Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP ProBook/EliteBook/Zbook using Clover UEFI hotpatch (10.11)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 3, 2012
Messages
270
Motherboard
H270N-WIFI
CPU
7600K
Graphics
RX 570
I only have 2 USB ports and both work fine.

Here is a list was is partial working:
KEY102 and 87 - not working. At the moment i don't use any of them. VolUp + VolDown are correct mapped, but bightnessUp and Down not. But thats not the problem.
Headphones - not working - i asked mirone for help, because he wrote the AppleHDA for Conexant CX20274.
BatteryStatus - working, but loads 5 seconds after system started - the first 5 seconds i have the battery icon disabled, like the akku is not inserted.

Ok i will remove the 2 HDMI audio patches from config.plist.
I also saw that there are 3 patches for CS20724. I injected layout-id 3 with clover and implemented the AppleHDA code from mirone. Maybe your statements conflict with it?
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,057
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I only have 2 USB ports and both work fine.

Looking at your ioreg, there is an extra port that should be disabled (HS04 is a USB2 port on the ProBook G3).
And your camera is not working (so it might be on a different port than HS06).

See guide post #1, "USB customization".

Here is a list was is partial working:
KEY102 and 87 - not working. At the moment i don't use any of them. VolUp + VolDown are correct mapped, but bightnessUp and Down not. But thats not the problem.

KEY102 vs. 87 do not affect brightness keys. That is a separate issue.

It is likely your keys are handled via ACPI. We haven't seen this with the ProBook/EliteBook series, but it would not be surprising (it is about time HP did that change).

You didn't provide ACPI/origin with your last "Problem Reporting" files (failure to press F4), so no idea on what to do for fixing...

Looking at the files from patchmatic -extract, I don't see any signs of ACPI handling of brightness keys. So it is possible that you're pressing the wrong keys (some BIOS have an option for reversing Fn+Fxx and Fxx keys), or it is possible it is that the PS2 key code assignments have changed. You can use the debug VoodooPS2Controller to see what is going on.

BatteryStatus - working, but loads 5 seconds after system started - the first 5 seconds i have the battery icon disabled, like the driver is not present or not loaded in time.

If you wish to investigate, install debug ACPIBatteryManager.kext and look at the logs from system.log.

Ok i will remove the 2 HDMI audio patches from config.plist.
I also saw that there are 3 patches for CS20724. I injected layout-id 3 with clover and implemented the AppleHDA code from mirone. Maybe your statements conflict with it?

Clover's layout-id inject will not affect anything... ACPI overrides it. The patches will simply not have any effect if you have patched AppleHDA installed. Note that the files in the repo are based on Mirone's kext (so result is the same) but will survive updates...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 3, 2012
Messages
270
Motherboard
H270N-WIFI
CPU
7600K
Graphics
RX 570
Looking at your ioreg, there is an extra port that should be disabled (HS04 is a USB2 port on the ProBook G3).
And your camera is not working (so it might be on a different port than HS06).

See guide post #1, "USB customization".
I dont need camera and am happy that it doesn't work :) Can this cause problems when letting the USB2 port enabled?

KEY102 vs. 87 do not affect brightness keys. That is a separate issue.

It is likely your keys are handled via ACPI. We haven't seen this with the ProBook/EliteBook series, but it would not be surprising (it is about time HP did that change).

You didn't provide ACPI/origin with your last "Problem Reporting" files (failure to press F4), so no idea on what to do for fixing...
I thought i have uploaded them, but anyway. I attached again.
If you wish to investigate, install debug ACPIBatteryManager.kext and look at the logs from system.log.
Sure, why not. But first i have to resolve audio problems with headphone. This is more important to me, than the battery icon :D
Clover's layout-id inject will not affect anything... ACPI overrides it. The patches will simply not have any effect if you have patched AppleHDA installed. Note that the files in the repo are based on Mirone's kext (so result is the same) but will survive updates...
I have removed your patched SSDT for layout-id 5, because i use layout-id 3 as mirone said. I hope it was correct by just removing the SSDT and switch the 0 to 3 in clover config.plist. The layout and Platform patches are also removed and not present. I setup new install of macOS and did not use your scripts for installation.
 

Attachments

  • original_DSDT_SSDT.zip
    130.9 KB · Views: 46

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,057
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I dont need camera and am happy that it doesn't work :) Can this cause problems when letting the USB2 port enabled?

For the benefit of others, you should go through the "USB customization" effort.

I thought i have uploaded them, but anyway. I attached again.

Please see other edits regarding brightness keys.

I have removed your patched SSDT for layout-id 5, because i use layout-id 3 as mirone said. I hope it was correct by just removing the SSDT and switch the 0 to 3 in clover config.plist. The layout and Platform patches are also removed and not present. I setup new install of macOS and did not use your scripts for installation.

If you're not going to follow the guide here, you should take your posts to a separate thread.

If you and Mirone come up with a patched AppleHDA.kext that works better, attach it here and I'll integrate it into the github project.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2012
Messages
270
Motherboard
H270N-WIFI
CPU
7600K
Graphics
RX 570
It doesn't really matter how you set it, but you should be aware of how it affects which keys you need to press for your brightness/volume keys.
Yes i am. Instead of adapting the ACPI i switch physical the keys ... :headbang:
Regarding the other minor problems, i will see what i can make and will report back.
Thanks again for your help and the provided files from your repo!
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,057
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes i am. Instead of adapting the ACPI i switch physical the keys ... :headbang:

So it doesn't work if they are switched in BIOS? Is there a note I should add to post #1?

Note: added specific support for EliteBook 8x0 G3 Skylake in the repo: https://github.com/RehabMan/HP-ProB...mmit/29b32f675d93db23f14f81be0ca51bd36e7302e9

The USB SSDT needs work as previously noted.

Note: No problem temporarily removing the SSDT that injects layout-id (and using Clover for it), but you'll be missing "hda-gfx" and the USWE fix that is specific to the G3.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 10, 2015
Messages
278
Motherboard
Hp Probook 450G4
CPU
i7-7500U
Graphics
HD 620 & GTX 930MX
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Is it okay to use SSDT-KEY87.aml instead of either SSDT-KEY102.aml or SSDT-KEY97.aml??? thank you
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2012
Messages
270
Motherboard
H270N-WIFI
CPU
7600K
Graphics
RX 570
So it doesn't work if they are switched in BIOS? Is there a note I should add to post #
Figured it out. I do not need any KEY*.aml files in ACPI/patched folder to get it working. Thought i removed all, but the KEY102 was still present ... The keys work out of the box. Sleep, brightness, volume buttons. If you switch the bios option, you can reach the functions without pressing Fn.
Note: added specific support for EliteBook 8x0 G3 Skylake in the repo: https://github.com/RehabMan/HP-ProB...mmit/29b32f675d93db23f14f81be0ca51bd36e7302e9
Maybe you can remove KEY*.aml files from script that they not going to be installed for Elitebook G3 users.

Note: No problem temporarily removing the SSDT that injects layout-id (and using Clover for it), but you'll be missing "hda-gfx" and the USWE fix that is specific to the G3.
I have now implemented the SSDT-4x0-G3-Skylake again, but compiled it with layout-id 3. This one is very important to shorten the boot process. Layout 3 takes also place, so i can use it with Mirones AppleHDA. Maybe he is able to help me out with the headphone.

I have noticed some minor bugs:
Sound loss after sleep - what can i do? Noticed the same behavior while using your installation script.
No real sleep after LID close - only if i press Fn+F1 or AppleLogo -> Sleep the systems goes to real sleep.
Battery Status (5 seconds) - will install BatteryDebug.kext tomorrow
DisplayPort sound
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top