Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP ProBook/EliteBook/Zbook using Clover UEFI hotpatch (10.11)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 8, 2016
Messages
31
Motherboard
Hp probook 450 G2
CPU
intel core i7
Graphics
intel HD 5500
Hi, Do you have any recommended guide for installing windows 10 on another partition? Or can I just do it the normal way, install it on the partition and then install clover UEFI ??
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2016
Messages
3
Thanks RehabMan, I'm going to buy it.

Can I ask one more question? :) Is there any solution for hibernation problem? I also have a problem with standby, after waking up the display flickers. It would be good, if the notebook would going to the hybernation mode after closing and wake up when opening. There is an option in the BIOS to wake up when opened, but it do nothing.

Hibernation should be disabled if you followed this guide. Are you actually referring to sleep?

Please provide complete details in your profile/signature
(Profile/Settings link in upper right corner of this site)

Mobo: manufacturer/model + bootloader(Clover/Chameleon/Chimera)
CPU: detailed CPU model + motherboard chipset
Graphics: all graphics devices + laptop internal screen resolution

For example, typical Ivy laptop:
Mobo: HP ProBook 4540s (Clover)
CPU: i5-3320m/HM76
Graphics: HD4000, 1366x768

Use CPU-Z on Windows to find CPU (Core iX-xxx) and motherboard chipset (HMxx), and graphics capabilities. For a laptop, these details are important and affect critical installation procedures.

Note: When specifying your bootloader, if using Clover legacy, please be sure to specify "Clover legacy"). Specifying "Clover" will be assumed as "Clover UEFI"

Hello RehabMan,
hibernation is disabled and yes, i followed this guide, it's the best, thanx for that. I just wanted to know, maybe it's possible to use hibernation meanwhile.
Stand by is the actual problem for me, if I do not use the notebook a few minutes, it goes into standby and when I activate it again, the display flickers, especially when I move the mouse. Do you have any idea?
Unfortunately sometimes I have another problem when I start the notebook, the mouse and the keyboard are not working. After restart it's ok again.

- drivers64UEFI -
FSInject-64.efi
HFSPlus.efi
HPFanReset.efi
OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi
OsxFatBinaryDrv-64.efi

- kexts -
BrcmFirmwareData.kext
BrcmPatchRAM2.kext
FakePCIID_Broadcom_WiFi.kext
FakePCIID.kext
FakeSMC.kext
RealtekRTL8111.kext
VoodooPS2Controller.kext
VoodooPS2Daemon

P.S: Signature updated :)
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,101
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, Do you have any recommended guide for installing windows 10 on another partition? Or can I just do it the normal way, install it on the partition and then install clover UEFI ??

Dual boot is covered in post #2 of the main laptop Clover guide.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,101
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello RehabMan,
hibernation is disabled and yes, i followed this guide, it's the best, thanx for that. I just wanted to know, maybe it's possible to use hibernation meanwhile.
Stand by is the actual problem for me, if I do not use the notebook a few minutes, it goes into standby and when I activate it again, the display flickers, especially when I move the mouse. Do you have any idea?
Unfortunately sometimes I have another problem when I start the notebook, the mouse and the keyboard are not working. After restart it's ok again.

- drivers64UEFI -
FSInject-64.efi
HFSPlus.efi
HPFanReset.efi
OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi
OsxFatBinaryDrv-64.efi

- kexts -
BrcmFirmwareData.kext
BrcmPatchRAM2.kext
FakePCIID_Broadcom_WiFi.kext
FakePCIID.kext
FakeSMC.kext
RealtekRTL8111.kext
VoodooPS2Controller.kext
VoodooPS2Daemon

P.S: Signature updated :)

Read post #1, "Problem Reporting". Note: VoodooPS2Dameon is not a kext.
 
Joined
May 23, 2015
Messages
31
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4530s
CPU
i3 2,1GHz
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
It is unlikely regenerating SSDT.aml from ssdtPRgen.sh will make any difference... no changes to that script for Sandy Bridge for a long time.

Do a fresh install.

Hi everyone,

Finally yesterday I did a fresh install following this guide and I still had the problem (each time my laptop comes back from sleep, hungs). I tried with 10.11.4 and 10.11.5, same results. What I'am doing wrong?!

So I restored a backup from 06/22/2016 (10.11.4, just before migrate to hotpatch setup), and I was surprised that was working perfectly (sleep and wake up several times, and no problems). Until I did boot without caches and rebuild cache (sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions && sudo kextcache -u /), then the problem re-appears. After that I did follow all the steps again to migrate from PBI-CE to hotpatch, carefully and step by step, but the problem didn't go away...

So I did restore again today and it's working like a charm. More than seven times went to sleep and is still up. Seems to be that the cache stored in the system partition is working great.

I am considering stay in 10.11.4, but I would like to be able to clear cache and still have my computer working fine.

- When I rebuild cache, files from the EFI partition are copied to the system partition?
It's the only explanation I have for this, as my EFI partition files are the same as the ones when I had problems when I updated to 10.11.5 (and Time Machine just deleted and restored the system partition).

- In case I'm right, I can restore my EFI partition files? Is it okay if I copy the CLOVER folder from the backup files (Clover UEFI installer creates one copy each time I update) to the same place within the EFI partition?

- There's a way to compare the contents from cache to the other ones? Maybe comparing kexts I could find a guilty one...


Thank you!!
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,101
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
- When I rebuild cache, files from the EFI partition are copied to the system partition?
It's the only explanation I have for this, as my EFI partition files are the same as the ones when I had problems when I updated to 10.11.5 (and Time Machine just deleted and restored the system partition).

No. Rebuilding cache does not affect EFI contents.

From where did you download OS X?

Maybe your problem is related to USB3 and GenericUSBXHCI.kext. Remove it and test.

Also how much RAM installed? Best to have 8GB.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,101
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Where is that?

The main Clover guide is linked from this guide post #1. If you followed this guide. You use it to create your USB installer. It is two parts in post #1 and post #2. Refer to post #1 here for the link.
 
Joined
May 23, 2015
Messages
31
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4530s
CPU
i3 2,1GHz
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
No. Rebuilding cache does not affect EFI contents.

From where did you download OS X?

Maybe your problem is related to USB3 and GenericUSBXHCI.kext. Remove it and test.

Also how much RAM installed? Best to have 8GB.

- Ok, I thought that the EFI partition contents cause the system hang ups.
To restore is it okay to overwrite the CLOVER folder in the EFI partition from a backup just using Finder or Terminal?

- I download Mac OS X always from AppStore.

- GenericUSBXHCI.kext: I was using to have USB3 functional, so makes sense!!
I will go to /S/L/E folder and delete the kext and clear cache (in this case to see if the problem is still on).
Usually clear cache process is needed after delete a kext file?

- My system has 8GB installed.


Thank you very much.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,101
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
- Ok, I thought that the EFI partition contents cause the system hang ups.
To restore is it okay to overwrite the CLOVER folder in the EFI partition from a backup just using Finder or Terminal?

Post #1 contains complete instructions for setting up EFI/Clover.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top