Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP Envy Haswell series J/K/Q/N using Clover UEFI

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Rehabman -

Hey brother, 1st things 1st, thank you so much for the work you do on this project. It has helped more folks than you know, and I for one am very appreciate! I have been following and using your builds since day one when it was all less automated. Great job on this btw.

I have more of a general technical question rather than a problem-reporting issue.
Just upgraded to High Sierra 13.6.02 on my Envy 17t J series (per my profile)

All went well and repositories are working well, and as it was happening with my built in HD4600 I followed the threads about scrambled graphics at login and your advice to use Legacy/CSM. (I try to do my homework so I never have to bug you)

That works - but I was just wondering why that's needed in this case of High Sierra - when on Sierra and previous it was not? (on previous OS's I had to switch to legacy during install, but once the final config.plist was installed I could go back to non-legacy and graphics were fine).

I am assuming there is something different about HS which I am not aware of - something they changed?
I do like running with legacy off - so I actually prefer to just go to login and do the quick power button tap/screen black/ and then on and it clears it up.
Anyway - was just curious about what's different with this one - (and why the power off/on clears it up??).

You are a busy guy - so no hurry on this question my friend. This is more of thirst for the technical knowledge about what's going on there - and, why power off/power on button clears that up, that's all.

As always your efforts are much appreciated brother Rehabman.

Best Regards and thank you,

~ Ed
Legacy/CSM generally needed as it initializes the hardware more completely, more like macOS/OS X expects.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2012
Messages
5
Motherboard
HP Envy 17.3" - J series . M7-J020DX
CPU
i7-4700MQ
Graphics
HD 4600
Cool, thanks Rehabman.

Yeah was just wondering because found that previous versions of the OS didn't find it necessary to engage Legacy, and the fact that the Power button off, then on again clears up the graphics had me wondering about why with HS.

You are the man.

Thanks, sincerely, for all you do for the community.

All the best -

~ Ed
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
FYI: The guide has moved to the Mojave Laptop Guides forum.
 
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
55
CPU
i5-4340M
Graphics
HD 4600/GTX840M
Hi RehabMan,
I just replace my wifi card. It's AR9002WB. As my understanding, it's combine of AR9285 (wifi) and AR3011 (bluetooth). So all I need is find kext for AR9285, AR3011 and install it? If yes, which is best kext for them for high sierra? Thanks.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi RehabMan,
I just replace my wifi card. It's AR9002WB. As my understanding, it's combine of AR9285 (wifi) and AR3011 (bluetooth). So all I need is find kext for AR9285, AR3011 and install it? If yes, which is best kext for them for high sierra? Thanks.
Atheros WiFi is not recommended.
Guide recommends Broadcom BCM94252HMB.
Please read post #1.
 
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
55
CPU
i5-4340M
Graphics
HD 4600/GTX840M
Atheros WiFi is not recommended.
Guide recommends Broadcom BCM94252HMB.
Please read post #1.
I know that. But it's the only one I have. I just wonder if you have any knowledge about it? :D
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Dear RehabMan, thank you so much for your great job.
may you please help me to solve the problem of audio driver on my hp envy 15 ts j067cl / cpu i7 4700MQ / graphic intel hd4600
here is my report problem file
many thanks
You forgot to update Clover.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2017
Messages
3
You forgot to update Clover.
oh what magic!!! thank you so much mister it was clean and perfect
really I appreciate your efforts. hats off!!
I used your latest clover Clover_v2.4k_r4701.RM-4963.ca6cca7c
and I update with : install_downloads.sh
result 5/5
here is my new report maybe useful for reference
 

Attachments

Top