see if it works better for your laptop.

--

Note: Added 8086:191b support to SSDT-IGPU.dsl.

Could not get the nvidia card to work fully with QE/CI, my guess is because of lack of driver support. I even tried FakePCIID with GeForce GTX 750 and 750 Ti to see if the WebDriver would work, but it didn't. Maybe someday driver support will be added by Apple or Nvidia?

But I did manage to finally get the VGA port to work, which will do for now. I had to apply the "4_displays" and "Port 7" patches from this http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/s...grated-graphics-working-as-of-10-11-4.188891/ thread.

Also, having the 191b in your newer builds works, thanks RehabMan.

Something funny I realized only just now--my headphone jack doesn't seem to be detected all along. Can you tell from my prior upload http://www.tonymacx86.com/attachments/problem-reporting-zip.206051/ why? Is it just a matter of HDEF layout?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top