Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP Envy Haswell series J/K/Q/N using Clover UEFI

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
UPDATE: erased the entire Projects folder and repeated git pull from scratch, I now got the destination Built In Output devices to get recognized, but the source in Audio Preferences shows Unknown device. What I mean should be clear in the screenshot belowView attachment 343708
This guide does not recommend Sound Flower.
You failed to attach any PR files.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2012
Messages
44
Motherboard
HP Envy 15j-104sl - Clover
CPU
i7-4700MQ
Graphics
HD4600
This guide does not recommend Sound Flower.
You failed to attach any PR files.
Here you go. No substantial changes other than refreshing the kext, hence I hadn't reattached problem reporting files. These were dumped after uninstalling soundflower, still no luck.
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Here you go. No substantial changes other than refreshing the kext, hence I hadn't reattached problem reporting files. These were dumped after uninstalling soundflower, still no luck.
This from kextstat_log.txt indicates you didn't run ./install_downloads.sh:
Code:
LS FOR APPLEHDA :-
ls: /System/Library/Extensions/AppleHDA.kext/Contents/Resources/*.zml*: No such file or directory
END LS FOR APPLEHDA.
Read post #1.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2012
Messages
44
Motherboard
HP Envy 15j-104sl - Clover
CPU
i7-4700MQ
Graphics
HD4600
This from kextstat_log.txt indicates you didn't run ./install_downloads.sh:
Code:
LS FOR APPLEHDA :-
ls: /System/Library/Extensions/AppleHDA.kext/Contents/Resources/*.zml*: No such file or directory
END LS FOR APPLEHDA.
Read post #1.
Will try again. But I did, believe it or not I am careful at procedures. I read post #1 plenty of times.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Will try again. But I did, believe it or not I am careful at procedures. I read post #1 plenty of times.
Also, why do I see this in your kextcache output?
Kext with invalid signatured (-67030) allowed: <OSKext 0x7fd65f8ee410 [0x7fffa38d7af0]> { URL = "IDT92HD91BXXInject.kext/ -- file:///System/Library/Extensions/", ID = "com.apple.driver.AppleHDA" }

This guide does not recommend nor install IDT92HD91BXXInject.kext.

Please start over following post #1 as written (sorry, but it is tiring answering questions to those that have clearly done things outside the guide).

Keep in mind post #1, "Known Problems", "Audio" as well.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 8, 2012
Messages
44
Motherboard
HP Envy 15j-104sl - Clover
CPU
i7-4700MQ
Graphics
HD4600
deleted
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 19, 2017
Messages
7
Motherboard
HP Envy 15-j007eo - Clover
CPU
i7-4702MQ
Graphics
HD4600 - 1920x1080
I read post #1 plenty of times.
don't forget to move config.plist to efi folder:

Code:
cd ~/Projects/envy.git
cp config.plist /Volumes/EFI/EFI/Clover/config.plist
And remember to run this after rebooting without caches:

Code:
sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions && sudo kextcache -u /

I was having a similar problem, now I have perfectly functional Mojave beta 4.
One more time, thanks to @RehabMan for the awesome work!
And thanks to @pippoaacc for easying my path, I woldn't try Mojave beta and find the problem without your posts.
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 8, 2012
Messages
44
Motherboard
HP Envy 15j-104sl - Clover
CPU
i7-4700MQ
Graphics
HD4600
Also, why do I see this in your kextcache output?
Kext with invalid signatured (-67030) allowed: <OSKext 0x7fd65f8ee410 [0x7fffa38d7af0]> { URL = "IDT92HD91BXXInject.kext/ -- file:///System/Library/Extensions/", ID = "com.apple.driver.AppleHDA" }

This guide does not recommend nor install IDT92HD91BXXInject.kext.

Please start over following post #1 as written (sorry, but it is tiring answering questions to those that have clearly done things outside the guide).

Keep in mind post #1, "Known Problems", "Audio" as well.
Thanks @RehabMan, it was indeed IDT92HD91BXXInject.kext, which I honestly don't remember when and if I personally installed. This is a very old build started on Mavericks and gone thru Yosemite, El Capitan and now HS, never clean install, always updated, and ALWAYS GREAT THANKS TO YOU. It might be some leftover of an older iteration, but now everything works. Thanks a lot for your patience
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,028
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks @RehabMan, it was indeed IDT92HD91BXXInject.kext, which I honestly don't remember when and if I personally installed. This is a very old build started on Mavericks and gone thru Yosemite, El Capitan and now HS, never clean install, always updated, and ALWAYS GREAT THANKS TO YOU. It might be some leftover of an older iteration, but now everything works. Thanks a lot for your patience
Glad to hear it.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2012
Messages
5
Motherboard
HP Envy 17.3" - J series . M7-J020DX
CPU
i7-4700MQ
Graphics
HD 4600
Hi Rehabman -

Hey brother, 1st things 1st, thank you so much for the work you do on this project. It has helped more folks than you know, and I for one am very appreciate! I have been following and using your builds since day one when it was all less automated. Great job on this btw.

I have more of a general technical question rather than a problem-reporting issue.
Just upgraded to High Sierra 13.6.02 on my Envy 17t J series (per my profile)

All went well and repositories are working well, and as it was happening with my built in HD4600 I followed the threads about scrambled graphics at login and your advice to use Legacy/CSM. (I try to do my homework so I never have to bug you)

That works - but I was just wondering why that's needed in this case of High Sierra - when on Sierra and previous it was not? (on previous OS's I had to switch to legacy during install, but once the final config.plist was installed I could go back to non-legacy and graphics were fine).

I am assuming there is something different about HS which I am not aware of - something they changed?
I do like running with legacy off - so I actually prefer to just go to login and do the quick power button tap/screen black/ and then on and it clears it up.
Anyway - was just curious about what's different with this one - (and why the power off/on clears it up??).

You are a busy guy - so no hurry on this question my friend. This is more of thirst for the technical knowledge about what's going on there - and, why power off/power on button clears that up, that's all.

As always your efforts are much appreciated brother Rehabman.

Best Regards and thank you,

~ Ed
 
Top