Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP ProBook/EliteBook/Zbook using Clover UEFI hotpatch (10.11)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
99
Motherboard
Asrock EP2C602
CPU
Dual E5-2650 v2
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Rehabman - here's the Zbook Studio G3 laptop information. This thing would make a KILLER hackintosh.

See if it seems feasible to pull this off.
 

Attachments

  • ZBookStudioG3.zip
    69.1 KB · Views: 71

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,101
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Rehabman - here's the Zbook Studio G3 laptop information. This thing would make a KILLER hackintosh.

See if it seems feasible to pull this off.

This is Intel+Nvidia (eg, NVidia Optimus... ZBookStudioG3_Specs.txt are inaccurate). Nvidia can't be used, of course. Follow the guide as it was a 4x0 G3 or 8x0 G3 (same audio codec)

Note: Some of the other ZBooks had Nvidia dedicated to HDMI (true dual-GPU). That may be the case with yours too. You can find out in Windows...
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 23, 2015
Messages
31
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4530s
CPU
i3 2,1GHz
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Did you remember to disable hibernation?
Is BIOS up-to-date?
Did you try a fresh install?
Try also without TRIM patch (some SSDs are not compatible with OSX/TRIM).

- Didn't check the hibernation as I didn't read "Power management" before. Now I've checked it and seems to be ok.
Code:
MacBook-Pro:~ ernesto$ pmset -g | grep hibernatemode
hibernatemode        0
MacBook-Pro:~ ernesto$ sudo pmset -a hibernatemode 0
Password:
MacBook-Pro:~ ernesto$ sudo rm /var/vm/sleepimage
rm: /var/vm/sleepimage: is a directory
MacBook-Pro:~ ernesto$ sudo mkdir /var/vm/sleepimage
mkdir: /var/vm/sleepimage: File exists
MacBook-Pro:~ ernesto$

- My BIOS is up to date (Ver. F.60 released 03/13/2015)

- I want to avoid a fresh install for now...

- Is there a problem not customizing the SMBIOS with Clover Configurator? Do you recommend me to customize the SMBIOS?
I see that my hackintosh does not have the same serial number I had before move to hotpatch setup and update to 10.11.5, and iCloud is asking for my password almost each time the system reboots.

- My primary drive is a Kingston HyperX SSD, and never had problems (nor slow boot or constant fsck). TRIM is enabled as always.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,101
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
- I want to avoid a fresh install for now...

Do a fresh install to second partition for comparison. Should only take 30 minutes or so...

- Is there a problem not customizing the SMBIOS with Clover Configurator? Do you recommend me to customize the SMBIOS?

As per guide, you must customize SMBIOS. You should expect weirdness with Apple services.

I see that my hackintosh does not have the same serial number I had before move to hotpatch setup and update to 10.11.5,

As recommended in post #1, you should use the SMBIOS data from your previous setup.

- My primary drive is a Kingston HyperX SSD, and never had problems (nor slow boot or constant fsck). TRIM is enabled as always.

My suggestion remains the same. You should try without. If you're not willing to try my ideas, don't ask for them.
 
Joined
May 23, 2015
Messages
31
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4530s
CPU
i3 2,1GHz
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Do a fresh install to second partition for comparison. Should only take 30 minutes or so...

As per guide, you must customize SMBIOS. You should expect weirdness with Apple services.

As recommended in post #1, you should use the SMBIOS data from your previous setup.

My suggestion remains the same. You should try without. If you're not willing to try my ideas, don't ask for them.

- I've customized my SMBIOS now (followed instructions to do not modify the config.plist with Clover Configurator, just copied the contents of SMBIOS from a copy of the original file). I don't have the previous config.plist file as I overwrite the file (next time I'll be sure to make a copy), and seems to be that Time Machine doesn't backup the EFI partition.

- Forgot to tell you I was going to try that, sorry. Now I've checked TRIM in config.plist, it's disabled.
Code:
<dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>Enable TRIM for non-Apple SSDs</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                AEFQUExFIFNTRAA=
                </data>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>IOAHCIBlockStorage</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                AAAAAAAAAAAAAAA=
                </data>
</dict>


Not sure what could cause crashes after coming back from sleep, so now I will put a new drive in to do a fresh install.
If you think I can check anything else, I will do everything you recommend me.

Thank you very much.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2015
Messages
16
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
hello mr,thank u very much
everything is perfect ,,but when i put the computer to sleep ,and wake it up ,,its restart,and its restart sometime randomly
Thanks

sorry ,i post it in the wrong place
here is the link of my problem in the correct place
and i attached everything u request for this type of problems
Thanks a lot mr rehab man
http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/g...with-clover-uefi.168236/page-304#post-1276143
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,101
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
and seems to be that Time Machine doesn't backup the EFI partition.

Of course not. On a real Mac, there is nothing on EFI that requires backing up.

- Forgot to tell you I was going to try that, sorry. Now I've checked TRIM in config.plist, it's disabled.
Code:
<dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>Enable TRIM for non-Apple SSDs</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                AEFQUExFIFNTRAA=
                </data>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>IOAHCIBlockStorage</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                AAAAAAAAAAAAAAA=
                </data>
</dict>

The plist data you show there shows TRIM patch enabled.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,101
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hello mr,thank u very much
everything is perfect ,,but when i put the computer to sleep ,and wake it up ,,its restart,and its restart sometime randomly
Thanks

sorry ,i post it in the wrong place
here is the link of my problem in the correct place
and i attached everything u request for this type of problems
Thanks a lot mr rehab man
http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/g...with-clover-uefi.168236/page-304#post-1276143

You did not follow this guide. Read post #1 and follow the instructions.
 
Joined
May 23, 2015
Messages
31
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4530s
CPU
i3 2,1GHz
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Of course not. On a real Mac, there is nothing on EFI that requires backing up.

The plist data you show there shows TRIM patch enabled.

You are right, it was enabled!! I did change <false/> to <true/>, rebooted, and confirmed disabled in System Information/SATA. But the problem is still on, each time my computer wakes up from sleep, it hungs.

You think creating a new SSDT.aml file following steps provided in "Power management" could solve the problem?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,101
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You are right, it was enabled!! I did change <false/> to <true/>, rebooted, and confirmed disabled in System Information/SATA. But the problem is still on, each time my computer wakes up from sleep, it hungs.

You think creating a new SSDT.aml file following steps provided in "Power management" could solve the problem?

It is unlikely regenerating SSDT.aml from ssdtPRgen.sh will make any difference... no changes to that script for Sandy Bridge for a long time.

Do a fresh install.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top